7/5 Mr Kitty PMPS 102, +3 38, +3.75 56, +4 70, +4.5 62, +5.5 68

FrostD

Member Since 2020
Yesterday

Not really sure what to make of what's going on. Had a whole can of 14% last night. I'm trying to wait out the larger depot but I missed an alarm last night, and MC barely keeping him up. Will have to skip.or do BCS tonight because Pippis surgery tomorrow.

He's still not really eating on his own except MC and Gerber, but gladly accepting syringes. Moving about a little but not much.

Debating cabergoline EOD, but poop is fine...
 
I'm so sorry to hear Mr. Kitty is still not feeling well. His numbers look good. Please explain what, exactly, is a BCS. I know it stands for Big Chicken Shot but does that actually mean "no shot at all". Hey, good luck with your pup tomorrow. Praying the results will not be bad.
 
Eating by syringe only, he's taking a leaf out of the diva book! Good luck with tonight's shot, tell him he can have all your attention next week but has to behave this week.:bighug:
 
I'm so sorry to hear Mr. Kitty is still not feeling well. His numbers look good. Please explain what, exactly, is a BCS. I know it stands for Big Chicken Shot but does that actually mean "no shot at all". Hey, good luck with your pup tomorrow. Praying the results will not be bad.
Thank you :bighug:

As far as I understand, a BCS is a very reduced dose because you're "too chicken" to shoot the full thing. But they're also used to drain the depot if needed, especially in IAA cats that are coming down the ladder. He's possibly at the year mark for IAA so that should be resolving soon, on top of the cabergoline, and prior glucose toxicity so I'm just sort of flailing my arms over here taking wild (educated) guesses with his dose.

Today was good, surfed on LC only. He may have gone lower during my nap. I'm going to guess this 9U is probably too low but I want him to settle out first.
 
Eating by syringe only, he's taking a leaf out of the diva book! Good luck with tonight's shot, tell him he can have all your attention next week but has to behave this week.:bighug:
Ive been thinking of Minnie every time I swear. I just had to open my big mouth the other day and say he gets what he gets, tough luck :rolleyes: I'd think he was playing with me if it weren't for not moving or purring.
 
Sigh

Hes not making this easy on me. I gave one last "full" dose, we'll see how tonight goes. These are the numbers I want for him, but he needs to do the eating!
 
Sigh

Hes not making this easy on me. I gave one last "full" dose, we'll see how tonight goes. These are the numbers I want for him, but he needs to do the eating!
Good luck. Now the tables are turning...I listened to you fine people and last few days just ignore when she refuses the food. Just now she came back 15 minutes later and cleared the plate. Maybe Mr Kitty will cooperate and eat for himself when you're not there. :bighug:
 
Good luck. Now the tables are turning...I listened to you fine people and last few days just ignore when she refuses the food. Just now she came back 15 minutes later and cleared the plate. Maybe Mr Kitty will cooperate and eat for himself when you're not there. :bighug:
Ha! I’m glad it worked. Of course, she’s a cat so nothing ever works the same exact way twice.
 
Last edited:
Yesterday

Not really sure what to make of what's going on. Had a whole can of 14% last night. I'm trying to wait out the larger depot but I missed an alarm last night, and MC barely keeping him up. Will have to skip.or do BCS tonight because Pippis surgery tomorrow.

He's still not really eating on his own except MC and Gerber, but gladly accepting syringes. Moving about a little but not much.

Debating cabergoline EOD, but poop is fine...
Who is Pippi? Is that your dog? What kind of surgery? You certainly have your hands FULL!
 
When did the inappetance begin? At the same time that you started the Cabergoline? If so, it’s probably just that as it is known to cause I upset, especially in the beginning. I’m concerned about Mr. Kitty!:bighug:
 
Who is Pippi? Is that your dog? What kind of surgery? You certainly have your hands FULL!
Yes. Poor girl has a very large mast cell tumor, vet thinks grade 2 but can't confirm til it's removed and sent off. So we're hoping it hasn't spread, but if it has that's a whole other can of worms. Biggest challenge for now though will be preventing split stitches!

Inappetence started day 3 of cabergoline. At first it seemed like pancreatitis but now I'm not so sure. Bupe didn't seem to do much, and he's definitely hungry just won't eat much on his own unless it's contraband. Poop is loose too. But not moving much, coming to greet me, or purring.
 
Hope everything will be fine tomorrow with Pippi. :bighug: Have you tried an appetite stim with Mr. K. yet? I use it as a last resort but I find that it gets Ruby over the hump and she starts eating on her own again after it wears off.
 
