7/31 Toeby AMPS 203 - 0.125 units, PMPS 180 - a drop insulin, +2 =108, +3=56, fell asleep, +7

Unless it's a digital calipers it won't help you much.

I started out exactly the same way...someone mentioned calipers to me and I said to DH...you've used calipers before...how about helping me out here...so he comes in with several of them...not a single one with the digital display...he meant well, however all it did was confuse me and delay my learning curve to using them correctly. Thankfully @Marje and Gracie helped show me the way.

If you have a Harbor Freight near by check out those little digital calipers...they're great! It'll really help you get your fine dosing under control.

Have a great day!
 
I was worried about the +2 number, so re-tested at +4 - he is 36... 2.0 mmol/L is the lowest I have seen on the new strips.
I gave him some Fancy Feast with gravy, and he is laying in his sunny window.
I will re-check shortly

Edit: checked after 20 minutes, he is now at 58, gave him some more FF with gravy, will re-check again shortly

Edit: at +5 he is 77... I will make sure he eats something else.

I am also to going to send the vet another email with updated numbers... still have not heard from them.
Grrrr
 
Last edited:
He may be one of those kitties who will do well on just a drop...his numbers appear to be very erratic at this time...

How's he doing after that low and then the food boost?
 
How's he doing after that low and then the food boost?

He tested 99 at +6 and 121 just now at +8 hours.

So that is what his blood is doing.
As far as how he is feeling, I don't think he feels swell, but he is laying in the sun in his window, sleeping.
He has never shown any really scary signs when he's gone low, I just know he wasn't feeling right.
He has always eaten higher carb canned or dry food kernels for me so far when he is low, which is a good thing.

Why am I waiting for his vet?
I'm not sure if you are asking why I am bothering to get their input, or whether you are asking why am I waiting and not rushing off to the clinic?
I'm not meaning to sound saucy, just trying to know how to answer your question.
Is he ok otherwise?
He is losing weight...
But he is not eating a whole lot - it could be because something else is going on, or because he doesn't love the low carb food, or because it's been stinking hot here and despite our central A/C, he loves to lay in the open window and sun himself.

I'm not rushing off because I have his blood sugar back up now, and they are very, very, very difficult to get into with their Covid-19 restrictions.
It's bullshit, really.
My friends who work with the public are much more exposed to Covid from total strangers than a vet would be from someone like me who's been a client since 1993.

I phoned, and emailed them a copy of his spreadsheet on Wednesday and am still waiting... I emailed then again today.
The vet who diagnosed him is on vacation but it is a large practice with a lot of vets so surely one of them could find time to look at his chart.
I would simply like them to see what is going on...
Mostly because if I had it all to do over again, knowing what I know now, with him dropping to such low levels so many times, on so little insulin - I would have insisted on a fructosamine test, THEN, if he TRULY looked like a diabetic, THEN I would have started insulin therapy.
This "pre-diabetic" diagnosis from the vet on June 25th, followed up by her assurance on July 9th after a curve in the clinic that he was "definitely" diabetic... I just don't know.
I don't want to doubt this very young professional, but I hate putting Toeby on this roller coaster.

Maybe he does need "just a drop"
I tried that on Sunday the 26th but Monday he gave me normal levels where I thought I shouldn't give him insulin according to SLGS, and then his BG's gradually crept back up over the week...
I truly don't understand and I am getting very frustrated.
I mean, do I still give him just a drop when his preshots are 79 and 99 like they were on Monday?
Which doesn't mean I don't appreciate the input from everyone, I just don't get it...
:(
 
Last edited:
Do you know the carb% of the food you are giving? One strategy might be to give that drop dose, and maybe a little bit higher % carb, though still LC, so he stays safe.
 
Do you know the carb% of the food you are giving? One strategy might be to give that drop dose, and maybe a little bit higher % carb, though still LC, so he stays safe.
Hi Wendy,
Do I know the individual percentages? No.
He's getting all pates that are on the food lists, and Stella & Chewy's which I have not seen on any of the several lists on the board - I am sure it's probably there on one somewhere, but I haven't seen it.
Good thinking for a strategy... thanks, it sounds like I'll need to do some studying and find out which are the highest of the low carbs...
 
Do you know the carb% of the food you are giving? One strategy might be to give that drop dose, and maybe a little bit higher % carb, though still LC, so he stays safe.

But can I ask a dumb question?
What exactly is LC? Less than 10%?

Maybe I could give him a teeny bit of the dry DM, which he loves, to boost his blood sugar, along with the low carb, so that I don''t have low, medium, and rescue high carb cans on the shelf?
There are 2 of us feeding the boys...
 
When I had a diabetic cat that would eat canned food, I stocked up on a few brands and flavors. I looked them up on the food list and wrote the carb percentage on the can lids with a Sharpie. When it was time to feed Grandpa, I could easily grab a LC , MC, or HC can.
 
When I had a diabetic cat that would eat canned food, I stocked up on a few brands and flavors. I looked them up on the food list and wrote the carb percentage on the can lids with a Sharpie. When it was time to feed Grandpa, I could easily grab a LC , MC, or HC can.

Haha... now I just feel lazy... ;)
I am impressed - that is a good idea.
I was just thinking a couple kernels of kibble along with the low carb would be easy peasy.
So, to be serious, what % did use for low, medium, and high?
 
Haha... now I just feel lazy... ;)
I am impressed - that is a good idea.
I was just thinking a couple kernels of kibble along with the low carb would be easy peasy.
So, to be serious, what % did use for low, medium, and high?
It's been awhile so I just asked my roommate what she remembers. For LC, we had the TikiCat type of food that was 2% or so. I believe the Friskies assortment was normally around 4 to 6%. That's what we offer to everyone here so Grandpa could eat with everyone. I think the HC gravy foods were around 11-13%. I could be remembering these numbers wrong after two years, so you'll want to check whatever you buy.
 
OH my... had to happen
Fell asleep during a crucial time n his curve... woke up, it was at the 6.5 hour mark - but I tested him, and he was 124
I'm sorry I missed the crucial +4 mark, but he made it, thank good.
I had fed him quite a bit so perhaps I was able to drift off.
Now to see what happens in a few hours.
Good night .
 
Back
Top