? 7/5 Nelson pmps 151 shoot or not?

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Nelson and Taz, Jul 15, 2020.

  1. Nelson and Taz

    Nelson and Taz Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2020
    Can someone advise pls. Pmps is 151 have feed him but not sure whether to shoot the 3 units or reduce? First time shooting low. Thanks
     
  2. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    When you get a lower than normal Preshot it is best to stall, don’t feed and retest in 20 mins to see if the BG rises.
    Do you have plenty of test strips, higher carb food and honey in the house and are you willing to test all cycle if needed?

    and is he eating well?
     
  3. Nelson and Taz

    Nelson and Taz Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2020
    I panicked and fed him. Damn it. Yes am prepared with supplies to stay up with him. How should I proceed now that I've messed it up? Thanks
     
  4. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I think you will be fine to shoot the 3 units. You shot a 176 a little over a week ago with 2.5 units.

    I would get a +1 and a+2 to start with and post the results for us to see and keep the SS updated. I will watch for your updates.
     
  5. Nelson and Taz

    Nelson and Taz Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2020
    Thank you so much. Shall proceed. Cheers
     
  6. Nelson and Taz

    Nelson and Taz Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2020
    He's at 183 already from his regular dinner. I will keep monitoring now he's had his shot.
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  7. Judy and Freckles

    Judy and Freckles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2019
    Don't forget to update your SS with your numbers as you test tonight. Nelson is a beautiful colour!!:)
     
  8. Nelson and Taz

    Nelson and Taz Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2020
    +1 is 193. He's always been a good eater too. He usually hassles me at +4 for a small meal. I know to go find him if he doesn't smack me around the head at night for food. My housemate calls him a shovel nosed hog cat. You can even blow raspberries on his tummy.
     
  9. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    A bit of a food bump. See you +2
     
    Nelson and Taz likes this.
  10. Nelson and Taz

    Nelson and Taz Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2020
    +2 is 196. Holding steady. When should I check again? I could sneek a couple hours sleep in maybe.
     
  11. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I’d check again +4.
    Have you given him a snack?
     
  12. Nelson and Taz

    Nelson and Taz Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2020
    Not yet but he's up and about. He'll most likely ask in next hour or when I just doze off. He normally gets half a can of pate bulked up by some steamed chicken. Does that sound ok?
    Thanks again.
     
  13. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I would give him a snack for the onset of the insulin which is around +2.
     
    Nelson and Taz likes this.
  14. Nelson and Taz

    Nelson and Taz Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2020
    +4 is 10mmol. He had his snack earlier. He usually wants another about midnight. I didn't realise you're in nsw aswell, makes numbers easier. Shall I check at +6 ?
     
  15. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Yes I would check at +6
     
    Nelson and Taz likes this.
  16. Nelson and Taz

    Nelson and Taz Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2020
    11.9 mmol +6
    Thanks for your support tonight.
    Much appreciated.
     
  17. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Nice cycle. Well done! Sleep well
     

Share This Page