8/1 Tigger PMPS = 395; +1.25/308 +2/304 - Shot thru Bounce

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tigger's Friend

Member Since 2013
Tigger's 7/31 Condo

Hi Lantus Land!

Tigger came out of his bounce last night pretty quickly, surprising me. I had to be away for 3 hours, +1 to +3. I fed a smaller amt. (1/2 c. vs 3/4 c.) at AMPS, then fed 1T after testng @ +1. I thought I'd be ok since he was still at 327.

I came home @ #3 & he was at 92, still good, but @ +4 he's at 51. (first test was 38, but I didn't get the strip in all the way & I had to re-enter it - the drop symbol was still showing after I got the sample, so I think that one was bad. 2nd test was 51, 3rd was 53.) I'm going to give 2 tsp. Wellness Chicken pate (4%) now & test in 20 minutes.

Any input would be greatly appreciated - this is new territory for us! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368; +1/327 +3/92; +4/51 Feeding sm. am

First step, breathe - big deep breath. OK, second step, test in 30 minutes from your last test and we'll go from there. It takes approx 30 minutes from the time he eats for the carbs to hit the blood stream.

Nice numbers Tigger! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368; +1/327 +3/92; +4/51 Feeding sm. am

Thanks for answering, Wendy! Glad someone's here & the Board's not DOWN!!!

I'm actually doing really well - I must be in denial! But - my mind went blank - I forgot if I should give HC or MC or LC, so I went with his normal, & figured if it was lower in 20 min. I'd go with the HC = an average of MC. :lol:

Ok, well, just my hands are shaking.
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368; +1/327 +3/92; +4/51 Feeding sm. am

Good response on the food. We save HC for under 50. First time under 50 we'll try HC to see how he responds to carbs. Later when you have more experience and we know a bit more about how Tigger reacts to carbs, you can try MC to get him above 50. Some people here just have to use higher LC (8-9%).

The breathing helps the hands. :-D With food, you are in control. And I seem to remember Tigger likes to eat. Just give him 1-2 tsp at a time. He might need to eat more later.
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368; +3/92; +4/51 +4.5/47!!!

OK, time to crack open the cans with gravy. Give Tigger a couple tsp and test again in 30.

And congrats on the reduction!
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368; +3/92; +4/51 +4.5/47!!!

Thanks, Wendy (I'm sooo glad you're here!)

Breathing.......

+30 min (1:44) = 47. Not bad. I initially tested @ 1:15 & gave food around 1:20-1:25. Had to walk in circles a little first. :roll:

From what you're saying, the food he ate may not have taken affect yet, so should I wait to feed, or feed a little HC?

You're right - he has a great appetite!
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368; +3/92; +4/51 +4.5/47!!!

No need to mess around in the 40's. A bit of gravy and test in 30.
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368; +3/92; +4/51 +4.5/47!!!

OK - I have FF turkey & giblets in gravy - will give him gravy alone. 2 tsp.

I also have some semi-moist cat treats - like 30% carb - will wait on that.
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368; +3/92; +4/51 +4.5/47 +5/54!!!

Hi Wendy,

Tigger got 2 tsp FF turkey/liver in gravy (not as much gravy as I'd hoped) @ 2:00 - boy did he scarf that! He went at the can so fast he got gravy all over his head!

@ 2:20 his BG is 54. We'll see where the HC he got @ 2:00 takes him - that should show up on the next 30 min. test, right?

Tigger's acting fine, he's been feelin' his oats the last few days he's hit green - scampering around in the morning especially, digging around the blankets & jumping up & off the bed (at 3.5 ft. off the ground, its a bit of work to do that) like he was a kitten again. I'd forgotten he used to do that when we were in bed.
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368; +3/92; +4/51 +4.5/47 +5/54!!!

Hey Suzanne

Wendy asked me to pop on to help you. She needs to go out for a bit.

See you at 2:50.
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368; +3/92; +4/51 +4.5/47 +5/54!!!

