8/17 Newman AMPS 271, shot 2.0, 164 @ +6

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Linda and Newman, Aug 13, 2022.

  1. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  2. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I can't understand the pink this morning, unless it's still an influence from the skip (seems like it would not be at this point.) Anyway, I hope you enjoy your weekend.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  3. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
  4. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Hi Linda. I think he will not drop into the danger zone tonight. But you read my mind. I was going to suggest the option of a little medium carb food if it will ease your mind a bit. It’s still quite a bit before typical nadir.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  5. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    What do you have on hand?
     
  6. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Let me ask, since it is getting late, I will stay up and do a couple more checks, what number is the time to get out the high carb food?
     
  7. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    The Fancy Feast Grilled flavors are medium carb (this is for future reference.)
     
  8. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    I had to go look. I have 14% and 20%.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  9. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    I just checked him again, 15 minutes since the 149 and he is 132.
    I will feel better if I give him the 14% food in small amount.
     
    FrostD and Suzanne & Darcy like this.
  10. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Hmmm…. Normally we would not get out the high carb until he dropped quite low — and I don’t think you will need it if you have medium carb food. But if he drops below 100 or if you find he’s not responding to the MC, do the 20 percent. How does that sound?
     
  11. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    And 15 minutes is perhaps not quite long enough to let that food do its work. The 132 was 15 minutes after the food? Is that right? Karo might work that fast but food will take a little longer- 20 to 30 minutes.
     
  12. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    No food before the 132. I just gave him the med carb about 5 minutes ago.

    Sorry I got the posts out of sync as I answered.
    And thanks for being here.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  13. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Oh. Okay. I understand now
     
  14. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    So do you think you will be able to retest in 25 minutes to see how the MC is working.
     
  15. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    I hope so. He is under the bed now. I will have to coax him out so I hope he will be tricked in thinking I still have the "good" food out. He loves the junk food.

    My son is here so if I have to I will wake him up to help.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  16. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Yes. Hopefully the lure of junk food will be enough. Or can you crinkle a bag of Temptation treats or something (even give him one as a reward for showing up.)
     
  17. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010

    just got 130
     
  18. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    And that was half an hour after the MC?
     
  19. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    You know. Since it’s getting so late for you… thinking…. You may want to go ahead and give the 20 percent carb food now and test in another 30 minutes to make sure he’s coming up.
     
  20. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Yes, approximately. I have to take what I can get when he is close by.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  21. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Approximately is good enough. He’s in safe numbers now, but I am anxious about your being able to test him. I know you are too. Don’t give too much food - just a spoonful is enough. You don’t want him full!
     
  22. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Yes, I will give some HC, as he may be getting full on treats!
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  23. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Okay at 11.45 he ate about 1 tablespoon of HC.

    If I can get a hold on him I will test at 12.15
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  24. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    And that will be +5, right?
     
  25. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I bet you didn’t think you would be having a “PJ Party” tonight.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  26. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Yes, 12:15 will be +5
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  27. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    I didn't even get to put my PJ's on yet. lol
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  28. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I did. In between talking to you. I put them on. Then checked my phone. Then brushed my teeth… then checked phone again. Lol. Changed cat’s water bowl, etc. keeping busy
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  29. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
  30. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    I'm betting that this has happen before and I missed it, overnight. Could explain the few times I got low AMPS numbers.
     
  31. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Okay so the 20 percent is working. I am concerned that he will drop back down when it wears off though. Also, you are supposed to test for two hours after giving HC food to make sure that it’s safe. Need flat or rising numbers that are not influenced by HC.
     
  32. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    It’s possible that he has been in blue overnight. We have suspected it before.
     
  33. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    I don't know if I can stay up for 2 hours, but I should be able to test him at 1:15 (+6)
    If he is going back down, I will give him more HC food which should then take him through to nadir. After nadir, he would then start back up on his own. True?
     
  34. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Yes. I do think this is true. If you can test at 1:15 that would be good. Your plan is a good one. I think he will be safe with this approach.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  35. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I will check in with you at 1:15 a.m. so post here
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  36. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    This is Ginger in bed with me now.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  37. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Thanks.

    Are you usually a night owl or are you just here for me and Newman?

    I'll post after that test at 1:15.
     
  38. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Here she is.
     

    Attached Files:

  39. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    No. I try to get to bed earlier than this for sure. But tonight you and Newman needed some moral support.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  40. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Ginger is a calico? She is pretty and lucky to be your cat.
     
  41. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    160 @ +6

    Newman was getting antsy on my desk while I petted him as we watched the clock, so I tested about 5 minutes ahead of time. I had no confidence that I could coax him if he jumped down and into an unreachable place.

    I think he will be okay now, so I am going to get into my PJ's and brush my teeth. I may give him another dab of food for good measure if he is waiting for me in the kitchen, where he usually eats.

