7/27 Herman AMPS 353 +2 292 +4.5 83 +5 74 +5.25 65 +6 131 +7 106 +7.5 79

Amy & Herman

Member Since 2022
after yesterdays flat cycle am and eve bounce we are diving again....could use some advice as to when to use mc to control the drop or if sticking to my usual 1-5% is ok
 
@+5 gave tsp ff gravy 15% ….I am also curious what intervals I should test at this range based on his history intend to over test out of fear and want to rein that in
 
Congrats on another reduction! He is really zooming down the dosing ladder!
He is in safe numbers. You need to not test evey 15 mins. Test at +6.
 
Congrats on another reduction! He is really zooming down the dosing ladder!
He is in safe numbers. You need to not test evey 15 mins. Test at +6.
Ok will reduce from 1.25 to 1 tonight....I think Herman needs to wear a helmet! I have no frame of reference as I am so new to this but beyond the fast bounces that are still happening I realize earning reductions is a good thing. He popped right up to 131 at +6 so I will take a break from testing his poor little ears - although shockingly he doesn't seem to notice the pokes at all. He is more annoyed if I have trouble locating the spot of blood on his dark fur and am too slow about it all. Thanks Bhooma
 
If you apply a little vaseline on his ear before poking, it will help the blood bead into a nice drop rather than spread in his fur.
will do - i had done that earlier when I had trouble getting his ears to bleed, now they bleed better, but I should use this trick to locate the blood when he is in a poorly lit area. I generally poke him wherever he is if sleeping...which often means in dark corners and under furniture where lighting is bad making find the drop hard! I just got a new lamp thing to wear around my neck for better light although the shadows sometimes scare him :confused:
 
Congrats on another reduction! He is really zooming down the dosing ladder!
He is in safe numbers. You need to not test evey 15 mins. Test at +6.
Given his bouncing and my nerves :confused: is slgs the better choice for me? If I was to do TR would I not be reducing tonight? I want him to get the best possible chance of remission but my lack of experience and his zoominess give me pause for tr
 
With TR reductions are taken if under 50. Greens become contagious. If you can get past your anxiety it gives a better chance at remission because you don’t reduce as often and if a reduction fails you can go right away to the last dose without having to wait 7 days. You also don’t take back to back reductions which usually fail.
 
I wanted to have Hendrick's SS, the BG test video, and OTJ Video but it only allows 2.
Really? That's strange! Is it 2 links in all or 2 links per line of the Signature?

106 @+7 and he’s sleeping. ok to just let him be and not give any food and test in hour?
Yes. i think it's almost 2 hours since the 16%? The carbs would be out of his system now. If you have to feed him, stay with LC.

Given his bouncing and my nerves :confused: is slgs the better choice for me? If I was to do TR would I not be reducing tonight? I want him to get the best possible chance of remission but my lack of experience and his zoominess give me pause for tr
Considering how much carbs it is taking to keep him up, he seems determined to go down in dosing. You could look at TR once he fails a reduction. Then you know that he has slowed down.
 
With TR reductions are taken if under 50. Greens become contagious. If you can get past your anxiety it gives a better chance at remission because you don’t reduce as often and if a reduction fails you can go right away to the last dose without having to wait 7 days. You also don’t take back to back reductions which usually fail.
So I could in theory switch now to Tr and stay at 1.25? If he follows his usual pattern he will bounce tonight and I will monitor closely tomorrow until +8 or so which I can manage.
 
Really? That's strange! Is it 2 links in all or 2 links per line of the Signature?


Yes. i think it's almost 2 hours since the 16%? The carbs would be out of his system now. If you have to feed him, stay with LC.


Considering how much carbs it is taking to keep him up, he seems determined to go down in dosing. You could look at TR once he fails a reduction. Then you know that he has slowed down.
Ok that is a good point. I’ll go with that until a failed reduction then reassess.
 
Ah that’s a great headlamp, I ended up with one like this, if Herman can get over his fear of shadow puppets I think it will work fine!
upload_2022-7-27_12-4-47.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-7-27_12-4-47.jpeg
    upload_2022-7-27_12-4-47.jpeg
    50.1 KB · Views: 90
Really? That's strange! Is it 2 links in all or 2 links per line of the Signature?


Yes. i think it's almost 2 hours since the 16%? The carbs would be out of his system now. If you have to feed him, stay with LC.


Considering how much carbs it is taking to keep him up, he seems determined to go down in dosing. You could look at TR once he fails a reduction. Then you know that he has slowed down.
He is down a bit at 79 +7.5 now and seems interested in a snack which is why I tested. Still stick to lc or bump again with gravy?
 
will do - i had done that earlier when I had trouble getting his ears to bleed, now they bleed better, but I should use this trick to locate the blood when he is in a poorly lit area. I generally poke him wherever he is if sleeping...which often means in dark corners and under furniture where lighting is bad making find the drop hard! I just got a new lamp thing to wear around my neck for better light although the shadows sometimes scare him :confused:

I use a small flashlight like a mini Maglite on the other side of his ear to illuminate the blood vessels. It also gives me a firm surface to poke against.
 
I use a small flashlight like a mini Maglite on the other side of his ear to illuminate the blood vessels. It also gives me a firm surface to poke against.
You mean I don’t have to use my own finger and bleed along with Herman every time? :eek: I’m so clumsy I still haven’t figured out how to do it with cotton wrapped around my finger. But I like this idea I’ll give it a shot.
 
I have 4 6 and 9 then up to 13% and higher
Although as I write this he is up from his nap. Turned his nose up at the gravy I offered (which I will now remove and offer lower carb)….he gets grumpy when he wants out and I don’t let him (he likes to poop outside) …I’ll convince him to try a lick or two and test again before letting him out
 
Back
Top