7/31 Milo AMPS 220 +2 162 +4 97 +6 151 +9 427 PMPS 340

Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha

Member Since 2020
Good evening. I need some advice with Milo. He's now day 8 on Lantus and his numbers are all over the place. Is this normal? I was alarmed at 97 (I know this is a good number but this is the lowest he's been and I wasn't sure if he was going to keep going down). I was hoping he was going to keep trending down. Then the +9 427???? I will do one more test before heading to bed.

I have kept Milo at 3 units but I just don't know what to make of his numbers today. Thoughts from those with more experience would be very helpful. Would you adjust by .25 units with such a range in BG or stay at 3 and hopefully he stabilizes?? Thank you for any advice you can offer.
 
Sorry no one has been responding to your posts. If you have a question, using the ? prefix on your subject line will help get eyes on you. As well as adding something like "dose ?" on the subject line.

As for dose - have you decided which dosing method you'd like to use yet? How you proceed with this particular dose depends on which dosing method you'd like to follow. If you are following SLGS, you'd hold or maintain this dose because of the 97 he saw. If you were following TR, you'd increase to 3.25 units.

By the way "numbers all over the place" is the most common phrase used by members with newly diagnosed diabetic cats. It's perfectly and annoyingly normal.

Here is the link to your previous post - we like to have those added for continuity: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/milo-28-07-amps-419.232835/
 
Thank you for your response and the tips. I have read and reread the two different dosing methods. I think I will follow the TR but I will not do the increase until tomorrow when I can be around home to test him.
I’m glad to know his numbers are perfectly and annoyingly typical of newly diagnosed cats. Milo definitely is acting like he’s feeling substantially better, if not completely normal.
Each time I post, should I be putting the link in from each earlier conversation?
Thank you for your time and support.
 
I don't see a post for today, so am replying on yesterdays.

Good choice on TR, and good luck with the increase. It'll help us help you faster if you put "TR" in your signature.

As for linking the previous post, yes please! :)
 
I don't see a post for today, so am replying on yesterdays.

Good choice on TR, and good luck with the increase. It'll help us help you faster if you put "TR" in your signature.

As for linking the previous post, yes please! :)

Thanks for checking in. I will do the increase tomorrow morning after I do Milo’s AMPS. I have updated his spreadsheet to indicate I’ve decided to go with TR. I still find it all very confusing, I must admit.

One thing: he’s eating less now. He seems to dislike the Thrive probiotic I’m putting on his raw food. How important is this? He seems to be at a much better weight so maybe I shouldn’t stress so much about the eating? A month ago he was severely underweight. I try to put out small portions several times a day after each time I have tested.

I’ve been backing off on the Thrive and giving it once a day in food rather than the full amount. He also gets herring oil which he likes.
 
He's seeing some more better numbers, so won't need to eat as much. I never used the Thrive probiotic. I used one from Natural Factors. What's the reason you are putting on a probiotic? No need to answer now, just add it to tomorrow's post.
 
Back
Top