Julie & Charlie
Member Since 2020
Hello.
Several members recommended posting on the Lantus forum for guidance when I posted my new member intro last week. Charlie was diagnosed with FD 8/20. Additional details are available in my new member posting. His AMPS numbers have ranged in the mid 200’s and dipped down to 191 yesterday and 161 today (we did start a new container of test strips today). As you can see on his SS, I have been skipping his evening dose because his PMPS is consistently below 150 and I’ve been worried about the typical drop of 100 or more points after his AM shot, and I don’t want him to go too low at night. But I know (think) I should be doing something at night.
My vet thinks FD was caused by the prednisolone he was taking for his asthma and thinks he might be a good candidate for remission. He is off the prednisolone and is now on low carb FF.
I’ve read that TR provides the greatest likelihood for inducing remission in the stickies. However, if I understand correctly, his 12-hour dosing would start at 1.7U because he is about 15 pounds (or is it 1.3U because his “ideal” weight is closer to 12 ? That volume is freaking me out given his drop with just 1 unit.
I would appreciate guidance on next steps that would be most helpful in getting Charlie into remission. I am working from home today and tomorrow and could get additional testing in if there is more data that would be helpful.
New Member Intro - https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-members-julie-charlie.235065/
Thank you.
Ugh-I'm not seeing my signature in the preview. I've manually typed the info here. Sorry if it is a duplicate. I'll know next time!
Charlie-13+ yrs, 15 lbs, DX FD 8/20/20, Lantus, ReliOn. Hyperthyroid 2017-treated R131, asthma 2.5 mg prdnslne until dx, Purina one-dry till dx, now FF, heart murmur.
Charlies Spreadsheet
Several members recommended posting on the Lantus forum for guidance when I posted my new member intro last week. Charlie was diagnosed with FD 8/20. Additional details are available in my new member posting. His AMPS numbers have ranged in the mid 200’s and dipped down to 191 yesterday and 161 today (we did start a new container of test strips today). As you can see on his SS, I have been skipping his evening dose because his PMPS is consistently below 150 and I’ve been worried about the typical drop of 100 or more points after his AM shot, and I don’t want him to go too low at night. But I know (think) I should be doing something at night.
My vet thinks FD was caused by the prednisolone he was taking for his asthma and thinks he might be a good candidate for remission. He is off the prednisolone and is now on low carb FF.
I’ve read that TR provides the greatest likelihood for inducing remission in the stickies. However, if I understand correctly, his 12-hour dosing would start at 1.7U because he is about 15 pounds (or is it 1.3U because his “ideal” weight is closer to 12 ? That volume is freaking me out given his drop with just 1 unit.
I would appreciate guidance on next steps that would be most helpful in getting Charlie into remission. I am working from home today and tomorrow and could get additional testing in if there is more data that would be helpful.
New Member Intro - https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-members-julie-charlie.235065/
Thank you.
Ugh-I'm not seeing my signature in the preview. I've manually typed the info here. Sorry if it is a duplicate. I'll know next time!
Charlie-13+ yrs, 15 lbs, DX FD 8/20/20, Lantus, ReliOn. Hyperthyroid 2017-treated R131, asthma 2.5 mg prdnslne until dx, Purina one-dry till dx, now FF, heart murmur.
Charlies Spreadsheet