I love to hear how much better they start feeling. :-D :-D

Now that Tigger's in the 50's you can feed LC, but please test again in 30 until he gets to the 70's. I've asked Marje to keep an eye on you, as I have to head out for a bit. I'll be checking, but slower to respond.
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368; +3/92; +4/51 +4.5/47 +5/54!!!

Oops - just got the msg. Will feed 2 tsp LC now (2:40).

Thanks Wendy, for babysitting!

Welcome Marje - at least this is in the daytime!!!

Hey - what will we do for the PM dose, or does it depend upon the rest of the afternoon? Did we earn a dose reduction? ;-)
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368; +3/92; +4/51 +4.5/47 +5/54!!!

Hi Suzanne.

I'm new to all of this, but I have to say, you are doing a great job. You're giving me confidence that when I'm in your shoes, I'll be able to do exactly what my kitty needs, just like you're doing.

:-D
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368; +3/92; +4/51 +4.5/47 +5/54!!!

Suzanne

I think Wendy may not have seen that you fed HC at 2:20. How about getting a test at about +5.5.

Will get back to you on dose because I'm outside but I think he needs a reduction if you haven't just given one.
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368; +4/92; +5/51 +5.5/47 +6/54 +7/57!!

Marje, sorry, I screwed my times up (I'm ok, really!). I was 1 hour off, about, but its fixed now in the SS. :roll:

Also re. that post, I only fed HC 1x, at 2PM - my wording is misleading, I'll change that.

to re-cap: I fed:
2 tsp Wellness Chicken Pate @ 1:20
2 tsp FF turkey/liver gravy @ 2:00
2 tsp Wellness Chicken Pate @ 2:40

(if you look at the notes in the corners of my green reading on the SS they show what I fed & when)

+7 (2:50pm) = 57. We're crawling back out.

I'll test in 30 min (3:20). Should I feed any more LC or wait at this point?

Also, Tigger has had no dose reductions yet. He's at 2.25 units, this would be our first reduction. I want to make sure it's a good thing to reduce. I don't want to stop the momentum (don't want to 'over-moment', either!)

Thanks, Marje, you're my hero!
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368; +4/92; +5/51 +5.5/47 +6/54 +7/57!!

How about just one tsp LC cuz he's surfing. Then test in 30

With a number below 50, you need to reduce for safety. You can always go back up if you have to.
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368; +3/92; +4/51 +4.5/47 +5/54!!!

Onyx & Klepto said:
I'm new to all of this, but I have to say, you are doing a great job. You're giving me confidence that when I'm in your shoes, I'll be able to do exactly what my kitty needs, just like you're doing.

:-D
Hi Brandi,

Thanks for stopping by! Actually, if your cat's feeling mostly well Like Tigger is, & has a healthy appetite, the fear part is worse than the reality - so far. But - this is daytime & not nighttime, either :lol: . I think people who have cats that dive low & then won't eat or are vomiting its much more stressful.

I have full confidence in Marje (who's helped us out before at a pajama party) & Wendy & so many others here - they are so experienced, with them behind you & you knowing your cat, it will work out! I'll visit your site later!
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368; +4/92; +5/51 +5.5/47 +6/54 +7/57!!

Thanks, Marje

Am helping my husband put in windows, so I'm in & out. Will feed 1 tsp LC @ 3:20 & test @ 3:20 right after. Now it's all on the same schedule, less confusing.
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368; +5/51 +5.5/47 +6/54 +7/57 +7.5/57!

OOPS - OK, then I'll do that next time.....

+7.5 (3:20) = 57 - Tiggers staying level, feed some more?

Fed 1 tsp Wellness Chicken pate @ 3:21 :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368; +5/51 +5.5/47 +6/54 +7/57 +7.5/57!

Since you just fed, lets give him 30 mins and test at +8.

Good job!
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368 +5/51 +5.5/47 +6/54 +7/57 +7.5/57 +

OK...
+8 (3:55) = 64 We're heading up, & I like the surfing! :mrgreen:

Should I feed or hold, Marje?

