9/25 Ivy Amps 278, +3 229 , +6 227, +9 224, Pmps 170, +3 189 Libre

Staci & Ivy

Very Active Member
9/24/24
Amps 278 Libre

Yellow overnight cycle and blue/yellow cycle yesterday am. Not loving these cycles. wondering if the UTI situation is affecting her overall health.
She’s acting pretty normally. Peeing, popping, drinking, grooming normally.
(Had a puke this am with a bunch of fur I can tell she pulled out. She does this….its mostly why I think she pukes. I usually see a bunch of fur in her vomit). :banghead:

Spoke to the vet last night. He wants to re-run the free catch urine since I normally do that and don’t normally have any bacteria etc in the urine.

Of course, last night I was able to get a urine from her but the angle that I had to put the cup under her butt somehow I got litter into the cup and of course it contaminated my sample, so that was no good. :arghh:
Now I’m waiting and watching for her to go again this morning so I can make another attempt.

I also began giving her the increased methimazole dose 2.5 mg in the am yesterday (keeping 1.25 mg dose at night). Will test in a month to see how that’s working out.
Hope everyone has a safe day :cat:
 
Good morning Staci.
It is entirely possible the number is a bit elevated if there is infection.
Sorry about the pee-catch fiasco - hope you get a good sample and get the definitive answer!
I am always amazed too the well-formed puke that's entirely made of fur.
Easier to clean but I feel bad that the kitty was holding that thing in their tummy o_O

Good luck with the higher dose of methimazole. I hope this will do the magic for Ivy!

Wishing you a lovely and peaceful day, Staci! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Kit was always a frequent puker because of fur - she had to groom herself constantly if anyone deigned to pet her (plus any time she just felt like it). All of that is past tense only because she for sure grooms less now. I found a comb that actually seems to be doing a decent job of removing the fur, and honestly? The amount I get out of her fur every day, I'm not surprised she was puking as much as was. I wish she'd let me comb her sooner.

Good luck with the pee catch - I did a free catch once, but I ended up using a ladle that I immediately poured into a baggie. Kit's vet thought that might just be the funniest thing she'd heard in awhile.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Bella has those "fur turd" vomits, as my son calls them. It's crazy how much fur I can brush when she lets me do it.
Good luck with the pee catch, Staci.
 
Hello Staci and Ivy!

I agree with Kit and also think the infection might be affecting her numbers. Let's hope this is just short lived and she'll be back on track very soon.

Good luck withbthe pee-catching yet again.
Sending PAWsitive vibes your way.

upload_2024-9-25_12-39-52.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-9-25_12-39-52.png
    upload_2024-9-25_12-39-52.png
    435.6 KB · Views: 79
Good morning Staci.
It is entirely possible the number is a bit elevated if there is infection.
Sorry about the pee-catch fiasco - hope you get a good sample and get the definitive answer!
I am always amazed too the well-formed puke that's entirely made of fur.
Easier to clean but I feel bad that the kitty was holding that thing in their tummy o_O

Good luck with the higher dose of methimazole. I hope this will do the magic for Ivy!

Wishing you a lovely and peaceful day, Staci! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Would you believe she just peed. It’s like she knows I’m gonna steal her pee and put a cup under her.
Maybe she thinks it’s not ladylike and she just doesn’t like it. I think she was waiting me out. I’ve had a camera watching her all day.

I just took the sample to the vet. Hoping maybe tomorrow to hear back.
Her numbers seem higher to me. So there must be something going on.
It’s been a long day waiting. At least that’s done!
Hope you’ve had a good day :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Kit was always a frequent puker because of fur - she had to groom herself constantly if anyone deigned to pet her (plus any time she just felt like it). All of that is past tense only because she for sure grooms less now. I found a comb that actually seems to be doing a decent job of removing the fur, and honestly? The amount I get out of her fur every day, I'm not surprised she was puking as much as was. I wish she'd let me comb her sooner.

Good luck with the pee catch - I did a free catch once, but I ended up using a ladle that I immediately poured into a baggie. Kit's vet thought that might just be the funniest thing she'd heard in awhile.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
lol. That’s quite a story of the ladle, Alicia! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci, good luck getting another urine catch, and best of luck with the
methimazole dose 2.5 mg in the am yesterday (keeping 1.25 mg dose at night). Sending positive vibes it works :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
Thank you, Diane. We appreciate the positive vibes always! We really need them.
Sending you hugs back :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hello Staci and Ivy!

I agree with Kit and also think the infection might be affecting her numbers. Let's hope this is just short lived and she'll be back on track very soon.

Good luck withbthe pee-catching yet again.
Sending PAWsitive vibes your way.

View attachment 71073
Hi Karolina, I sure hope they figure out that’s going on and get her back on track. I really don’t like these numbers.
Plus we have a wedding on Friday night and I have to skip her insulin that night anyway. So it’s all just bad news.
I’m kind of a wreck with all of this going on :(

Thanks for your good wishes:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
lol. That’s quite a story of the ladle, Alicia! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I also immediately threw the ladle away so it didn't get mistaken as something I should use while cooking. :joyful:

Would you believe she just peed. It’s like she knows I’m gonna steal her pee and put a cup under her.
Maybe she thinks it’s not ladylike and she just doesn’t like it. I think she was waiting me out. I’ve had a camera watching her all day.
They always just seem to KNOW when we're going to try something. They're sneaky like that.
I hope you're able to hear back quickly. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Sorry Staci! You (and Ivy) deserve some nice surfing, I'm sure it is coming soon. I'm much newer to this than most, but it has certainly been an adjustment having a pang of anxiety for any social or work obligation that pops up around shot time or near peak insulin time. It is hard and I'm sorry you're feeling it right now.
 
Sorry Staci! You (and Ivy) deserve some nice surfing, I'm sure it is coming soon. I'm much newer to this than most, but it has certainly been an adjustment having a pang of anxiety for any social or work obligation that pops up around shot time or near peak insulin time. It is hard and I'm sorry you're feeling it right now.
Thanks, Seth. I understand your anxiety around any obligations when our cats are surfing low.
Right now Ivy has been a bit higher than I’d like.
Wouldn’t it be great if they could surf in the “just right” zone?
I hope you and Bell have a safe night :bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top