8/31 Elmo . AMPS 361 + 2 199 +3 148 +4 132. +6 69 + 7 58 + 9 72 PMPS 201 + 2 326 + 4 311

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Beth 73, Aug 31, 2019.

  1. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Good Morning :) AMPS 361. Day 2 1.25 units
     
    Suzanne Burton likes this.
  2. Ti-Mousse (GA) Pepe (GA)

    Ti-Mousse (GA) Pepe (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
    Hope Elmo gets some more yellows today!!:)
    Have a beautiful day, Beth!
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  3. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Many thanks , Lyane :bighug: Things are starting to get more of a rhythm ...getting back in the FDMB saddle after 2 years and all y'alls help has not been as challenging as I had thot :) Scritches to Ti-Mousse !
     
  4. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Much nicer start today. Show us what you can do Elmo! :D
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  5. Tina Marie (GA) and Jan

    Tina Marie (GA) and Jan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2019
    Go Elmo! We will be watching you change colors until you are all blue and green:cool::D
    Beth - sorry you are back here again, but you knew where to come!
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  6. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    I hope Elmo slides down today and doesn't bounce.
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  7. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Yes yes yes !!! Agree with you, Carla ! No bouncing !
     
  8. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    +2. 199. Giving SQ and ABs with food
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  9. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Make sure you feed some LC to slow the drop.
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  10. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Test again in an hour.
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  11. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Thank you , Carla :bighug: He got 2 t food with ABs mixed in . Alarm set to test @ + 3
     
  12. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    + 3 148. More LC ??
     
  13. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Yes but just a tsp or so. Don't want to fill him up in case he continues to be frisky. Retest in an hour.
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  14. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Frisky :joyful::joyful::joyful: Retest at + 4 . Extra strips in my Holy Crap kit :rolleyes::woot::D
     
  15. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    + 4 132. Is this frisky , Linda ???? Giving thyroid meds with food. Usually give livershake with thyroids ...would this be enuf ? Or is this " surfing" ? @carfurby @MrWorfMen's Mom
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2019
  16. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    I'd call that a surf now, YAY! Go Elmo. I think you're probably be OK with the liver shake. Don't think he needs anymore food right now.
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  17. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    :bighug::bighug::bighug: He's giving me those Kitty Cuss Word looks when I wake him :woot: That's the old sassy Elmo coming out . Additional good report is that for first time in over a month he went upstairs, looked around and came back down :rolleyes::joyful:
     
  18. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    I have HC food on hand but what is a good MC that I can easily get at local grocery and/or WM ??? Needing to replenish hypo kit ...
     
  19. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    FF has some grilled and sliced versions as well as some that are MC. Check the food list HERE for flavours Elmo likes in the 11 to 15% range.
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  20. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Next test ??
     
  21. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Nice surfing Elmo.
     
  22. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    I think I'd check around +6.
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  23. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
  24. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Testing again in 20 minutes
     
  25. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    + 69 again....gave teaspoon MC ...go for HC next ??
     
  26. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Don't want to panic and over give ...years ago I over did and sent him into DKA
     
  27. Penelope and Mačka

    Penelope and Mačka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2019
    Oh wow, once it happened to Macka, after giving him fluids, it brought him in the lime greens. I wonder if depending on the location of the needle, it flushes the depot sometimes?

    Please stay safe Elmo!!!
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  28. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  29. Penelope and Mačka

    Penelope and Mačka Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2019
    You can give him a spoon of HC if he accepts it? Then test again in 20 minutes

    Is it a human meter? The panic limit is 50, you're at 69.
     
  30. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    10 minutes til next test ...if still 69 give another MC or a little HC ??!!
     
  31. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Hey Beth-- you're doing great! Give me a second to review today's history some more, just wanted to pop in first... brb
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  32. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Thank you thank you ...human meter but don't want him falling any further
     
  33. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    I think we can call this "frisky", eh?
     
  34. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Oh dear Lord !! :eek: We are both too old for this :woot:
     
  35. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Gave him science diet a/d ...1t at +6 and then 20 minutes later ...think it's a high MC ...this gets calmed down and I'm going to grocery store !'
     
  36. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    I think you're OK with MC still, unless he keeps dropping at the next test. You can make an emergency MC by mixing a little honey into his favorite LC, if you are running out of stuff he likes. Hopefully he'll start coming back up soon though.

    I think what we may be seeing is a combination of a bounce (maybe from the night of the 27th?) breaking and the increased dose giving it a little extra "oomph", but you're still in safe territory as of now.
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  37. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Thank you thank you !! Next test now
     
  38. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
  39. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Another t of MC ??
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  40. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    OK, he's floating along nicely. These are good numbers! You can do either MC or LC now, since he seems to have calmed down on the funny business.