Hope everything will be fine tomorrow with Pippi. :bighug: Have you tried an appetite stim with Mr. K. yet? I use it as a last resort but I find that it gets Ruby over the hump and she starts eating on her own again after it wears off.
I did think about it tonight but forgot, thanks for reminder! I'll do that for the inevitable +4 I have to get up for.
 
Yes. Poor girl has a very large mast cell tumor, vet thinks grade 2 but can't confirm til it's removed and sent off. So we're hoping it hasn't spread, but if it has that's a whole other can of worms. Biggest challenge for now though will be preventing split stitches!

Inappetence started day 3 of cabergoline. At first it seemed like pancreatitis but now I'm not so sure. Bupe didn't seem to do much, and he's definitely hungry just won't eat much on his own unless it's contraband. Poop is loose too. But not moving much, coming to greet me, or purring.
Oh, I am so sorry about Pippi’s surgery. I will pray that it goes well.

Your description about Mr. Kitty reminds me of what Jaime described about his cat Mowgli (on the acro forum.). But I haven’t seen an update on how things are going for them.

you have all my best wishes and thoughts!
 
+3 38 would appreciate some eyes if anyone's around. Currently eating HC 22% will get karo in a min
 
I'm here, moral support. Mr Kitty, stop copying Minnie! We had almost the same numbers this morning! 39 at +3 followed by 42.

Keep at it - I have found for Minnie that the A/D (low end of MC) with a few drops of Karo works. But like you, it didn't work much in the first 20min. Then she worked her way up (aided by me accidentally giving MC 14% which I thought was LC).
 
I'm here, moral support. Mr Kitty, stop copying Minnie! We had almost the same numbers this morning! 39 at +3 followed by 42.

Keep at it - I have found for Minnie that the A/D (low end of MC) with a few drops of Karo works. But like you, it didn't work much in the first 20min. Then she worked her way up (aided by me accidentally giving MC 14% which I thought was LC).
I'm going a bit guns blazing because last night he had a whole can of 14% and it didn't do a whole lot lol

Funny, he's eating on his own now :rolleyes: found him head deep in his food bowl before testing
 
@Wendy&Neko if you happen to come around. I'm thinking skip in the AM provided ketones still low? Or max 3-4U? I suppose the rest of tonight will be telling as well
 
+3.5 48.

What's best way to do this? New post for each test to keep it bumped? Just edit thread title and SS?

He is hungrryyyy and mad at me for not letting him eat more/stick his head in karo bottle
 
I'm going a bit guns blazing because last night he had a whole can of 14% and it didn't do a whole lot lol

Funny, he's eating on his own now :rolleyes: found him head deep in his food bowl before testing

I would post to keep it bumped as long as you want people paying attention. It's late here now, Bhooma @Bandit's Mom and @Bron and Sheba (GA) I think will be around. Once one of them has eyes on, they'll just keep watching and I found it's easier to just keep responding than edit the title. Whatever works.

It is funny, isn't it? Whenever her numbers are crazy low I am worried about her not eating and don't give her too much food, keep her hungry. But every single time she inhales it and licks the plate clean.

Do you have anything higher than 14% in case he drops again? The FF beef gravy lovers is 20% and you just need to give the gravy....or as I said, a few drops of karo mixed in the 14% would also work. I think with your day tomorrow you will be ok with the extra bump. And do you have an auto feeder?
 
I can't remember if you've been through this before (I'm thinking not). I have started writing what food I give after each reading, in the same cell. Quicker and easier - you can always tidy up the s/s later if you want.
 
Capture.GIF

Like this. It's easy to forget to track what you give in the heat of the moment and I've found this the easier (I usually track food in a separate cell)
 

Attachments

  • Capture.GIF
    Capture.GIF
    25 KB · Views: 161
Hurrah, you broke 50. Now you can wait 30min to test. I think you can switch to MC now too (though personally I might stick with the HC just because I'm a chicken)
 
I would post to keep it bumped as long as you want people paying attention. It's late here now, Bhooma @Bandit's Mom and @Bron and Sheba (GA) I think will be around. Once one of them has eyes on, they'll just keep watching and I found it's easier to just keep responding than edit the title. Whatever works.

It is funny, isn't it? Whenever her numbers are crazy low I am worried about her not eating and don't give her too much food, keep her hungry. But every single time she inhales it and licks the plate clean.

