7/5 Henry C, PMPS =325, +2.5=284 Delayed Shot, Diarrhea and No Appetite

Roxana & Henry

Member Since 2022
Prior condo

Henry has been super picky for the past 2 days with him not liking his toppers and food and getting tired of all my tricks. Today is the worst. He had a bit of raw organic chicken 2.5 hrs ago. He just had some diarrhea right now (not before), asks vocally for food but refused absolutely everything I gave him, with all the treats on top, i have the entire freaking petco and nothing. I gave him some ziwi air dried and ate a few of those and then gave up. I am boiling some chicken usually it helps with diarhea not sure if he will want it.

This PMPS is very high but if he goes down I won't be able to bring him up if he does not want food. He never has diarrhea. Probably the raw chicken or who knows the freeze dried treats that did not agree to his stomach.

13 min past 7 pm when he gets the regular shot. What can I do?
 
I wish I could be of assistance with your situation Roxana, but I'm just a noob. Just because my Henry has been loving his new diet of rabbit, duck, venison and lamb, I'm curious if you're ever tried some of the single source novel proteins with him? Maybe it would be enough to peak his interests?

edit: also your post got added twice. you may want to delete one: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...ood-has-diarrhea-and-no-shot-yet-help.265436/
 
I wish I could be of assistance with your situation Roxana, but I'm just a noob. Just because my Henry has been loving his new diet of rabbit, duck, venison and lamb, I'm curious if you're ever tried some of the single source novel proteins with him? Maybe it would be enough to peak his interests?

edit: also your post got added twice. you may want to delete one: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...ood-has-diarrhea-and-no-shot-yet-help.265436/
Yes, I tried the entire petco and chewy. He is just picky. I think also his tummy may be upset. He is asking for food though in the kitchen as always. Cannot delete the other thread. There are some issues i think with posting where it looks like it does not post and it gets stuck and then you hit enter again and gets posted again not sure.
 
I feed Henry Fancy Feast wet (All PATE) Fish & Shrimp Feast, Tender Beef & Chicken Feast, Chopped Grilled Feast, Savory Salmon Feast, & Turkey & Giblets Feast.

And YES I fed Henry the Dr Elsey's Dry Chicken (DM 5% Carb) during the diarrhea stage until He improved and then back on the Fancy Feast Pates

Now I have shot Henry as low as 70 on a Human Meter if you check my spreadsheet for year 2022 you will see dozens of preshots below 100 Now Henry is on Tight Regulated protocol

Again put up a question or exclamation mark on your title to draw attention to your concern

I feel your anxiety but these folks will bring that down as they did for me and now I feel very little to none
 
Last edited:
Yes, I tried the entire petco and chewy. He is just picky. I think also his tummy may be upset. He is asking for food though in the kitchen as always. Cannot delete the other thread. There are some issues i think with posting where it looks like it does not post and it gets stuck and then you hit enter again and gets posted again not sure.

In the rare instances when my Henry has been picky in the past, he'll still always beg when I go to the kitchen too. I think they believe you're always holding out on them and have something "better". "Com'on Mom, I know you got some shrimp around here somewhere!". With your Henry being a former kibble aficionado I'm guessing that probably has a lot to do with his exclusive taste buds.

I could be totally wrong here, but I thought Lantus was more forgiving to shooting without food? Especially if he's not running very low at PS. Maybe watch closely and ply him with kibble if you get a big or particularly low drop? Hopefully someone will be along shortly to advise you. I say all this because I've read this thread in depth all about shooting without food.

Also, I've had the double comment thing happen before too.
 
I feed Henry Fancy Feast wet (All PATE) Fish & Shrimp Feast, Tender Beef & Chicken Feast, Chopped Grilled Feast, Savory Salmon Feast, & Turkey & Giblets Feast.

And YES I fed Henry the Dr Elsey's Dry Chicken (DM 5% Carb) during the diarrhea stage until He improved and then back on the Fancy Feast Pates

Now I have shot Henry as low as 70 on a Human Meter if you check my spreadsheet for year 2022 you will see dozens of preshots below 100 Now Henry is on Tight Regulated protocol

Again put up a question or exclamation mark on your title to draw attention to your concern

I feel your anxiety but these folks will bring that down as they did for me and now I very little to none

Whoa, we got all 3 FDMB Henry's in the same thread now! :woot:
 
Caved and gave him a little Dr Elsey's chicken dry and shrimp. He was not impressed with the Epigen 90. Gave the full 5 units 45 min past his regular time.
 
My Henry diarrhea time frame was 07/02 thru 07/04
And my Henry decided to continue on 7/5 :) Did you give him anything? My Henry had only one serious diarrhea in his lifetime from freeze dried treats many many years ago that cleared up on it's own but was about 5 days.
 
Check my spreadsheet out for 07/02 - 07/04 This period is where Henry had diarrhea
I did but don't see anything mentioning diarrhea or special foods. It seems your Henry is very well regulated with amazing greens. My Henry is not even after 5 months and at 5 units so I am feeling pretty down right now. Just hope his diarrhea will clear soon and he will like his prior wet food again although not sure what to say because yesterday he had no diarrhea and was being a jerk about the food and made me threw away a bunch of foods. He has always been super picky. Now more so.
 