Also, at what number is it OK to shoot the reduced PM dose (reduction = 2.0 units from 2.25 u.) - just so I have an idea for potential future reference :smile:
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368 +5/51 +5.5/47 +6/54 +7/57 +7.5/57 +

I'm in the house now so let me study his SS. Lets try no food and test in 30 if he's ok....I'd love to give him an hour but perhaps we should first see how he does without food over a short time.

BRB.
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368 +5/51 +5.5/47 +6/54 +7/57 +7.5/57 +

I agree, no food this round. I'd like to see where he goes with this, & I'll check at +8.5 (4:30).

Hmmm - BRB - be right back? ohmygod_smile

Thanks, Marje :smile: .
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368 +5/51 +5.5/47 +6/54 +7/57 +7.5/57 +

Perfect. Yes...Be right back.

So for tonight....we gotta wait to see where he goes. Still have almost four hours. Sorrrrryyyyyyyy. :-D he has a pattern of going up fast.
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368 +5/51 +5.5/47 +6/54 +7/57 +7.5/57 +

I completely understand. Yes, he goes up fast, and DOWN fast, too!!! I feel like I'm on a rollercoaster with him!

So - your intuition was right - +8.5 = 92! This time he's coming up slowly, I like seeing him in green all this time!

Test in 1 hour or in 30 minutes?

Normally Tigger gets a snack at +9.5, in 1 hour. Should I go ahead & give it to him after I test or hold off since he's had other snacks? He's used to getting it, & the other cats are fed then, so I'm reluctant to deny that. I could make it 2 tsp instead of 1 T.

Thanks for all your help, Marje, I really appreciate it (& Tigger says the same) :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368 +5/51 +5.5/47 +6/54 +7/57 +7.5/57 +

He's had alot of tests and that's a good bump up without food. Do you feel comfortable waiting until +10?

I also think if he's had his portion of food, I wouldn't give him anything at +9.5 unless it would cause a problem with the others eating. If you give him anything, maybe some freeze dried chicken treats or something like that?

Remember that feeding after nadir can slow down the insulin. Yes...if you are working low numbers and he's down, after nadir, you "might" have to feed a bit. But if he's not low where you have to manage it, you could lose some duration by feeding late in the cycle. Your call.....I don't want him to chow down on your calf from hunger :lol:

So you can either test at +9.5 or +10 but we definitely need a +11.5 if he's still green at the earlier test. We must plot ;-)
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368 +5.5/47 +6/54 +7/57 +8/64 +8.5/92

I love seeing Tigger in all this green. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: I have an assortment of freeze dried meat treats for Neko so she doesn't feel left out at +9.5 snack time. Today was FD duck heart - yummy! A couple times a week it's a one inch piece of chicken neck. But my kitties are on raw so she's used to it.

Marje - when you said you were outside earlier, I had this image of you floating in the pool with the iPad. :cool: :lol:
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368 +5.5/47 +6/54 +7/57 +8/64 +8.5/92

Ooooh, strategy, I like that.....

OK. I will test @ +10 (give him a chance to rocket back up) & only give FD treats - he loves those, too. I'll feed the rest of the gang then, too. Hopefully my calves will be safe - :lol:

Will see you around +10! Gee, I hope all your Newbies aren't as time consuming as we are!!! But I'm sure glad you're riding shotgun! :-D
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368 +5.5/47 +6/54 +7/57 +8/64 +8.5/92

Ok...I think we have a plan....little does Tigger know :twisted:

Oh we love our new members! You aren't that time consuming.....yet :lol: ;-) ;-) :lol:

Marje - when you said you were outside earlier, I had this image of you floating in the pool with the iPad.

Don't I wish and yes I have done that. But today I was holding the ladder while Mike was up cleaning the roof of leaves so the scuppers drain. We have a Santa Fe home with a flat roof and parapets. The parapets have holes for drainage and the round tube that comes through the parapet to drain the roof is the scupper. Can't let them get full or water backs up on the roof.

