7/27 Newman AMPS 282 shot 2.0, PMPS 308 shot 2.0 Time for increase?

Linda and Newman

Active Member
Last edited:
Nice cycle today. He was flat and I am glad you did the retest to show that - for reassurance. He was over 200 so I am sure you shot the full dose but just haven’t updated your spreadsheet yet.
 
In hindsight, I wonder if I should have shot a reduced dose on last night's PMPS when I first got 225, waited 20 minutes and got 232. I shot the full 2.0. Looking at the sticky, between 200-300 a 50 - 75% dose is suggested. I didn't like that drop early in the cycle, knowing I would not be able to continue to test throughout the night.

As I try to understand, did that early drop, likely cause the higher number this morning?

Do you ever find a cat that settles on different doses AM and PM?


@FrostD @Suzanne & Darcy
 
Real fast because I am going out:

I don't think you did anything wrong. Look at the lovely blue last night. Just because he was pink this morning did not mean anything was wrong.... to the contrary, I think it's all very good. Look at the lovely string of blues last night (bit late for your unfortunately.) There was no dramatic diving. He flattened in blue which would have made me very comfortable going to bed. When I first looked at his spreadsheet this morning I thought... oh, a little bounce from all the blue yesterday. In fact, yesterday's whole day ... both cycles were very, very nice. I'm happy today that he's dropped down to yellow now.
 
last night's PMPS when I first got 225, waited 20 minutes and got 232.
So you knew he was flat/rising at preshot time and if you look at his numbers over the whole day, he was definitely on the rise from the blues earlier in the cycle... this is a good indication that you did the right thing in shooting the 2 units. The beautiful results are also a very good indication. :-)
 
Really? I thought this was just for newbies who didn't have much data on how their cat will react. I don't have time to check it now. Can you tell me which part of which sticky says this? I doubt if it is a hard and fast rule for all time. "see you later."
I have spent some time searching for that reference and have not found it. The sticky that I was thinking of only says "Above 200 but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise"

My concern was that the drop into blue came early in the cycle and I worried that he would get too low while I slept.
 
"Above 200 but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise"
I do know where that reference is. Now I feel better because I'm familiar with that (not to say the other isn't there.)

My concern was that the drop into blue came early in the cycle and I worried that he would get too low while I slept.
I completely understand this! We aren't used to seeing Newman in blue at the +3 mark. Last time he did this it was June 19 on 2 units also, but it worked out okay like it did last night. Sorry you were up late.
 
It's time for him to eat so I am going to feed so that imposing the 2 hour food hold doesn't throw us off so late tonight. I wonder if he would continue to go down if he was not going to eat. I guess I will base his evening dose on whatever number I get two hours after he is done eating. @FrostD @Suzanne & Darcy
 
I am copying this from last week:

So in this case I leave it up to you, the options as I see it:
  • Go back to 1.75U and shoot that any time he's above 200. I'm not a fan of this because I feel like it's a step backwards. Before the last two days, we were considering an increase, so I'd hate to decrease.
  • Hold the 2U for a little longer to see if the last two days were more of a fluke, especially with the vomiting factored in. Give it any time he's above 200. This does run the risk of some sub-90s (I don't think below 60 though), so you have to weigh your situation vs your goals for his BG.
 
So I am confused about the decision to shoot 1.5 this morning.
I posted in the remarks column in way of explanation, but apparently not very clearly. His fasting BG was 195 so I stalled for 30 minutes. While I was waiting, I was reviewing his spreadsheet for similar patterns. As noted, I saw that on 7/15 what seemed to me, right or wrong to be similar pattern. I saw that the fat 1.5 dose brought good results. On retest he had come up to 231.
My notes say that between 200-300 I may want to shoot 50*75% dose. That made my choice would be 1-1.5 units. So the pattern on 7/15 seemed a guide and I decided on the fat 1.5 units.
Newman was also being stubborn in his willingness to go with our usual routine. When he usually joined me at my desk on his own, no amount of coaxing or treat rattling, even placing the treats under his nose was working to get him to come to me until he was ready. I also knew that I had an appointment at the optician to select and order new glasses, later in the day. I have had a new prescription for almost 2 months!
So, that is what my decision was based on.
 
Fasting BG 206, then as predicted 15 minutes later, he tested 264, fed and shot 2.0. At +3.5 he was 241, then at +8.75 just before I was going to feed him I got a quick test. He was 40. Yikes, I thought, can that be? He then was keeping away from me so I tempted him and fed him a scant tablespoon of HC just in case. 10 minutes later, to confirm or disprove that 40, I was able to retest and got 172, doubtful it would be from the food that fast. What do you think? @ Suzanne & Darcy @FrostD

I will offer regular dinner FF up until 6PM and then test at 8PM and plan to shoot by 8:30.
 
