8/12 Newman AMPS 135, stall, 138 , no shot. PMPS 381, shot 2.25., 247@ + 4

This morning after his test and shot, he was stretched out on my desk, as he often is, sleeping. He got too close to the edge and in the blink of an eye, he flipped over the edge, striking the pull out keyboard shelf and landing on his side on the floor. He was definitely surprised and at first seemed dazed. I talked to him and stroked him and after a few minutes I picked him up and put him on the bed. He stayed there, loafed up, for about 15 minutes and then went to the kitchen for the second course of his breakfast. He ate and went to one of his sleeping places. Now, six hours later he has emerged. I tested him (168) and gave him a few extra Dr Elsey's. He seems subdued, but perhaps I am just looking too hard. Back now, looking out the window. He is acting more suspicious of me. I think he thinks I made him fall. lol

I don't think he got hurt, except for the rude awakening. Poor boy. @Suzanne & Darcy
 
Oh. I am sorry this happened to Newman. I hope he didn’t hurt his ribs and isn’t sore. I checked his spreadsheet about one o’clock and was looking for tests. I’m happy he’s in blue and that you tested and gave treats.
 
Hi Suzanne. I was testing when you posted here today - good timing. Just tested 170 @ +5.5.

I would say that he is getting back to normal, after his fall from the desk. He is a little bit suspicious of me, but he will lay on the desk on his terms. He keeps a close eye on my actions, especially hand movement. Physically I don't think there is any indication of any bruising or other injury. Thank goodness.
 
Quick FYI we are all down with a nasty version of hand foot and mouth so I'll be scarce
 
I asked yesterday when I took kids in, should be ok but will check with midwife tomorrow. I guess the danger is the fever in 1st tri (kids hit 104), or passing to baby while giving birth. I'm almost end of 2nd tri so should be good!
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: Hope it’s okay to throw a hug your way to you and baby!
 
Hi Linda. I'm just stopping by to look at Newman's spreadsheet. I'm really happy to see those blues today. I wonder why he had such good numbers today (and not as good on some other days?) Whatever the reason, I'm liking it. I hope you are doing well.
 
Hi Linda. I'm just stopping by to look at Newman's spreadsheet. I'm really happy to see those blues today. I wonder why he had such good numbers today (and not as good on some other days?) Whatever the reason, I'm liking it. I hope you are doing well.

I wonder from day to day as well. I was hoping that you and Melissa had the answer to that question! LOL I guess the habit of grazing could have a part in it. He probably finished his food in fewer visits to the bowl today. That would be my best guess and I have no idea if there would be any basis to that idea. In my mind, there is a fine line between attempting to change his eating habit and still avoid him throwing up if he eats too much at one time.

Thanks for stopping and checking on us.
 
@Suzanne & Darcy
@FrostD
Newman surprised me this morning with his fasting bg 176 so we are stalling and will test in 30 min. (7:30). May be considering a reduced dose. Delayed test results 232. Feeding as usual.
Decided to shoot skinny 2.0

Well, I guess the skinny 2.0 was too little, although I didn't think it was that far off the usual 2.25 he was getting. Just got 326 @ +4

And yesterday was such a good day.
 
Last edited:
Interesting. Maybe he went a little lower last night...I don't *think* reduction worthy but hard to say for sure. He doesn't usually have a late nadir with bounce breaks. He's bouncing now though!
 
Okay, at +11.25 his PMPS is 303. The 305 on the spreadsheet is before he was fed dinner. The 303 is 2-3/4 hours after eating so there was no bounce from food. These numbers are confusing for me. I don't know if he is still going down. Since he is barely above 300, I don't feel comfortable shooting a full 2.25 dose. Any advice? @Suzanne & Darcy @FrostD

Twenty minutes later I retested and he is up to 360.
 
Last edited:
Hello there, Linda.
Okay, at +11.25 his PMPS is 303. The 305 on the spreadsheet is before he was fed dinner. The 303 is 2-3/4 hours after eating so there was no bounce from food. These numbers are confusing for me. I don't know if he is still going down. Since he is barely above 300, I don't feel comfortable shooting a full 2.25 dose. Any advice? @Suzanne & Darcy @FrostD

Twenty minutes later I retested and he is up to 360.

Wow. So high. I hope you shot and not too late.
 
Just checked him at +3.25 he is 236. He is eating a bit of his FF left from dinner. I always wake up some time during the night. I can look at him and make sure he is responsive, but extremely unlikely I would be able to test him.
 
First test this AM was at 7:15 AM, which was actually the tail end of last evening's cycle. I retested at 7:30 AM and called that his AMPS 309, took a deep breath and shot the 2.25 units.
 
I am trying to keep the title updated so it is easy for a quick glance. I will assume that nadir was somewhere between the tests that I got at +4.75 (174) and +9 (135) and that he is on his way back up on his own. I want to go ahead and feed him now as usual, so I can stay close to schedule.
 
Last edited:
I am trying to keep the title updated so it is easy for a quick glance. I will assume that nadir was somewhere between the tests that I got at +4.75 (174) and +9 (135) and that he is on his way back up on his own. I want to go ahead and feed him now as usual, so I can stay close to schedule.
He seems to be on the rise. That should make you feel good.
 