Do you have anything higher than 14% in case he drops again? The FF beef gravy lovers is 20% and you just need to give the gravy....or as I said, a few drops of karo mixed in the 14% would also work. I think with your day tomorrow you will be ok with the extra bump. And do you have an auto feeder?
Yes I have up to 24%. MC is 13-15%, HC 22-24%.

I was hesitant on the 14% because of last night, plus the IAA/acro/cabergoline and reduction point of 70. Too many weird things going on.

Never dealt with this low.

Plus my husband woke both kids up when he came running upstairs to wake me up so I'm pulled in like 5 directions now
 
Hurrah, you broke 50. Now you can wait 30min to test. I think you can switch to MC now too (though personally I might stick with the HC just because I'm a chicken)
Thank you!

I'm also a little chicken especially with a few hours possibly to nadir. I'll check again in a few mins here and then decide
 
Yes I have up to 24%. MC is 13-15%, HC 22-24%.

I was hesitant on the 14% because of last night, plus the IAA/acro/cabergoline and reduction point of 70. Too many weird things going on.

Never dealt with this low.

Plus my husband woke both kids up when he came running upstairs to wake me up
ACK. Because that will help :) Sorry to hear that. You are doing all the right things. Shame this is night time, always feels harder at night though I'm not sure why.

I'm also a little chicken especially with a few hours possibly to nadir. I'll check again in a few mins here and then decide
You're exactly where I was this morning, 39 at +3. Crazy cats. My guess is that Minnie had a very late nadir and maybe that's what you're seeing here, +15 nadir? Complete guess. I can't think of any other explanation for lows at that time. Minnie continued to mostly rise up through the cycle

I have to go away for a bit (cooking a very late dinner!) but hopefully others will look in on you. You're bumped to the top :) Looks like you have things managed though (except for your sleep of course). I'll check in again in an hour or so. :bighug:

PS with any luck he will bounce for you tomorrow after these shenanigans.
 
What's best way to do this? New post for each test to keep it bumped? Just edit thread title and SS?
Always update the subject line for those watching. And posting in thread bumps it up but also keeps it all together so we can follow.
Glad to see Mr Kitty is over 50
 
Sorry, I 'm only just getting online. Looks like you've managed to get him above 50? Does he have a history of ketones? It doesn't say so on your signature.
 
Sorry, I 'm only just getting online. Looks like you've managed to get him above 50? Does he have a history of ketones? It doesn't say so on your signature.
No, no ketones, highest was 0.8 back when he had pancreatitis. Any ketone readings are in the Remarks column as "KETONES: X"

Yes above 50...too far above 50 probably ha
 
No, no ketones, highest was 0.8 back when he had pancreatitis. Any ketone readings are in the Remarks column as "KETONES: X"

Yes above 50...too far above 50 probably ha
Hopefully Wendy will come back online and see tag. I don’t have experience with dosing Acro cats having carbergoline which reduces the need for insulin.
 
Hopefully Wendy will come back online and see tag. I don’t have experience with dosing Acro cats having carbergoline which reduces the need for insulin.
Yes, theoretically it isn't supposed to be working yet, so it's a small mystery. We're also possibly at the year mark for the IAA to start resolving. I'm just throwing a dart at the dose board and hoping I don't miss too badly.
 
I would do a half dose tomorrow morning. You might still be seeing some of the effects of the 11.75 unit depot - the larger depot can influence 4-6 cycles after a reduction, longer with larger doses. I suggest starting with the 1/2 dose BCS to drain the depot. Over time you may or may not find it's the right amount. For me, a 2/3 dose BCS was better. Neko LOVED to bounce. :rolleyes:

Love the pic of him staring at the karo. :p
 
+5.5 68

I gave some "insurance" MC...though I've done that before and it wasn't insurance at all :rolleyes:

DH has the rest of the night barring any more shenanigans, thanks everyone for the help!
 
I would do a half dose tomorrow morning. You might still be seeing some of the effects of the 11.75 unit depot - the larger depot can influence 4-6 cycles after a reduction, longer with larger doses. I suggest starting with the 1/2 dose BCS to drain the depot. Over time you may or may not find it's the right amount. For me, a 2/3 dose BCS was better. Neko LOVED to bounce. :rolleyes:

Love the pic of him staring at the karo. :p
I was thinking still some 11.75 depot too. Half it is! He doesn't bounce too terribly much, but it does happen.

He was definitely trying to become one with the karo :joyful:
 
Sorry I got diverted but glad to see it seems he's letting you sleep! Good luck with the reduced dose (and everything else) tomorrow.
 
Back
Top