? 9/23 Ivy AMPS 322,+4 114,+5 53,+8 53,+9 56, Libre +11 183, PMPS 164, +3 72 Contour, Lows

+ 4, 114 on Libre. Ivy is working her dose today, like yesterday … I have a feeling she will be going for lower blue or green today.

Her poops are still somewhat soft from the sedation on Tuesday. And stinky.
I’d like to resume lowering her carbs in her diet tomorrow at pm meal. We were in the process of doing that before I increased her dose to 3 units, so we were trying to slowly transition her to a lower carb than she has been eating for a couple of months.
Then we had the sedation and non-eating issue this past week so I didn’t want to mess with diet as that was going on.
 
At +5 she was 53 on Libre.
Now, at +6 79 on Libre.

I usually like to test with Contour under 50 on Libre as that’s when typically she will be under 100 on the Contour meter.
She’s been up and down all morning and I’m feeding every 1/2 hour when she starts to drop 12% lamb teaspoon snacks to keep her coasting in (Libre 50-100 green) which is really (approximately) blue #s on the Contour.
Once she gets past +6 I try to use the lower carb 9.25% lamb recipe if snack is needed.

This dose is really dropping her consistently lower the past 2 days.

Am I feeding too many snacks to keep her coasting, or should I let her drop further before I give snacks?
 
+ 7 and +8 hovering around 53, 54 on Libre.
I keep waiting to see if she will drop lower to need to test on Contour. So far just surfing in these numbers today.

Do I keep giving lower carb snacks at this point in the cycle to keep her surfing?
 
Ivy has been low, for her, all day long, mostly under 100 on Libre.

I’ve been feeding snacks all day to keep her surfing.

She never went under 50 on the Libre, so I didn’t ear prick her since the values are most likely not under 100 on the contour.

I am almost at +10 (4 pm eastern) and getting concerned about shooting in 2 hours.
If she’s still low at pmps I will test on the contour meter for clarity.

She’s never stayed this low, for her, this late in the cycle without bouncing up after staying low, so that has me freaked. Is this just a happy Lantus cycle at work?
she’s on 3 units Lantus.

I just fed her a few teaspoons of 9.25% homemade lamb food to see if that raises her at all before pmps.
Please advise. I’m not sure who is around.
@tiffmaxee @Wendy&Neko @Sienne and Gabby (GA) @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Angela & Cleo
upload_2023-9-23_15-46-15.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-9-23_15-46-15.jpeg
    upload_2023-9-23_15-46-15.jpeg
    22.8 KB · Views: 101
I'll be honest. I have a very hard time with understanding Ivy's numbers due to going back and forth between the Libre and Contour. Maybe you have a mental schema for when to adjust the dose but I could not say with conviction what to do given the differences between the meters. If you're dosing based on SLGS, based on the numbers today, Ivy's PM dose would be reduced. In fact, based on yesterday's AM cycle, her dose should have been reduced but again, there are differences between the meters and there's no way to know for sure.

As for her PM dose, you still have a while before shot time. A lot can change. Just a reminder that you have choices. You can:
  • not feed Ivy and stall. Retest in about 20 min. If numbers aren't rising sufficiently, stall again and retest. You can repeat for up to 2 hours providing you can manage to be off schedule..
  • shoot a reduced dose
  • skip the shot.
 
I'll be honest. I have a very hard time with understanding Ivy's numbers due to going back and forth between the Libre and Contour. Maybe you have a mental schema for when to adjust the dose but I could not say with conviction what to do given the differences between the meters. If you're dosing based on SLGS, based on the numbers today, Ivy's PM dose would be reduced. In fact, based on yesterday's AM cycle, her dose should have been reduced but again, there are differences between the meters and there's no way to know for sure.

As for her PM dose, you still have a while before shot time. A lot can change. Just a reminder that you have choices. You can:
  • not feed Ivy and stall. Retest in about 20 min. If numbers aren't rising sufficiently, stall again and retest. You can repeat for up to 2 hours providing you can manage to be off schedule..
  • shoot a reduced dose
  • skip the shot.
Why do you say she would have earned a reduction? The green numbers on her SS are Libre values unless I noted Contour.

Yesterday at AM +4 she had a 52 Libre, but it tested at 135 on the Contour so no reduction with SLGS. man I missing something there?
 
I understand it’s tough with both meters. I don’t take a reduction based on a Libre value only, only if I verify with the Contour to be sure.
 