But I am now enjoying an adult beverage :twisted:
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368 +6/54 +7/57 +8/64 +8.5/92 +10/144

Marje and Gracie said:
Oh we love our new members! You aren't that time consuming.....yet :lol: ;-) ;-) :lol:

Well, we must try harder then! ;-)

I was holding the ladder while Mike was up cleaning the roof of leaves so the scuppers drain. We have a Santa Fe home with a flat roof and parapets. The parapets have holes for drainage and the round tube that comes through the parapet to drain the roof is the scupper. Can't let them get full or water backs up on the roof.
Yes, & its no fun to discover that water is backing up in the middle of a rainstorm (Been there done that) :lol: :lol: :lol:

But I am now enjoying an adult beverage :twisted:

Great minds think alike - I think we earned it today & it's still 2 hours before shot time..... ;-) Enjoy!!!

PS - Tigger's +10 is 144 - still going up slow - for HIM! But - he can go a loooong way up in 2 whole hours - & then down at the speed of light as well!!
Am ready to hear the plan, Boss!
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368 +6/54 +7/57 +8/64 +8.5/92 +10/144

I would just check him at +11.5 or +11.75. Four scenarios:

1. He's surfing: if you have supplies and can test tonight, I would shoot 2u on time

2. He's up more than meter variance but not yellow: same as #1

3. He's way up: you can shoot through the bounce once with 2.25u and reduce to 2u in he morning

4. He's come back down: it's probably the second Lantus dip and it's likely not very low. This is the one scenario you might really want to discuss. But a second dip is a good thing and is not typically lower than nadir. Often, once you shoot and feed, the BG comes up.
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368 +6/54 +7/57 +8/64 +8.5/92 +10/144

Good plans. We must wait. I'll test again @ 11.5 & if you're available we can converse.

I can do scenario #1 & 2

Re. #3: Lately his very pink AM bounces have come down into green (7/30, 7/31, & 8/1 AM only - no so in the PM), so I'm most unsure about doing the 2.25 u. into a bounce, but I'm open.

Scenario #4 is what I think you talked me through on 7/25.

I think we need to wait till 11.5 & (hopefully) get our answer!

Thanks for the help, Marje - enjoy your adult beverage - I nixed mine - don't know what tonite will bring, so take a sip for me!
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368 +6/54 +7/57 +8/64 +8.5/92 +10/144

It's great that you recognize that shooting through the bounce might not be the best choice for him. Know Thy Cat is important!

So, yes...just post and we will sort it out.

I finished with my adult beverage some time ago so I can be clear as a bell tonight :-D
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368 +7/57 +8/64 +8.5/92 +10/144 + 11.5/

Hi Marje,

Well, we're looking at +11.5/387. So, we're looking at Option #3 nailbite_smile I was afraid of that.

Can you tell me what the benefits are if you shoot through the bounce at the regular dose instead of reducing? I have an idea, but you can probably be waaaay more clear!
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368 +7/57 +8/64 +8.5/92 +10/144 + 11.5/

The upside is that for cats that bounce for more than one cycle after a low, it helps them get over the bounce a little faster. If you shoot a reduced dose (after a reduction) it might take a little longer to get over the bounce.

The downside is for cats that like to drop, you might get a really active cycle with a depot that is full.
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368 +7/57 +8/64 +8.5/92 +10/144 + 11.5/

The goal is to use the larger depot from the 2.25u to keep the numbers from going so high. Sometimes it works great and they just level out and then have a nice next cycle. Sometimes it works so so. The first time I shot through the bounce, I swore I'd never do it again because she came right back down. It was good for her but I was up all night. So that can happen , too.

You know him best and you know how you are doing and that's part of the answer. If it were me and I could manage the possible low numbers tonight OR tomorrow because you could see the numbers coming down tomorrow instead, then I would seriously consider shooting through the bounce.
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368 +7/57 +8/64 +8.5/92 +10/144 + 11.5/

Thanks, Marje & Wendy,

Well, he's dropped the last few days with the new dose, but before that on prior doses he stayed high and level.

I don't know what to do.

I want to keep the momentum going, but I don't want to jeopardize Tigger. Would I then do the reduced 2 units tomorrow?