    I can't thank you enough Suzanne for hanging with me.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  42. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I hope you are able to get that test!
     
  43. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Yep. She’s calico
     
  44. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    So he is in pretty good numbers now. I would still give him a snack though.
     
  45. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Okay. I think he will be safe. I feel good about it. And a snack will probably just help him surf. Good night, Linda!
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  46. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Looking back at last night's PS (276) should I have considered a reduced dose as suggested in the SLGS guidelines? Or do I need to expect these early drops
    to occur occasionally and live with them?

    My preference would be to give a lower dose if that lower PS happens on the PM test, to try to alleviate them. Below 150 no shot, and below 300 a reduced dose.

    I feel like with these low PS values, I am rolling the dice.

    @Suzanne & Darcy
    @FrostD
     
  47. FrostD

    FrostD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    Busy night!

    It's an interesting question, but you'll hate my non-answer answer...

    I don't think he's a sliding scale cat. If anything I would prefer you take a reduction to get something that is consistently shootable over 250-ish. If you find over the course of a week or two that makes things worse, then could always try a sort of sliding scale.

    He was still in very safe numbers last night, without the carb intervention probably would have ended up right around 90 anyway.

    The other interesting thing is had you shot closer to 12 hours apart, he probably would have been above 300 anyway, just not sure how much cushion that might have bought you.

    He seems to follow more of a Lantus pattern, where if he's relatively flat yellow leading up to preshot, that's when you get a more active cycle following it.

    So, long story short - up to you! I think it would be better to reduce and try to shoot that above 250 or so. But if you want to try a sliding scale, not a problem...but I think you'll need to take the trend leading up to the preshot into account. That's a 3rd option I suppose, when he's pretty flat and ends in a yellow preshot, reduce by maybe 0.25-0.5U.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  48. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Thanks Melissa. I don't hate your answer! Let me see if I have gotten this straight. I read I have two options to consider. We won't consider a sliding scale.

    #1 Reduce dose to 2 units and shoot that consistently on 250-ish PS or above.

    #2 Stay with 2.25 units and watch numbers throughout the cycle. If relatively flat, and PS is yellow, reduce that next dose to 2 units or 1.75 units. This option depends on me getting testing during the cycle and feeling confident with my ability to evaluate those numbers.

    I prefer option #1. As I thought about it and looked back at the SS, we did get some good blue numbers on 2 units.

    I guess there is another option and that would be to stay with the 2.25 doing a better job of staying on the 12 hour schedule.

    I do usually work within the 30 minute allowable time. Most often that fits and accommodates his level of availability and cooperation. Probably had those evening test numbers last night shown up during the daytime cycle, I would have been okay. The overnight cycle is more threatening to me.
     
  49. FrostD

    FrostD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    It's really what you're comfortable with and what works for you. It's a sort of trial really, you try something for 1-2 weeks and see how it goes, then see if it's worth tweaking or going back to what you were doing before.

    Even staying strictly to a 12 hr schedule, you'll still end up with the questionable preshots eventually.

    I just prefer something with a little more consistency because he's a fairly consistent cat (as far as ProZinc goes). So yes, 2U above 250 should work for you for now. Below that you'll still want to give something, but what dose specifically pretty subjective based on what you can manage. So you take a guess, see what happens, and learn for the next time.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  50. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Another surprise! Test at 7:00 this morning 185, stalled 20 minutes and retested, got 185. I will feed and shoot reduced dose of 1 unit. (?) Advice and feedback welcome.
    ETA: Fed about 1/3 can FF, the usual, and shot 1.0 units. I guess I'll learn if I have made a mistake.

    @Suzanne & Darcy
    @FrostD
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2022
  51. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I'm glad that you did this. Let's see how it goes today.
     
    Linda and Newman likes this.
  52. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    I noted on the SS that almost immediately after eating the am FF, I did a test and got 236. Now at +4 he is 256. I suppose I should expect this response to the reduced dose. I just hope they don't get too high.
     
  53. FrostD

    FrostD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    He was pretty flat yellow today, perhaps following that trend. I could make the same argument for the day before, but that was also lowered dose so hard to say. Glad you shot!
     
  54. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Yep. Two yellows. Oh well. He had some insulin support and that’s a good thing. Hopefully he won’t be pink at preshot time tonight, but that makes it easier to shoot the full dose, doesn’t it. :bighug:
     
    FrostD likes this.
  55. Linda and Newman

    Linda and Newman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    PMPS is 286. I am going to offer him food and after he eats, I will shoot 2.0. Sound good to you?

    @Suzanne & Darcy

    ETA: Done. I had to seize the moment, as they say.
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2022
    FrostD and Suzanne & Darcy like this.

Share This Page