I'll be honest. I have a very hard time with understanding Ivy's numbers due to going back and forth between the Libre and Contour. Maybe you have a mental schema for when to adjust the dose but I could not say with conviction what to do given the differences between the meters. If you're dosing based on SLGS, based on the numbers today, Ivy's PM dose would be reduced. In fact, based on yesterday's AM cycle, her dose should have been reduced but again, there are differences between the meters and there's no way to know for sure.

As for her PM dose, you still have a while before shot time. A lot can change. Just a reminder that you have choices. You can:
  • not feed Ivy and stall. Retest in about 20 min. If numbers aren't rising sufficiently, stall again and retest. You can repeat for up to 2 hours providing you can manage to be off schedule..
  • shoot a reduced dose
  • skip the shot.
I understand it’s tough with both meters. I don’t take a reduction based on a Libre value only, only if I verify with the Contour to be sure.
 
And her numbers dropped again after the +4 -- she was 49 on the Libre but what was she on a Contour?

The members that use the Libre stick with the Libre and don't use a human meter. Going back and forth may make perfect sense to you because it's what you're doing. Looking at Ivy's SS from someone who looks at the numbers, it's confusing at best. If you trust the Contour for low numbers then you have to test with the Contour if Ivy's numbers are in the lower range since that's how you've been handling low number situations. You can't dose if you trust the Contour only for mid-cycle numbers.
 
And her numbers dropped again after the +4 -- she was 49 on the Libre but what was she on a Contour?

The members that use the Libre stick with the Libre and don't use a human meter. Going back and forth may make perfect sense to you because it's what you're doing. Looking at Ivy's SS from someone who looks at the numbers, it's confusing at best. If you trust the Contour for low numbers then you have to test with the Contour if Ivy's numbers are in the lower range since that's how you've been handling low number situations. You can't dose if you trust the Contour only for mid-cycle numbers.

That 49 Libre # happened and when I went to test, the jumped up higher, so it was moot to test it, that’s why no Contour value on that number.
I understand this makes it hard, but I’m doing the best I can with Ivy. She’s so difficult to test all the time.
What do you mean by this?:

“You can't dose if you trust the Contour only for mid-cycle numbers.”

Please explain so I understand.

Do you still think she gets a reduction based on what I have told you?
 
From what I have learned with the Libre, the number “usually “ will be under mid 40s to earn a reduction on SLGS.
And her numbers dropped again after the +4 -- she was 49 on the Libre but what was she on a Contour?

The members that use the Libre stick with the Libre and don't use a human meter. Going back and forth may make perfect sense to you because it's what you're doing. Looking at Ivy's SS from someone who looks at the numbers, it's confusing at best. If you trust the Contour for low numbers then you have to test with the Contour if Ivy's numbers are in the lower range since that's how you've been handling low number situations. You can't dose if you trust the Contour only for mid-cycle numbers.
From what I have learned with the Libre, the number “usually“ will be under mid 40s to earn a reduction on SLGS, when I check on the Contour.
 
I just did a test to make sure the Libre is being accurate and I feel comfortable that it is, based on these 2 compared numbers.

upload_2023-9-23_17-1-12.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-9-23_17-1-12.jpeg
    upload_2023-9-23_17-1-12.jpeg
    69.9 KB · Views: 101
PMPS 164 on Libre.
I gave full 3 unit dose Lantus. Hope that was what you were recommending @Sienne and Gabby (GA)

As a follow-up question, I would like to resume lowering Ivy‘s carbs by transitioning her recipe to the 9.25% homemade diet we discussed a few weeks ago.

Based on the lower numbers I am seeing on this current dose, do you suggest I continue with lowering the carbs at this dose, or, do you think I should lower the dose by .25 and then continue with the transition to lower carbs to be safer?

I was in the middle of switching her carbs when I increased her dose to 3 units, (shouldn’t have done that) and this dose seems very active for her.
I don’t want to do too many things at a time.
 
You still need to adjust doses based on what the numbers tell you. Even with lowering the carbs, if the numbers are suggesting an increase is needed, you need to increase.
 
Active pm cycle. Ivy dropped to 72 at +3 on Contour meter. ( Libre was “Lo”)
It looked like she wasn’t going to go up at pmps after a low am cycle for her.
She didn’t stay up for long after her pm meal and shot then began to drop quickly.
When I tested with an ear prick on Contour, I got 72. With SLGS since under 90, I assume she earned .25 reduction.
It’s been a very long day.

When they are surfing in the low 100s, do we feed snacks to keep them surfing? Or only give snacks if Under 100 or so?
 
Back
Top