8/6 kit AMPS 211,+2.5 179,+4.75 125,+5.25 103,+6 84,+6.6 84,+7 78,+8.5 77,+9.5 70,PMPS 82,+2.5 210

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by JOJI and Kit, Aug 6, 2020.

  1. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    Briere Fur Mom likes this.
  2. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    125 @4.75 without food for just over 2 hours
    kit is acting really hungry.
    i'm inclined to feed small amount LC and see what she does with it.


    thoughts?


    eta: fed 0.4 LC 6%. ate very willingly
     
  3. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    It's fine to spread out her food.

    Was there a reason that you reduced her dose from 4.5 to 4.0u? Generally, the reduction is by 0.25u.
     
    JOJI and Kit likes this.
  4. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    hi, thanks for replying.
    yes. high dose reductions are larger.

    for reference elise and wendy on our thread 7/29


    https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...5-55-8-25-56-9-64-9-5-61.232834/#post-2603375
     
  5. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Please link the thread. I'm at work and have precious little time to track down the thread since it's a week old.

    Your cat is not on a high dose. A high dose is generally over 5 or 6u. There may have been a specific reason Wendy made the suggestion but even with cats on much, much larger doses, the reductions are typically 0.25u.
     
    JOJI and Kit likes this.
  6. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
  7. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    @Sienne and Gabby (GA) i had suggested a .25 decrease but a Wendy disagreed with me because she felt glucose toxicity was no longer involved and therefore a .50 decrease was warranted. Based on how’s things have gone since I think Wendy was right.
    Since she just had a decrease maybe I’m wrong but I would keep her surfing.
     
    JOJI and Kit likes this.
  8. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    thinking similarly.
    she's still dropping with the LC onboard for 30min.
    i'm going to upgrade her to some MC based on the surf goal

    eta: fed 0.4oz MC 15%. ate willingly.
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2020
    Sonia & Leo and tiffmaxee like this.
  9. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    84 @+6 with all the MC on board still dropping

    thoughts?
     
  10. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    More mc I think.if she were carb sensitive I would say lc but she also has a late nadir.
     
    JOJI and Kit likes this.
  11. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    ok. will put down 0.4oz MC which feels like a lot but she's a willing eater so far.
    stay tuned.
     
  12. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    84 @6.6
    flat w a lot of MC on board.
    not going to feed and test again in 30min
    or?
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  13. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Rinse, lather, repeat.
     
    JOJI and Kit likes this.
  14. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    ha, you must have been watching the ss and you type faster :)

    so to recap for anybody lurking along:

    78 @ just before 7
    i'm inclined to see where she is without food support when we hit the 2 hour mark in about another 30min so just a bit after @7.5
    eta: just a bit after @8 is 2 hours mark
    reasoning: we still have plenty of time before the 2 hours no food before shot time rule to help her out w food if needed.
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2020
    Reason for edit: typo
  15. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2020
    JOJI and Kit likes this.
  16. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    77 @ 8.5

    still plenty of time in the day for kit to pull one of her fast ones as she loves to converge nadir w PMPS.:rolleyes:
    will test her again in about an hour.
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  17. Briere Fur Mom

    Briere Fur Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
    Very interesting thought...thanks for the sticky:)
    When Moey was losing dramatic amounts of weight, shortly before he decided to leave us, I left the food down 24 x 7. I knew that AMPS/PMPS could potentially be food influenced but, also knew I was in control of the cycle;)

    ****NOTE to LURKERS**** this was only for Moey as I have tons of experience and he was dying from cancer.
     
    JOJI and Kit and tiffmaxee like this.
  18. Briere Fur Mom

    Briere Fur Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
    Hold on to your surfboard Kit!:D:D:D:cool::p
     
    JOJI and Kit and tiffmaxee like this.
  19. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    well here we are
    70 @9.5

    kit does like to keep it interesting.
    i'm tending to feed her some more LC 6%, like 0.4oz
    ya know, just to keep my hair from bursting into flames at PMPS.
    maybe.

    thoughts?

    eta: kit voted for the food. so let's see what she does with it.
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2020
    Sonia & Leo and Briere Fur Mom like this.
  20. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Once you know your cat, and you know how much of a food bump she gets, there is wiggle room in the two hour rule - which is generally for newbies who don't know their cat yet. Basically if you feed later than +10, can you answer the questions "is her preshot number safe to shoot - subtracting the food bump"?

    And to recap, my suggestion on the 0.5 unit decrease that one time was based on higher dose/depot, some pretty closer together reductions, and some late nights with not much sleep. And I see she's working this new dose well. :D
     
    JOJI and Kit and tiffmaxee like this.
  21. Susan & Claudio

    Susan & Claudio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2019
    Nice to see Kit surfing again today. :D:D:D
     
    JOJI and Kit likes this.
  22. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    It's great to see Kit doing so well.
     
    JOJI and Kit likes this.

Share This Page