I feed Henry Fancy Feast wet (All PATE) Fish & Shrimp Feast, Tender Beef & Chicken Feast, Chopped Grilled Feast, Savory Salmon Feast, & Turkey & Giblets Feast.

And YES I fed Henry the Dr Elsey's Dry Chicken (DM 5% Carb) during the diarrhea stage until He improved and then back on the Fancy Feast Pates

Now I have shot Henry as low as 70 on a Human Meter if you check my spreadsheet for year 2022 you will see dozens of preshots below 100 Now Henry is on Tight Regulated protocol

Again put up a question or exclamation mark on your title to draw attention to your concern

I feel your anxiety but these folks will bring that down as they did for me and now I very little to none
Oh just now saw this. Henry never liked any of the FF except for the beef pate and the flaked cans for about one hot minute. I have an entire Petco and Chewy and he is just being ridiculous. There will be a point where I have to think about his quality of life and if he is unhappy with wet food (he has always been) I may have to switch to SGLS and know I have done everything I could for him. Sometimes that is all we can do. But good to know you did the Dry Dr Elsey during the diarrhea phase and was able to switch back to the wet. Paws crossed my little brat can do the same.
 
Roxana has an experienced member responded to your concerns yet?

My Henry was unhappy with the wet food too very stubborn about wet but he finally caved

Henry had eaten dry food for 10 years he wanted nothing but dry so YES it will be hard to convert to wet bit it can be done

There are videos out there that talk about the difficult time of converting your cat from dry to wet GOOGLE IT
 
Check out 2020

Henry was from Feb to Dec before good numbers
Oh wow, thank you. This helps to not lose hope. Sometimes it is just so hard. I see your Henry is a fluffy boy like mine, do you give him a certain amount of total calories per day? What do you think helped yours get to the better numbers? Any secrets to share ?
 
Awww, Henry's being tough. I've been there - 5 different cans open with Dimi turning up his nose and walking away from all of them. So frustrating! In our case, it happens when he is constipated or has diarrhea. I usually end up accepting that his stomach doesn't feel great, and shoot with fingers crossed. Also, don't get discouraged. Dimi's numbers where high and all over the place for months and months, and then one day, like magic he got it and since then, all greens. Hoping Henry feels better!
 
Roxana has an experienced member responded to your concerns yet?

My Henry was unhappy with the wet food too very stubborn about wet but he finally caved

Henry had eaten dry food for 10 years he wanted nothing but dry so YES it will be hard to convert to wet bit it can be done

There are videos out there that talk about the difficult time of converting your cat from dry to wet GOOGLE IT
Not yet, but I tagged a few and I am sure they will once they get a chance. The deed is done he ate some of the dry kibble and did the full 5 units.

So i did transition him for the past few months from dry to wet with the help of a ton of treats to put on top like bonito flakes and fortiflora, ziwi air dried, vital essentials freeze dried, purebites feeze dried and so on. But honestly he may be done with all my tricks. I don't know. i am just very frustrated.
 
Awww, Henry's being tough. I've been there - 5 different cans open with Dimi turning up his nose and walking away from all of them. So frustrating! In our case, it happens when he is constipated or has diarrhea. I usually end up accepting that his stomach doesn't feel great, and shoot with fingers crossed. Also, don't get discouraged. Dimi's numbers where high and all over the place for months and months, and then one day, like magic he got it and since then, all greens. Hoping Henry feels better!

Thank you for the kind words. Did you give him anything for the diarrhea? Gosh up until 4 units shooting insulin into Henry was like giving juice the numbers were consistently high. After 4 units a little improvement. Thought 5 may be the winning number but one day he gives me a lime and then 5 more he bounces to the sky. Anyways just one of those days. I made a vet appt for next Monday to test him for insulin antibodies and acromegaly at least to know for sure.
 
Roxana You are familiar with Lantus with respect to be slow acting?

Sometimes it takes five days before you see the results on a change in dosage
 
What’s going on Roxana? Henry is not eating? Did you shoot?
i tried to give him his wet food and treats on top, refused then went and had diarrhea. Waited 45 min, caved, gave him dry food Dr Elsey's chicken and shrimp, he ate and I did the full 5 units. He is not supposed to have dry food but honestly I was getting desperate. He has been extra picky for the past 2 days, although the diarrhea is new.
 
Roxana You are familiar with Lantus with respect to be slow acting?

Sometimes it takes five days before you see the results on a change in dosage
Yes, in his case very slow acting lol. Sometimes he sees a lower number after 3 cycles then bounces sky high. And then again and again.
 
