? 9/10/24. WATSON DOSING ? AMPS 381

Sorry nobody git back to you. I would increase to 2.75 as nadirs are over 150. Btw you forgot to fill in the dose from this morning.
@tiffmaxee Thanks for your reply and the dosage comment. Had to have my granddaughter do the dosing this morning as I was gone early, so I forgot to fill it in. I must be on everyone’s s#$t list for asking too many questions. Maybe they figure I should know what I’m doing by now. Anyway, Watson & I appreciate you! I’ll increase in the morning.
 
Oh no. Please don’t think that. Remember we are all volunteers so there are times when threads get missed. Nobody is avoiding you. The way to learn is to ask questions. Fd can be quite confusing.

@tiffmaxee Thanks for the encouragement. Well, it was a quick increase this morning. He made it for beautiful blue surf before he suddenly dropped within 15 minutes to a 53 (101 actual blood draw) so I guess he’s back up to 2.5 tonight. This is a crazy roller coaster to be on
 
@Staci & Ivy It didn’t last long, after surf in the blues a a few hours he had a drop into the 50’s within 15 minutes.
Actual blood draw ran 101 though. Back down to 2.5 tonight
Hi Rosie. Do you do reductions based on the Libre or the blood test? (I do reductions generally if I blood test her since I know the Libre “usually” reads higher, but you have to decide how you are doing things and ECID of course).

I’m not telling you what to do here. Just a thought. :bighug:
 
Hi Rosie. Do you do reductions based on the Libre or the blood test? (I do reductions generally if I blood test her since I know the Libre “usually” reads higher, but you have to decide how you are doing things and ECID of course).

I’m not telling you what to do here. Just a thought. :bighug:

@Staci & Ivy
I would love to make adjustments based on actual blood draws instead of the Libre. I didn’t know that was a possibility since most of my readings are from the Libre. If I use the actual Meter reading for that low number he has had a whole streak of blues today and I would just keep his dosage the same, what do you think?
I have no idea what ECID means
 
@Staci & Ivy
I would love to make adjustments based on actual blood draws instead of the Libre. I didn’t know that was a possibility since most of my readings are from the Libre. If I use the actual Meter reading for that low number he has had a whole streak of blues today and I would just keep his dosage the same, what do you think?
I have no idea what ECID means
Hi Rosie, ECID means every cat is different.

I think you can decide how you are making dosing decisions. But you need to be consistent.
For me, I don’t go by the Libre with low numbers. If Ivy is very “Lo” on the Libre and I test her on a handheld meter and she’s under the threshold, then I would reduce the dose.
So if Watson were under 90 on a handheld meter, you would reduce his dose since you are following SLGS.
Sone people just follow the Libre only and if that says under 90, they reduce. (Some people can’t blood test at all).

I guess it’s up to how the 2 meters read for you and Watson and your ability to blood test him.

For Ivy, when that Libre says Lo, she’s usually 60 to low 100s on a handheld meter. (So that’s when I blood test her to see the blood reading). And then I decide what to do with her dose. (If she’s really low100s on a handheld I wouldn’t reduce based on a blood test).
Make sense?
I think you have to know your cat and how your meters read to decide.
 
Hi Rosie, ECID means every cat is different.

I think you can decide how you are making dosing decisions. But you need to be consistent.
For me, I don’t go by the Libre with low numbers. If Ivy is very “Lo” on the Libre and I test her on a handheld meter and she’s under the threshold, then I would reduce the dose.
So if Watson were under 90 on a handheld meter, you would reduce his dose since you are following SLGS.
Sone people just follow the Libre only and if that says under 90, they reduce. (Some people can’t blood test at all).

I guess it’s up to how the 2 meters read for you and Watson and your ability to blood test him.

For Ivy, when that Libre says Lo, she’s usually 60 to low 100s on a handheld meter. (So that’s when I blood test her to see the blood reading). And then I decide what to do with her dose. (If she’s really low100s on a handheld I wouldn’t reduce based on a blood test).
Make sense?
I think you have to know your cat and how your meters read to decide.
 
@Staci & Ivy
Thanks for that info. I do think that when the Libre number is low I’ll poke him and use that number to make my decrease decision. Tonight I decided to keep him at the 2.75. I have the volume on my libre set loud so I should be able to hear it if it goes off during the night and tomorrow I should be around almost all day except for about three hours in the evening so I should be able to monitor him pretty closely. I also leave a snack out all night so he can munch. Thanks again for all you help.
 
Back
Top