    Normally, we would have been doing LC throughout because he hasn't gone all that low, but this is new behavior for Elmo on this go-round, and he's been dropping fast all day, so I think the MC was a good move.
     
  41. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    69 is a safe # and he is at the back end of the cycle. Get a +7 and see where he is at. Yay Elmo :cat:
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  42. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    :woot::woot::woot::woot::woot::woot::eek::eek::eek::eek:
     
  43. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    God bless you both for coming to our rescue❤️
     
  44. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Going with MC one more time then test in 20 :woot:
     
  45. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    I had HC all ready in a dish just in case and he was fighting me to get at it :eek: Had to put it in cabinet !
     
  46. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Nice! :D

    Remember to shoot low to stay low. Maybe a long night but he will probably bounce since he isn't used to these numbers. I would be sure you had some HC gravy on hand just in case :bighug:
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  47. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    So, just to get the sequence in one place, story so far is:

    AMPS: 361 (1.25U)
    +2 199 (here's where we had the first hint that he was planning something!). SQ and AB given. LC given
    +3 148, LC given
    +4 132, LC given
    +6 69, MC given
    +6:20, 69, MC given
    +6:40, 68, MC given, Elmo restrained from getting at HC ;)

    So glad you were monitoring and knew to give the LC-- it probably slowed him down some and helped keep him in safe numbers. You're doing great!
     
  48. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Lizzie, I had Friskies with gravey but it's a challenge to get just the gravey ! Going to store later for some FF MC and HC ....MC is 10-15 and HC is above 15 , correct ? Sadly been dealing with our office kitty who seems to have had mild stroke today so was over there helping him ...may bring him here to save time
     
  49. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Thank you for talking me off The Ledge !!!!
     
  50. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Next test in 10 minutes.....will be +7
     
    Penelope and Mačka likes this.
  51. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
  52. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Now what y'all ??!!
     
  53. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Give little HC in with MC ???
     
  54. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    This is your first green - welcome to the lagoon! Try not to freak out...he's in a great place. Is he eating?
     
    Penelope and Mačka and Beth 73 like this.
  55. Justin & Sebastian

    Justin & Sebastian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Stick with MC unless you get <50
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  56. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Yes but also little lethargic
     
  57. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    On the human meter this is - although on the low end - a perfect number. When you say lethargic, do you mean sleepy and relaxed or unable to stand, staggering, drooling?
     
    Beth 73 and Nan & Amber (GA) like this.
  58. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    It's OK, Beth, try to breathe! He's still doing well, just a little lower is all.

    Lethargic is always worrying, but let's take this one step at a time. It's likely just the boomeranging numbers making him feel a bit off.
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  59. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Giving MC now ....
     
  60. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Lazy not stumble
     
  61. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Definitely relaxed not disoriented ...
     
  62. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Possible he's just enjoying getting hand-fed unusual yummy food every 20mins?
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  63. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Thank you all so much ...it's been 3 years since this last happened and he was on vetsulin which slams them around ...so reacting to low numbers with Lantus is new deal for sure
     
  64. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Seriously, the old spoiled Gpa Man :rolleyes:
     
  65. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    For you, terrifying, heart in mouth, nerve-wracking, mountain of stress.

    For Elmo? Spa Day.
     
    Penelope and Mačka and Beth 73 like this.
  66. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    While we have a lull in the action , how do I record this on the SS ?
     
  67. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    :joyful: :D :eek: :eek: :eek:
     
  68. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Nan, how is Amber doing ? She was OTJ for ab two years also , wasn't she ?
     
  69. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    You can "stack" numbers in Google Sheets by holding down the "option" key (on a mac, I think it's "alt" on non-mac keyboards) while hitting return. You can then color the cell by hand-- usually I use the lowest point to pick the color, which in this case would be dark green.

    Amber's doing great, thanks for asking! She's been back on the juice for over a year, and even got up to almost 5U at one time, but has very recently started showing signs that she may be tiring of insulin again. Cross fingers!
     
    Sue and Luci and Beth 73 like this.
  70. Justin & Sebastian

    Justin & Sebastian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    So for:
    +6 69, MC given
    +6:20, 69, MC given
    +6:40, 68, MC given, Elmo restrained from getting at HC
    +7.58

    In the +6 box do: 69 MC; 69@+6.3 MC; 68@+6.6

    If you look on my sheet, 7/02 PM cycles has some greens with an example
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  71. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    That would be awesome !!!
     
    Nan & Amber (GA) likes this.
  72. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Thank you , thank you Justin !! My tech support ( aka adult son) is moving today and is out of pocket for a bit . He helps with my tech inadequacies but feels he owes me cos I'm a small person and he weighed 10 lbs at birth :joyful:
     
  73. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    By the way, Elmo has earned a 0.25U reduction with the drop under 90.
     
