8/17 Newman AMPS 271, shot 2.0, 164 @ +6

Hi Linda. I think he will not drop into the danger zone tonight. But you read my mind. I was going to suggest the option of a little medium carb food if it will ease your mind a bit. It’s still quite a bit before typical nadir.
 
Hi Linda. I think he will not drop into the danger zone tonight. But you read my mind. I was going to suggest the option of a little medium carb food if it will ease your mind a bit. It’s still quite a bit before typical nadir.

Let me ask, since it is getting late, I will stay up and do a couple more checks, what number is the time to get out the high carb food?
 
Let me ask, since it is getting late, I will stay up and do a couple more checks, what number is the time to get out the high carb food?
Hmmm…. Normally we would not get out the high carb until he dropped quite low — and I don’t think you will need it if you have medium carb food. But if he drops below 100 or if you find he’s not responding to the MC, do the 20 percent. How does that sound?
 
And 15 minutes is perhaps not quite long enough to let that food do its work. The 132 was 15 minutes after the food? Is that right? Karo might work that fast but food will take a little longer- 20 to 30 minutes.
 
And 15 minutes is perhaps not quite long enough to let that food do its work. The 132 was 15 minutes after the food? Is that right? Karo might work that fast but food will take a little longer- 20 to 30 minutes.
No food before the 132. I just gave him the med carb about 5 minutes ago.

Sorry I got the posts out of sync as I answered.
And thanks for being here.
 
I hope so. He is under the bed now. I will have to coax him out so I hope he will be tricked in thinking I still have the "good" food out. He loves the junk food.

My son is here so if I have to I will wake him up to help.
Yes. Hopefully the lure of junk food will be enough. Or can you crinkle a bag of Temptation treats or something (even give him one as a reward for showing up.)
 
You know. Since it’s getting so late for you… thinking…. You may want to go ahead and give the 20 percent carb food now and test in another 30 minutes to make sure he’s coming up.
 
Approximately is good enough. He’s in safe numbers now, but I am anxious about your being able to test him. I know you are too. Don’t give too much food - just a spoonful is enough. You don’t want him full!
 
Okay so the 20 percent is working. I am concerned that he will drop back down when it wears off though. Also, you are supposed to test for two hours after giving HC food to make sure that it’s safe. Need flat or rising numbers that are not influenced by HC.
I don't know if I can stay up for 2 hours, but I should be able to test him at 1:15 (+6)
If he is going back down, I will give him more HC food which should then take him through to nadir. After nadir, he would then start back up on his own. True?
 
I don't know if I can stay up for 2 hours, but I should be able to test him at 1:15 (+6)
If he is going back down, I will give him more HC food which should then take him through to nadir. After nadir, he would then start back up on his own. True?
Yes. I do think this is true. If you can test at 1:15 that would be good. Your plan is a good one. I think he will be safe with this approach.
 
Here she is.
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-8-14_0-34-49.jpeg
    upload_2022-8-14_0-34-49.jpeg
    57.5 KB · Views: 146
160 @ +6

Newman was getting antsy on my desk while I petted him as we watched the clock, so I tested about 5 minutes ahead of time. I had no confidence that I could coax him if he jumped down and into an unreachable place.

I think he will be okay now, so I am going to get into my PJ's and brush my teeth. I may give him another dab of food for good measure if he is waiting for me in the kitchen, where he usually eats.

I can't thank you enough Suzanne for hanging with me.
 
Looking back at last night's PS (276) should I have considered a reduced dose as suggested in the SLGS guidelines? Or do I need to expect these early drops
to occur occasionally and live with them?

My preference would be to give a lower dose if that lower PS happens on the PM test, to try to alleviate them. Below 150 no shot, and below 300 a reduced dose.

I feel like with these low PS values, I am rolling the dice.

@Suzanne & Darcy
@FrostD
 
Busy night!

It's an interesting question, but you'll hate my non-answer answer...

I don't think he's a sliding scale cat. If anything I would prefer you take a reduction to get something that is consistently shootable over 250-ish. If you find over the course of a week or two that makes things worse, then could always try a sort of sliding scale.

He was still in very safe numbers last night, without the carb intervention probably would have ended up right around 90 anyway.

The other interesting thing is had you shot closer to 12 hours apart, he probably would have been above 300 anyway, just not sure how much cushion that might have bought you.

He seems to follow more of a Lantus pattern, where if he's relatively flat yellow leading up to preshot, that's when you get a more active cycle following it.

So, long story short - up to you! I think it would be better to reduce and try to shoot that above 250 or so. But if you want to try a sliding scale, not a problem...but I think you'll need to take the trend leading up to the preshot into account. That's a 3rd option I suppose, when he's pretty flat and ends in a yellow preshot, reduce by maybe 0.25-0.5U.
 
Thanks Melissa. I don't hate your answer! Let me see if I have gotten this straight. I read I have two options to consider. We won't consider a sliding scale.

#1 Reduce dose to 2 units and shoot that consistently on 250-ish PS or above.

#2 Stay with 2.25 units and watch numbers throughout the cycle. If relatively flat, and PS is yellow, reduce that next dose to 2 units or 1.75 units. This option depends on me getting testing during the cycle and feeling confident with my ability to evaluate those numbers.

I prefer option #1. As I thought about it and looked back at the SS, we did get some good blue numbers on 2 units.

I guess there is another option and that would be to stay with the 2.25 doing a better job of staying on the 12 hour schedule.

I do usually work within the 30 minute allowable time. Most often that fits and accommodates his level of availability and cooperation. Probably had those evening test numbers last night shown up during the daytime cycle, I would have been okay. The overnight cycle is more threatening to me.
 
It's really what you're comfortable with and what works for you. It's a sort of trial really, you try something for 1-2 weeks and see how it goes, then see if it's worth tweaking or going back to what you were doing before.

Even staying strictly to a 12 hr schedule, you'll still end up with the questionable preshots eventually.

I just prefer something with a little more consistency because he's a fairly consistent cat (as far as ProZinc goes). So yes, 2U above 250 should work for you for now. Below that you'll still want to give something, but what dose specifically pretty subjective based on what you can manage. So you take a guess, see what happens, and learn for the next time.
 
Another surprise! Test at 7:00 this morning 185, stalled 20 minutes and retested, got 185. I will feed and shoot reduced dose of 1 unit. (?) Advice and feedback welcome.
ETA: Fed about 1/3 can FF, the usual, and shot 1.0 units. I guess I'll learn if I have made a mistake.

@Suzanne & Darcy
@FrostD
 
Last edited:
Back
Top