? 9/6/24. WATSON need an answer by Monday please.

Rosie Lass

Active Member
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Angela & Cleo

Tagging you two because you have helped me on this previously.
I’m adding an additional question to the previous question I asked and I’m hoping for some guidance :

The previous plan was to give us snacks at 6:15 and a meal when I get home, followed by the insulin shot. Then the next morning, I would start walking back by 15 minutes to get to the normal time.

My dilemma NOW is this - The next morning, I have to take someone for a colonoscopy. They will have no idea until the night before what time they have to be there, but I am guessing it will be in the morning and I will not be able to give Watson his shot at the time I’m supposed to. Should I just feed him before I have to go and then skip the morning shot? My other option would be to give him a shot later in the day, but that would screw up the nighttime one.
My guess would be to skip the morning shot, but I guess I’m asking for your help to know if this is the right decision

This is my previous post from 8/24/24:
Feeding & Dosing question, Watson normally gets fed then has his shot at 9:45 am & pm.
Starting in September on Monday nights I need to leave home at 6:25 and I won’t be home until about 10:15 pm
Can I feed him his meal at 6:15 before I leave and then just give him a snack when I get home at 10:15 and then shoot?
Then I would shoot at 10 the next morning and 9:45 that night to get back on schedule, right?
Appreciate any advise

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-dosing-help-amps-367-libre-255-meter.293662/
 
A couple possibilities. First, is it possible to move his shot permanently to 6:15? Or at least as long as you have the Monday night commitment? That will put the AM shot also at 6:15 and should be plenty of time to get someone to an appointment. And would make a before bed test easier to get.

Feeding a larger meal late in the cycle is not ideal as the insulin is wearing off them and a large meal will make it wear off faster, shortening duration. If following the above to feed at 6:15 and shoot with a snack later, it's better to give more like a snack at 6:15 and the majority of the meal at 10:15 when you shoot. You would get back on schedule as you've listed if you shoot later.

Second thought is that it's really hard to know what time a colonoscopy will be scheduled for. One would hope for the person's sake that it's earlier rather than later. But that doesn't always happen. Have you been testing for ketones lately? I don't see any ketone test results on the spreadsheet. Presence or not of ketones is a consideration in whether a shot could be skipped.
 
A couple possibilities. First, is it possible to move his shot permanently to 6:15? Or at least as long as you have the Monday night commitment? That will put the AM shot also at 6:15 and should be plenty of time to get someone to an appointment. And would make a before bed test easier to get.

Feeding a larger meal late in the cycle is not ideal as the insulin is wearing off them and a large meal will make it wear off faster, shortening duration. If following the above to feed at 6:15 and shoot with a snack later, it's better to give more like a snack at 6:15 and the majority of the meal at 10:15 when you shoot. You would get back on schedule as you've listed if you shoot later.

Second thought is that it's really hard to know what time a colonoscopy will be scheduled for. One would hope for the person's sake that it's earlier rather than later. But that doesn't always happen. Have you been testing for ketones lately? I don't see any ketone test results on the spreadsheet. Presence or not of ketones is a consideration in whether a shot could be skipped.
@Wendy&Neko
I don’t think I can switch to 6:15 am/pm permanently. My Monday commitment lasts until April and I don’t go to bed until 1 o’clock, so I don’t think I’d be able to be awake at 6:15. I think I will plan to give them all the larger meal as soon as I get home, probably 10:15 followed by the insulin and I will give them the snack before I go at 6:15. I’m definitely not gonna be able to be on any schedule the next morning as I won’t even know till the night before, what time I have to leave the house, but I have to drive an hour to get this person and an hour back to the hospital plus, however long we are there. I guess I’m just going to have to skip the morning shot completely.
I know I myself have a colonoscopy scheduled for October and I have to be there at 8:30 in the morning so that will screw up his time on that day also. I’ll probably will have to skip the shot on that morning too. I have never tested for key tones, I have some strips, but I have four cats that use the same cat pans and I have not ever been able to catch watson peeing so I don’t know how to do that.
 
Some people find their cats pee at a regular time. Neko was pretty predictable, so I knew when to follow her to the litter box. I've seen some people put their cat in a small room with a litter box after a meal, and have success that way.
 
The fall back is to skip the shot. I would just hate to see you have to do that on a regular basis.
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
It would only be skipping two shots, one on September 10 when I am the driver for someone’s colonoscopy and one on October 11 where I am the patient for the colonoscopy. I never schedule Early appointments when I have a choice, but unfortunately, these did not give me a choice.
If there ends up being any way to work around that I will do my best
 
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
It would only be skipping two shots, one on September 10 when I am the driver for someone’s colonoscopy and one on October 11 where I am the patient for the colonoscopy. I never schedule Early appointments when I have a choice, but unfortunately, these did not give me a choice.
If there ends up being any way to work around that I will do my best
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
Yippee!! I found someone to give Watson his breakfast and his a.m. shot tomorrow at the normal time. They are not comfortable doing the ear poke, but he wears a Libre so she will take a reading from that and shoot if appropriate.
Thanks for all your help.
 
Back
Top