? 9/20 Roxy: Overdosed? AMPS: 283, +3 279, +6 306, +8.5 329

Should I give her small higher carb snacks regularly over next few hours to offset the effects? Problem is I am not sure... Feel sick with worry... :(
 
Last edited:
I don’t see any tests on your ss. Please let us know the current bg, add it to the subject, and remove the 911 so we will know if you need immediate help. I hope all is well. :bighug:
 
I don’t see any tests on your ss. Please let us know the current bg, add it to the subject, and remove the 911 so we will know if you need immediate help. I hope all is well. :bighug:

You should be able to see 2 from today? Just did the +3 and not much change yet but that's normal for her.
 
Well strangely Roxy's numbers have gone up, not down, could that be as a reaction to the possible higher dose?
 
Not really. She is just flattish and high. Looks like she needs another increase from tomorrow.

I wasn't sure Bhooma that you understood that immediately after dosing her this morning I suddenly thought I hadn't adjusted the pen after priming it so accidentally gave her 2 units. So that's why I am concerned that these high numbers are her body going into shock at the high dose and dumping glucose? Is that possible?
 
I wasn't sure Bhooma that you understood that immediately after dosing her this morning I suddenly thought I hadn't adjusted the pen after priming it so accidentally gave her 2 units. So that's why I am concerned that these high numbers are her body going into shock at the high dose and dumping glucose? Is that possible?
Hi Deb, I did read the whole thread :-) I don't see any lower numbers today so it's not a case of her body/liver dumping glucose to bring her up.
 
Thanks Bhooma. I thought if the liver was dumping glucose into the bloodstream the numbers go up? I thought it might do that in response to a larger than usual dose? As often numbers go up when you first increase a dose?
 
I thought if the liver was dumping glucose into the bloodstream the numbers go up? I thought it might do that in response to a larger than usual dose? As often numbers go up when you first increase a dose?
Yes, the live dumping glucose in the bloodstream follows a dip to a lower number than the cat is used to. There hasn't been that dip today.

New Dose Wonkiness which causes numbers to go up is usually seen in cycle 2/3 after an increase.

I am not saying that you couldn't have given 2U this morning by mistake. Just that it seems not to have affected her numbers so she is okay for now :-)
 
Actually I’ve thought this through and of course the pen resets to zero after every click so there’s no way I could have double dosed, I actually must have not given her any!! Which makes her numbers make much more sense. Poor baby!
 
Have you thought about using syringe instead of the pen itself. You would draw the insulin from the rubber stopper you see when pulling the cap off.

I was wondering the same. Surprised no one has mentioned using a syringe instead of the pen actually. They must know something I don't. ;)
 
We have been using syringes for months. Only went back to the pen for the full 1 unit. You can’t do partial units with the pen. If you look at the SS you can see we’ve gone up from 1 to 2 and all the way down to 0.25 units” with syringes. Just using up the screw on needles while she was on one unit. Thanks for the input.
 
Back
Top