Tested and got the 135 @+9, fed dinner and held food for 2 hours. I tested after the hold and got 229 not sure what to shoot so I offered food again to be sure that he would eat and tested after 45 minutes and got 251. I am thinking I will give a reduced dose because I think the 251 is a bump up from food and I won't be monitoring overnight. Looking at the guidelines, I will shoot a fat 1.5 units.

@FrostD
@Suzanne & Darcy

I welcome input. If there was something better to do, I need to learn. Thanks.
 
Last edited:
Tested and got the 135 @+9, fed dinner and held food for 2 hours. I tested after the hold and got 229 not sure what to shoot so I offered food again to be sure that he would eat and tested after 45 minutes and got 251. I am thinking I will give a reduced dose because I think the 251 is a bump up from food and I won't be monitoring overnight. Looking at the guidelines, I will shoot a fat 1.5 units.

@FrostD
@Suzanne & Darcy

I welcome input. If there was something better to do, I need to learn. Thanks.
He's red this morning, but you did expect it. It's okay, with ProZinc, since there is no depot, each cycle is kind of like a new day (well... it IS a new day.. but you know what I mean). I understand your anxiety. Hopefully, he will give you a similar preshot number on a weekend or in the daytime so you can see what he will do if you shoot the whole dose. I think the whole dose would have been okay... BUT, since your ability to monitor is uncertain, I would maybe have shot only 2 units instead of 2.25... or 1.75 (well... you almost did shoot that if it was a fat 1.5... but a real 1.75.) You know, don't beat yourself up. It's a lot of trial and error here! You are doing your very best for Newman! I KNOW that! It's going to be okay! As I said, we hopefully can gather more data when he does similar things on a daytime cycle or on a weekend when hopefully you can call for assistance. :bighug::bighug::bighug: Hang in there Cat Mama!
 
All data is good data.

I wonder why the alarm went off. We have glass breakage sensors as part of our alarm system and sometimes a sharp noise will set them off (luckily the sonic booms created by fighter jets flying overhead don't usually seem to set it off... which is weird. Once some loud lightning/thunder set the alarm off.

Your PMPS cell is blank last night... was that because you'd already tested at 11.5 (makes sense to me)?
 
Exactly, I was looking at the time and just noticing it was near his nadir time (which varies a bit, but that was in the zone.) So, yes, it's good data that you happened to get :-) It should help with dosing decisions (but maybe not anxiety, right?) I understand that! :bighug:
 
Was at choir but saw this. I saw you were stalling so I hoped he would at least be yellow after the stall. If you are uncomfortable with your before bed test (if you can get one) you could give him a snack and I am wondering if he can have a snack closer to his nadir (which yes, is in the middle of the night) even if he won’t allow a test and you wouldn’t have to get up and test. Even some dry treats (uh oh, a Pox upon me for saying that! But I am trying to think of what’s easy.) I am just throwing out ideas depending on what happens.
 
Hey, you may be in luck and sleep peacefully, it looks like a possible bounce from the blue (or that pink would be a heck of a food bump!)
 
Was at choir but saw this. I saw you were stalling so I hoped he would at least be yellow after the stall. If you are uncomfortable with your before bed test (if you can get one) you could give him a snack and I am wondering if he can have a snack closer to his nadir (which yes, is in the middle of the night) even if he won’t allow a test and you wouldn’t have to get up and test. Even some dry treats (uh oh, a Pox upon me for saying that! But I am trying to think of what’s easy.) I am just throwing out ideas depending on what happens.

I did get yellow (230) after the stall, so I thought it would be recommended and be safe to stay with the 2.25 dose. At any rate, at this point I feel better getting the bump or bounce after the shot and after he had eaten. Would you have suggested a reduced dose?

It is impossible for me to leave a snack unless I separate/seclude the cats from each other. Ozzie will eat every morsel, literately swallowing dry food whole as it hits the floor. I will get another test before bed and worst case I will just have to stay up. The only dry food I have is Dr Elsey's, so being low carb, it probably wouldn't help would it? @Suzanne & Darcy
 
I did get yellow (230) after the stall, so I thought it would be recommended and be safe to stay with the 2.25 dose. At any rate, at this point I feel better getting the bump or bounce after the shot and after he had eaten. Would you have suggested a reduced dose?

It is impossible for me to leave a snack unless I separate/seclude the cats from each other. Ozzie will eat every morsel, literately swallowing dry food whole as it hits the floor. I will get another test before bed and worst case I will just have to stay up. The only dry food I have is Dr Elsey's, so being low carb, it probably wouldn't help would it? @Suzanne & Darcy
Well, yes Dr. Elsey’s would have helped as a low carb snack. Also, dry food can kind of “last longer” in that they can influence BG for a little longer than wet food. Also, I don’t know what flavor you have as the carbs vary a bit. My cats like the duck and the rabbit. The chicken is lowest in carbs but has become so messy and crumbly that I don’t buy it anymore.
 
Back
Top