9/10 Tibby PMPS 219 +2 46. UPDATE: up to 178

So far, he was 46 at +2
15 minutes later after some kibble 49
15 minutes later after some honey 59
 
It's only +2.5.
Stop the kibble because it is low carb and you want to keep him hungry enough to eat. It could be a long night.

More honey.
59 is still too low on an AlphaTrak.
 
I have all of the supplies. Just had to go buy high carb gravy food, but I live 1 mile from a Walgreens. He just tested at 122!

I just gave him the high carb food.
 
What reduction? I just raised his dose to 3.5. So I reduce it back down? This is a first for him.
 
Dropping 68 on an AT or 50 with a human meter calls for a reduction. Falling under 90 calls for a reduction with SLGS. Back to 3.25. It’s your new dose unless another earned reduction for the next week.
 
And to think the vet wanted him raised from 3 straight to 4. He's a great vet, but maybe not with insulin dosages.
 
Good for you on catching that 46! :eek:

A favour to ask, could you modify your subject title to take off the 911 (no longer low plus you have helpers) and put on his current numbers so we know he's come up. Whew!
 
You might want to take notes on the spreadsheet remarks section of the food, amounts, and when given. That may help you know what worked (or worked too well!) for next time. By the way, wet food takes 20-30 minutes from the plate to the blood stream, so testing at 15 minute intervals may be too soon.

Nothing but low carb now, and keep testing for a couple hours after his last HC/honey, to make sure the numbers don't wobble down when it wears off. How much honey did you give?
 
OK, I'll do every 30 minutes? Let's see if I can do the notes while it's fresh in my head. I'll do them here and then copy and paste to the SS.

+2 46. 7pm
15 min 49. gave 2 tablespoons Dr Elsey's Kibble
15 min 59. gave 1 teaspoon honey
30 min 122. gave gravy cat food (he licked up the gravy part)
30 min 129. no more food given.
 
Sometimes a drop of honey may be enough. And you don't need to give higher carb food if over 100. All things to learn for next time.
 
Good to know. I was pretty much throwing all the food at him. I'm a bit worried about the morning already. I have to leave him alone when I go to work. How will I know if it's safe to go to work?
 
+2 46. 7pm
15 min 49. gave 2 tablespoons Dr Elsey's Kibble
15 min 59. gave 1 teaspoon honey
30 min 122. gave gravy cat food (he licked up the gravy part)
30 min 129. no more food given.

And now, 30 minutes later again, 174!
 
That brings you up to +4 by my reckoning. You can take a break for an hour. Eat chocolate. Ice cream.

You are not the first person to throw everything but the kitchen sink at their cat, and you won't be the last.
 
Amy, I'm going to be calling it a night shortly.
Your dose for the morning is 3.25 units regardless of how high the AMPS might be.
If the numbers are the same or higher, you can switch back to his regular low carb food.
If Tibby's numbers fall slightly, feed low carb.
If the numbers are falling a lot, put the 911 back up.
 
He usually likes to lick the liquid off first. And he's had a lot to eat tonight. He's now back up to 178.
 
Back
Top