  74. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Elmo is sitting here right next to me , eyeing the food for his hopes for next treat
     
  75. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    So I'm back to 1.0 tonight ?
     
  76. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Next test coming up in a few ....
     
  77. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Yes, although if he's bouncing back up really high, you have the option to "shoot through the bounce", one last shot of the old dose. But let's see where he is tonight.
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  78. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    57 .....what the heck ??? Couple of days ago it was black and now lagoon time ?!?!?
     
  79. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Now what do I feed him ??? Continue with MC ??
     
  80. Justin & Sebastian

    Justin & Sebastian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Yeah I'd continue with the MC. You're coming up to the point where the first batch of MC is going to start wearing off, so ideally if you can just keep a steady level of carbs coming in, hopefully it'll just ease down the drop and he'll stay around this level. Though it kinda looks like he's a late nadir so you might have to keep at it for a bit. I also think I'll revise what I said earlier, if he gets <50 I'm thinking maybe do a MC/HC mix instead of going straight HC so you try to avoid too much of a spike
     
  81. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Good thot , Justin ...was thinking same thing ab MC + HC
     
  82. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    I think I would do a little MC again, yes. It's a bit unusual to be administering so many carbs when he hasn't yet even dipped below 50, but whatever he's doing, he's not reacting really strongly to the carbs he's getting.

    The AB he got today, is that a new-ish prescription? I'm just wondering if anything has changed in his overall health, something that was pushing his numbers up that has suddenly improved.
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  83. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    He has an infection in his mouth that ABs were upped by 1/4 yesterday ....that's only different....is on 3/4 100 Amox 2x daily ...not a candidate for dental ...only a candidate for making me crazy :banghead:
     
  84. Justin & Sebastian

    Justin & Sebastian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    That could definitely do it. Infection will jack the numbers up and if that's starting to clear they'll drop back down
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  85. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Hmmm.... wonder if increasing the ABs allowed them to finally break through and make some headway on the infection?
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  86. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Oh , wow y'all ...that would be awesome if true . We have pulsed low dose ABs for several months now cos he can't get a dental. We have walked a fine line with thyroid , aging kidneys, aging heart and being in diabetic remission ...it's a delicate balancing act .
     
  87. Justin & Sebastian

    Justin & Sebastian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Don't I know it. We just got a dental for Sebastian because he had infection markers and his BG was pretty high and not dropping even after dose increases. BG a bit better after the dental but we had to go back to the vet for some additional medication because he didn't bounce back right away and was getting ketones. And at his yearly physical a month ago we decided to pass on the rabies vaccine because he never goes outside, isn't around other animals besides our other cat, and we didn't need anything more than necessary in his system.
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  88. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Could y'all please refresh my memory as to MC and HC carb numbers ...I'm itching to get to the store after this
     
  89. Justin & Sebastian

    Justin & Sebastian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Pretty sure MC is like 8-10% carbs and then HC is gonna be gravy at around 15-20% carbs
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  90. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Just checked Dr Lisa chart and the a/d I'm giving is 12 carbs ...it's all I currently have on hand . Was on my way to store when found our office kitty had a light stroke and DH is not here
     
  91. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    +8. 56 :woot: :eek: :woot: Now what ????
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  92. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Getcha one of these and a small Rubbermaid with a lid. Dump the food and gravy and let it drain. Saves a bunch of headaches.

    Oh no! Poor baby. Hope you can get him better :bighug:.
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  93. Justin & Sebastian

    Justin & Sebastian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Keep doing what you're doing. That's only a 2 point drop, which is exactly what you want. Keep giving MC at the same volume and frequency
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  94. Justin & Sebastian

    Justin & Sebastian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Looking at some of Elmo's past numbers, it looks like he's got a late nadir sometimes, so you might have to keep at it for a bit. But it looks like the MC is controlling the drop really well so I'd stick with that unless you get a big drop. Even if you happen to get below 50 after a few more hours, if you've still been only getting like 2 point drops per hour I wouldn't switch to HC. If the drop is that slow you're gonna be coming up real close to nadir and it should come up on its own.
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  95. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Beth 73 likes this.
  96. Justin & Sebastian

    Justin & Sebastian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Also I think you might already have, but you're probably okay to do tests every 30 minutes instead of 20 until you start to see the rise
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  97. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    And you are doing great. Many scritches and kisses to dear Elmo :kiss::bighug:
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  98. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Thanks ,Justin :bighug: I hadn't gone to 30 minutes and will right now . I'm filling him up big time with this rich a/d so 10 more minutes will help :)
     
  99. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    So , Justin, do I just test every 30 but not give teaspoon of food ?? Also, Sebastian is a stunner !! I had a grey named Pooh ...he was a super cat !
     
  100. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    From your lips to God's and Elmo's ears, Justin :)
     
    Sue and Luci likes this.

Share This Page