9/3 Disco AMBG 30! NS./+1 50/+3 41/+6.5 68/+8.5 101/PMPS 261/+1 343/+2.5 269/+5 343/+9 265

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA), Sep 3, 2020.

  1. Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA)

    Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2019
    Last Condo Tues 9/1:
    https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...5-105-10-75-98-pmps-141-1-5-250-5-316.234476/

    @Wendy&Neko
    @Sue and Luci
    @carfurby
    @Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    I should have been more attentive when Disco's PM +7.75 was 101, but his AMBG this morning floored me again when I got a 30 (retested immediately and got 27). Other than yelling for food a bit more aggressively (which I thought was because I was up early at 5:30am as one of my other cats is dealing with a UTI as of yesterday and I was up to check on her and give her meds). Otherwise he is acting normally.

    As he was so low, I didn't wait to feed him and gave him 3 tsp of HC 21% (Weruva Grandma's Chicken Soup) but he vomited that up (he sometimes does vomit shredded food esp w/peas I now remember) when I picked him up to retest him 15-20 min later. I got a 37, and gave him 1/2cc Karo Syrup and am due to test him again in about 5 min.

    I put this under 911, hoping for calming direction. I have a 9:15am PT appt and they have a $75 cancellation fee but I can take him with me and retest him in the car if need be...

    Update: 50 @ +13
     
    Briere Fur Mom likes this.
  2. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Give more karo.
    At least a teaspoon.
    1/2cc is not enough.

    Any symptoms?
     
  3. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Well no coffee needed for you! I would definitely bring him because the Karo will wear off it seems this is a symptomatic hypo. I think I would possibly take him to your vet.
     
  4. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    He vomited.
     
  5. Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA)

    Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2019
    Just gave him 5cc (1 tsp) Karo, BG up to 50 right before this Karo dose
     
  6. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Is he acting okay now?
     
  7. Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA)

    Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2019
    He vomited about 20 min after eating the HC, does that sometimes with shredded food but he had also just defecated soft poo with some straining and could be the vasovagal thing he does sometimes too.
     
    Sue and Luci likes this.
  8. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Sounds like he's coming up...take the 911 off please...
     
  9. Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA)

    Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2019
    Yes, interactive and talkative
     
    Briere Fur Mom likes this.
  10. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Obviously there will be no shot this morning but it depends on where he is at and how long your appointment is. Covid makes appointments longer and the depot is still in play.

    Thanks, Elise. I whipped through the post quickly because I wanted to respond asap about the karo.
     
  11. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Test again in 20 minutes. If he seems ok I would feed small amounts and take him with you.
     
  12. Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA)

    Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2019
    Thx! Took off the 911
     
    Sue and Luci likes this.
  13. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    At least three of us humans went from zero to sky-high this morning. Let's hope Disco does the same.
     
  14. Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA)

    Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2019
    Will do! Big THANK YOU to all of you!!!
     
    Sue and Luci likes this.
  15. Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA)

    Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2019
    In continuing to feed in small amounts, should it be HC? I think my appt will take about an hour and can stop midpoint I think to test him
     
  16. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    I'd drop back to some LC...and get another test in 20 minutes...the HC will still be in his system...
     
  17. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    The 911 is still there, Teri.
     
  18. Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA)

    Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2019
    Oh Boy, Gone now.
     
  19. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    These type if mornings get the adrenaline going!
     
  20. Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA)

    Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2019
    65 +13.25, fed again and off to my appt, will update SS soon
     
    Sue and Luci likes this.
  21. Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA)

    Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2019
    I completely skip the dose this morning and go back to 3.25 tonight? I’m about to go into my appointment and don’t have the chance to look at the stickies
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2020
    Sue and Luci likes this.
  22. Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA)

    Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2019
    OhMyCat! I only had two sips of coffee, didn’t take a shower, haven’t washed my face, did brush my teeth and do what they call a 'French wash' since I’m having a physical therapy appointment and they’re going to be well you know, up close and personal LOL
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2020
  23. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    You'll smell karo sweet. All good.
    Not too close. And wear a mask. And prolific use of hand sanitizer.
     
  24. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Anything in the 30s is an automatic reduction.
     
  25. Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA)

    Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2019
    Thx!! I will for sure remember the 1 tsp/5cc next time as I’m sure it will be a next time
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2020
  26. Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA)

    Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2019
    Oh yes, this office is excellent and actually has you wash your hands and arms up to the elbows before you go in a room I feel real comfortable here
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  27. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Put Don’t forget to put NS on your ss. Glad you both are safe.
     
  28. Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA)

    Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2019
    Well, my appt took about an hour by the time I got back to the car. I fed him 2 tsp LC right before my appt and again when I got back to the car. I headed home but by the time I retested him it was almost 90 minutes between tests and he was at 41. Fed him HC and retested in 30 min and he came up to 50, fed him again and at +4 he's 79. Will be retesting at +5.
     
  29. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Karo wears off faster than even hc food. He really needed that reduction. So now you have learned if you need to leave when he has been this low you need to bring him with you if at all possible. Did you leave food out? It might also be a reason to keep some dry food on hand just in case. I’ve never suggested that but it makes sense to me. Do you have a auto feeder you can set to go iff every half hour. That’s another perhaps better alternative.
     
  30. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Disco continues to earn his title of the drama king.:eek::D

    Instead of evil dry food, I'd try some frozen ice cube catsicles of wet food/water together. You can do some in HC too.
     
  31. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I know. Was trying to get something quick for when she left. That 41 scared me thinking where he might have been while Teri was out.
     
  32. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    At the 65, knowing how low Disco had gone, and going to be away an hour, I would have fed HC instead of LC. Bit of an ECID thing, but Disco likes to drop low late and sometimes is a bit tricky to get up and stay up. At home I totally would have gone with lower carb that late in the cycle.

    I liked having small freezer bags of HC options - in case I needed to be away.
     
  33. Briere Fur Mom

    Briere Fur Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
    Is Disco's pancreas sputtering to life?!? My goodness what a morning for y'all. And his cycle today....very interesting!!:D:D:D
    Have a great evening Teri.:)
     
  34. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    What a scary morning. I'm glad Disco is okay and came up for you.
     
  35. Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA)

    Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2019
    I made one ice cube tray of LC, MC and HC today. I was ill prepared today, unlike when I take him to my moms when I go rafting or clean her house etc. I did put Disco at risk today to be sure. I do have 2 timed feeders, a 2 dish and a 5 dish style. Using the 2 dish one today would have been a great idea and for Disco HC does seem to be needed most often when he dips but I have been trying with MC, too.
     

Share This Page