My husband decided tonight to be sick of all this - I told him going into it we would have these days, but he's having a bad day today, too.
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368 +7/57 +8/64 +8.5/92 +10/144 + 11.5/

Yes...you would shoot 2u in the morning.

I could be wrong but I think there is less chance he will come down tonight and more that he will come down tomorrow. But remember the depot can affect up to six subsequent cycles and so you could still see some activity for a few cycles.

If he were my cat, I'd probably shoot through the bounce but it has to be your decision and you have DH to consider.
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368 +7/57 +8/64 +8.5/92 +10/144 + 11.5/

OK - shoot through the bounce.

Am running late, so will test, then feed, then shoot!
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368 +7/57 +8/64 +8.5/92 +10/144 + 11.5/

Hi Suzanne,

It is so nice when our kitties start acting like they used to. Glad to hear Tigger is scampering around again :-D

Good luck in deciding whether to shoot through the bounce or not!

Jane
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368 +7/57 +8/64 +8.5/92 +10/144 + 11.5/

I'm glad your DH doesn't know me nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile :lol:
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368 +7/57 +8/64 +8.5/92 +10/144 + 11.5/

You are doing great.
My dh has never given a test or shot....
he'll just feed.

Hope it's just a today thing....
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368 +7/57 +8/64 +8.5/92 +10/144 + 11.5/

Marje and Gracie said:
I'm glad your DH doesn't know me nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile :lol:

HA! He's mostly just tired, had a bad day struggling with window replacement in an old adobe, we have 7 rescue cats + a neighbor's feral that is wrecking havoc. Plus he's a double-Scorpio, so when he's moody - the world knows about it!

So - the deed is done. 10-15 minutes late, but still in the normal window. And I'm a BIG BCS, shaking like a leaf. Hope I've blown this up in my mind & I'm going to laugh at myself later. :lol: :lol: :lol: I'll just start laughing now. Actually, I could really use that adult beverage........

I have some HC semi-moist treats (Buddy Biscuits & Blue Wilderness)- I know kibble's a no-no, but would these be OK?

Hey- does Petromalt count as HC? Tigger could use some hairball remedy - just thinkin' ahead...... bcatrun_gif
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368 +7/57 +8/64 +8.5/92 +10/144 + 11.5/

Hi Rhiannon, thanks for stopping by & the encouragement. We would love to have Shadow's OTJ scenario - how wonderful after only 3 months!

Same for you, Jane! Looks like Cleo's passed the 1 week mark, too! Congratulations Again!!!
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368 +7/57 +8/64 +8.5/92 +10/144 + 11.5/

I think you'll just have to try the semi moist treats to know if they will work.

I don't know about the petromalt...I'm sure it has something in it that is sugary.

Try not to worry. I'd suggest an+2 test.
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368 +7/57 +8/64 +8.5/92 +10/144 + 11.5/

Petromalt is a big no-no. It spiked Neko's BG something fierce. Some people here use a tiny bit of butter or olive oil on the food. Or Marje introduced a bunch of us to virgin cold pressed coconut oil. Neko still loves Marje for introducing us to that, and it's really been good at keeping the hairball numbers down.
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368 +7/57 +8/64 +8.5/92 +10/144 + 11.5/

Wendy&Neko said:
Petromalt is a big no-no. It spiked Neko's BG something fierce. Some people here use a tiny bit of butter or olive oil on the food. Or Marje introduced a bunch of us to virgin cold pressed coconut oil. Neko still loves Marje for introducing us to that, and it's really been good at keeping the hairball numbers down.

Coconut oil's a great idea! We use it at home already! How much do you give? (I was using vasoline since no petromalt & hate the thought of petroleum going in my babies)

Also, I read about egg yolk (not soy) lecethin capsules that you sprinkle on the food. It breaks the hair down somehow - has to do with fats, but I don't remember exactly. Coconut oil is so much easier!

Thanks so much!
 
Re: 8/1 Tigger AMPS =368 +7/57 +8/64 +8.5/92 +10/144 + 11.5/

Looks like you've had a super busy day!!!
Good job!!!
And congratulations on the reduction.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top