What do you think has caused the diarrhea? When did it start? Do you have any s. Boulardii? How about FortiFlora (just as an appetite stimulant.) What about Slippery Elm bark powder? Baby food? Freeze dried pumpkin? Psyllium husk power?
 
i tried to give him his wet food and treats on top, refused then went and had diarrhea. Waited 45 min, caved, gave him dry food Dr Elsey's chicken and shrimp, he ate and I did the full 5 units. He is not supposed to have dry food but honestly I was getting desperate. He has been extra picky for the past 2 days, although the diarrhea is new.
Okay. Something is going on with the pickiness. Don’t worry. You needed him to eat and that was important - I am glad he ate and there are a lot worse things than Dr. Elsey’s kibble! Hopefully the diarrhea will simply be a passing thing.
 
It started right at PMPS today. I gave him some raw chicken 2.5 hrs before pmps I just got at the store and he was meowing loudly. He never has issues with raw chicken but who knows? The only time he had a bad diarrhea was from freeze dried treats many many years ago. in his life he had maybe 3 times diarrhea. I have fortiflora although he is no longer interested in it. just got some baby food but doubt he is interested in any wet food with his diarrhea. Don't have any of the others you mentioned. I should stock up i guess.
 
Dimi never got past 3 units, but oddly, at higher doses his BG numbers were super high. Oddly, when I started decreasing, and holding the lower dose for a while, his numbers started coming down. I wondered if the high dose was just too high and his body freaked out with high BG in response. And when he first started hitting lower numbers, he also bounced to the sky, so it was constant up and down. I hope Henry doesn't have acromegaly and really hope the magic happens for him soon.

For the diarrhea, I use Fortiflora (which he doesn't like at all) and pumpkin. Not the lowest in carbs, but I find the Weruva BFF tuna & pumpkin usually does the trick.
 
I think you are worried about how you can bring him up if he drops low - with a poor appetite. We are dealing with two separate issues here. You can bring him up if he won’t eat by giving syrup/honey - either rubbing on his gums or syringe in a little mixed with water and kind of squirt into that buccal pocket. And if his appetite is not back to normal in a few days then a vet visit may be in order. But you are in control here of the BG and can keep him safe.
 
Dimi never got past 3 units, but oddly, at higher doses his BG numbers were super high. Oddly, when I started decreasing, and holding the lower dose for a while, his numbers started coming down. I wondered if the high dose was just too high and his body freaked out with high BG in response. And when he first started hitting lower numbers, he also bounced to the sky, so it was constant up and down. I hope Henry doesn't have acromegaly and really hope the magic happens for him soon.

For the diarrhea, I use Fortiflora (which he doesn't like at all) and pumpkin. Not the lowest in carbs, but I find the Weruva BFF tuna & pumpkin usually does the trick.

I have Fortiflora and that usually helps him with his constipation but good to know works for the other problem as well. I will try to put some on something not sure what at this point. Is this the Weruva you mentioned ?
 
It started right at PMPS today. I gave him some raw chicken 2.5 hrs before pmps I just got at the store and he was meowing loudly. He never has issues with raw chicken but who knows? The only time he had a bad diarrhea was from freeze dried treats many many years ago. in his life he had maybe 3 times diarrhea. I have fortiflora although he is no longer interested in it. just got some baby food but doubt he is interested in any wet food with his diarrhea. Don't have any of the others you mentioned. I should stock up i guess.
Have you tried sprinkling parmesan cheese on top of wet food?
 
I have Fortiflora and that usually helps him with his constipation but good to know works for the other problem as well. I will try to put some on something not sure what at this point. Is this the Weruva you mentioned ?
I don’t believe I mentioned any Weruva- except that my cats like the Chicken and Lamb Laugh Out Loud flavor. It’s lower phosphorus so the older cats get it. For constipation, I would give Miralax for a start. Some cats tolerate pumpkin fiber in their food and some won’t. I use freeze dried pumpkin on those who will eat it. But I have used it all. You have to find what works for Henry. But clearly tonight constipation is not the problem.
 
Henry has been loving his new diet of rabbit, duck, venison and lamb, I'm curious if you're ever tried some of the single source novel proteins with him? Maybe it would be enough to peak his interests?

@John & Henry curious what brand cat food you use - Dimi insists on variety, so I'd love to try rabbit, duck, venison and lamb.
 
Yes, that's the one. Although it says gravy, it's not really gravy. I just looked it up and it's 5% carbs, better than I expected.
Funny I have that one as well as the chicken and pumpkin. Told you I bought the entire petco lol. I will try it tomorrow I am pretty sure today he won’t care for it.
 
And Gerber Ham baby food is the Secret Weapon. Don’t know if you have any.
I have the Gerber 4 M Mealtime for Baby Ham and Gravy - Is this the one? Or different? This is what I found today at Kroger.
upload_2022-7-5_21-21-51.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-7-5_21-21-51.jpeg
    upload_2022-7-5_21-21-51.jpeg
    119.8 KB · Views: 361
I did not measure it to be honest. I was just happy he ate something. I did not overdo it. Have a little of that and 1 shrimp. I boiled chicken but he is not interested
I am glad he ate the Dr. E’s. If you need to use it again because he won’t eat, don’t hesitate. But if this keeps up, you should get him checked out. I really hope it’s just transient tummy troubles. Constipation can really diminish appetite but he seems to have diarrhea. It doesn’t sound like he’s just playing you.
 
Back
Top