9/20 Dosing Advice Needed Soon!

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Autumn - Sunday’s mom, Sep 20, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Autumn - Sunday’s mom

    Autumn - Sunday’s mom Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2021
    Good morning all,

    Last night before my sugar baby’s PM shot, her BG was 84 (we used the AlphaTrak2 pet meter). After consulting this group (all who said to skip her PM shot) and her vet (who said to shoot 2 units of Lantus - her normal dosage), I decided to shoot 1 unit to meet in the middle of this advice.

    I just checked her BG for her AM shot (she has not eaten yet), and her number is 63.

    It has been about 1 week since we have switched her from Purina Pro Hydrolyzed dry food to an all wet diet (FF and Weruva).

    I was told last night to potentially start with .5 units this morning to start low and go slowly up as needed, but 63 is pretty low. What do I do?

    thank you!
     
    THH & Snowcrash (GA) likes this.
  2. THH & Snowcrash (GA)

    THH & Snowcrash (GA) Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2020
  3. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Please put NS (no shot) in the units column for today :bighug:
    Did you test anymore after last night dose of 1 unit?
    Looks like the switch to wet food is making a big difference
     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2021
  4. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Do not shoot. Even experienced members would not shoot that low.
    63 is within normal range. It could be that you have a diet controlled diabetic cat.
     
  5. Autumn - Sunday’s mom

    Autumn - Sunday’s mom Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2021
    I just put NS. Thanks for the reminder. No, I didn’t wake to my alarms last night :/ How many times should I test today?
     
  6. Autumn - Sunday’s mom

    Autumn - Sunday’s mom Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2021
    Thank you for your reply.
     
  7. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2021
  8. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  9. Autumn - Sunday’s mom

    Autumn - Sunday’s mom Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2021
    I haven’t fed her dry once since switching to wet. I just mentioned I have some of her old dry left over because I thought you said any high carb was good to have on hand. I will not feed her this. I will get some of the high carb gravy FF you recommended. Thank you.
     
    THH & Snowcrash (GA) likes this.
  10. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Great, if she ever dropped to low while on insulin dry takes longer to get in there system, that's why we feed wet either medium or high carb if needed
    Like Red said you could have a diet controlled diabetic kitty
    :cat:
     
  11. Autumn - Sunday’s mom

    Autumn - Sunday’s mom Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2021
    Thank you so much for all the info. I am crossing my fingers about her being regulated.
     
    THH & Snowcrash (GA) likes this.
  12. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Wouldn't that be great!​
     
  13. THH & Snowcrash (GA)

    THH & Snowcrash (GA) Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2020
  14. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  15. Autumn - Sunday’s mom

    Autumn - Sunday’s mom Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2021
    Thank you!!
     
    THH & Snowcrash (GA) likes this.
  16. THH & Snowcrash (GA)

    THH & Snowcrash (GA) Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2020
    One caveat: if you notice Sunday appear extra sleepy, wobbly, ... really ANY UNUSUAL BEHAVIOR, test her blood glucose level. We really don't want her going lower than she was this morning.
     
  17. Autumn - Sunday’s mom

    Autumn - Sunday’s mom Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2021
    Ok
    ok thank you!
     
  18. Autumn - Sunday’s mom

    Autumn - Sunday’s mom Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2021
    Hi! Would you be able to check Sunday’s spreadsheet and advice what I should do for her PM shot, please?
     
  19. Autumn - Sunday’s mom

    Autumn - Sunday’s mom Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2021
    Hi! Would you be able to check Sunday’s spreadsheet and advice what I should do for her PM shot, please?
     
  20. THH & Snowcrash (GA)

    THH & Snowcrash (GA) Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2020
  21. Autumn - Sunday’s mom

    Autumn - Sunday’s mom Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2021
    Thank you for your thoughts.
     
  22. THH & Snowcrash (GA)

    THH & Snowcrash (GA) Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2020
    Your PMPS wasn't showing for me when I made this suggestion. Hang tight for a minute to see what others think.
     
  23. Autumn - Sunday’s mom

    Autumn - Sunday’s mom Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2021
    Ok. It was 168
     
  24. Christie & Maverick

    Christie & Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    I'd agree with 0.5u, provided you get at least one test tonight, I'd check at +2. If it is lower than preshot, with Lantus that would indicate you need to monitor more closely.
     
    THH & Snowcrash (GA) likes this.
  25. Autumn - Sunday’s mom

    Autumn - Sunday’s mom Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2021
    Thank you. When you say monitor more closely, do you mean test more frequently? If so, how often would you suggest? Thank you.
     
  26. Christie & Maverick

    Christie & Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Yes, depending on the +2 and how much lower than preshot, then that may mean testing more frequently and setting some alarms depending on how the cycle goes so you can intervene with higher carb food if necessary. He's come down from his no shot earlier today, so you may need to watch the cycle closely if you shoot.

    After the +2, you'll know more regarding additional testing.
     
  27. Autumn - Sunday’s mom

    Autumn - Sunday’s mom Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2021
    Would not shooting be better?
     
  28. Christie & Maverick

    Christie & Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Since you are just starting to gather data, and if you can't be up to monitor and intervene with higher carbs, then skipping is okay, provided your kitty hasn't had any issues with ketones in the past.

    You can always start fresh tomorrow morning. Seeing that 63 this morning on AT2 would mean the 1u is too much. Also makes me wonder what he did earlier, since nadirs (lowest point in the cycle) is typically around +6 after shot, although they can move around, it isn't always +6. Here on the main health forum, until you gather enough data, we recommend not shooting if number is under 200.

    Depending on what your preshot is tomorrow, you can post for help if it is under 200, otherwise try 0.5u.
     
  29. Autumn - Sunday’s mom

    Autumn - Sunday’s mom Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2021
    Thank you for all of the useful advice/info. I set some alarms and will test in 2+ and more if needed. I just shot .5 and will see what the 2+ is.
     
  30. Christie & Maverick

    Christie & Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    You're welcome :). I'll watch for your +2.
     
  31. Autumn - Sunday’s mom

    Autumn - Sunday’s mom Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2021
    You’re very kind to help us — sending a big thanks your way :)
     
    Christie & Maverick likes this.
  32. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Yep.....and the +2 is always a good test to get because a lot of times it can almost predict what's going to happen later in the cycle.

    Looks like Sunday's really liking the low carb diet lifestyle!!
     
  33. Autumn - Sunday’s mom

    Autumn - Sunday’s mom Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2021
    Hello, 2+ is 148. Just tested
     
  34. Autumn - Sunday’s mom

    Autumn - Sunday’s mom Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2021
    Hi Chris, 2+ BG is 148.
     
    Chris & China (GA) likes this.
  35. Christie & Maverick

    Christie & Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Not sure of your usual feeding schedule but I'd give a couple teaspoons of LC food. She's pretty much flat given meter variance, so I'd catch her again with a test at +4. Sometimes when they are flattish at +2 they don't get up to much of a drop, but I'd check once more just to be sure she's not dropping too much before calling it a night.
     
  36. Autumn - Sunday’s mom

    Autumn - Sunday’s mom Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2021
    Ok, thank you!
     
  37. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    I agree with @Christie & Maverick, especially about planning on getting a +4. Hopefully the snack now will help level him out
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page