Fasting BG 206, then as predicted 15 minutes later, he tested 264, fed and shot 2.0. At +3.5 he was 241, then at +8.75 just before I was going to feed him I got a quick test. He was 40. Yikes, I thought, can that be? He then was keeping away from me so I tempted him and fed him a scant tablespoon of HC just in case. 10 minutes later, to confirm or disprove that 40, I was able to retest and got 172, doubtful it would be from the food that fast. What do you think? @ Suzanne & Darcy @FrostD

I will offer regular dinner FF up until 6PM and then test at 8PM and plan to shoot by 8:30.
There's a gap between the @ sign and my name... so I didn't get the tag. Let me read the thread and catch up.
 
Oh, okay. Yes, I think that 40 was a bad strip! But I bet that made your heart skip a beat... then beat wildly! It would have mine. Also, I would have been a bit frantic to get my hands on him. I would normally retest immediately... but I understand he was keeping away from you. I know you already know that it you get what seems like a wacky reading to retest immediately.
 
Oh, okay. Yes, I think that 40 was a bad strip! But I bet that made your heart skip a beat... then beat wildly! It would have mine. Also, I would have been a bit frantic to get my hands on him. I would normally retest immediately... but I understand he was keeping away from you. I know you already know that it you get what seems like a wacky reading to retest immediately.
I'm glad you saw the thread.
Yes, I really thought it was a fluke, and was hoping it was, and I wanted to immediately retest to confirm. I used the HC food to tempt him and also, just in case it was a valid test. It didn't make sense, he seemed fine until he got so cranky!
He is under the bed and hasn't eaten much dinner, so I may be able to move up the evening PMPS to at least 7:30, starting the food hold at 5:30.
 
You know, just looking at your spreadsheet. I will tell you what I was thinking. I was thinking... look what a good job Linda does getting tests in on Newman, even with extra challenges at grabbing that boy for a test. You usually manage to get some tests to fill in the picture.
 
I'm glad you saw the thread.
Yes, I really thought it was a fluke, and was hoping it was, and I wanted to immediately retest to confirm. I used the HC food to tempt him and also, just in case it was a valid test. It didn't make sense, he seemed fine until he got so cranky!
He is under the bed and hasn't eaten much dinner, so I may be able to move up the evening PMPS to at least 7:30, starting the food hold at 5:30.
So I'm thinking that maybe his number would have been a blue, maybe a little lower than the 172 you ended up with but probably nothing alarming. It was only ten minutes since the HC, so it wouldn't have had its full effect yet. I hope all will go smoothly at shot time tonight.
 
His eating pattern and content was what I consider normal in a day. He consumed one 3oz can of FF beginning with breakfast and stretching until about noon or a little after. Then the only food he gets would be bribes and treats for testing, mostly Dr Elsey Turkey Recipe or Wellness Chicken & Cranberries Recipe. At 4:45 I gave him a portion of another can of FF and when he abandons that, I begin the 2-hr hold on food. At 7:00 I tested him for PMPS and allowed him to continue eating the dinner FF.
 
His eating pattern and content was what I consider normal in a day. He consumed one 3oz can of FF beginning with breakfast and stretching until about noon or a little after. Then the only food he gets would be bribes and treats for testing, mostly Dr Elsey Turkey Recipe or Wellness Chicken & Cranberries Recipe. At 4:45 I gave him a portion of another can of FF and when he abandons that, I begin the 2-hr hold on food. At 7:00 I tested him for PMPS and allowed him to continue eating the dinner FF.
Lovely day. I’m so glad you shot that 255 this morning with the full 2 units.
 
With clusters of blue on a few days then bam, back to pink preshots and seemingly flat yellow. Should I be increasing? How about .25 increase?

@Suzanne & Darcy
@FrostD

I appreciate if you all have a chance to take a look. Thanks.
It does look like you have the wiggle room to increase by .25 units. Any differences that you can account for on the pink preshot days? Food? I’m thinking not, but thought I would ask.
 
Good evening, Linda! I thought about you several times today but never got a chance to check in on Newman's spreadsheet to see how the increase was going. I was wondering if there would be some New Dose Wonkiness. Now I see that you did not increase yet. Was it not a good day to do the increase? I see you got a lot of test in though. How is everything? Hope all is well.
 
Good evening, Linda! I thought about you several times today but never got a chance to check in on Newman's spreadsheet to see how the increase was going. I was wondering if there would be some New Dose Wonkiness. Now I see that you did not increase yet. Was it not a good day to do the increase? I see you got a lot of test in though. How is everything? Hope all is well.
Hey Suzanne, I'm just getting here myself. Lots to do today in many different directions. I expect that I can do an increase tomorrow, unless his AMPS number is, as you might say, wonky. Thanks for checking up on us. All is well here. Have a good night.
 
Back
Top