9-9 Bailey AMPS 117, +5=62

Yes, please go ahead and shoot 0.25U. Get a test at +2 (2 hours after the shot). It's possible she may need a lower dose, but it's trial and error.

@tiffmaxee please confirm?
 
Yes, please go ahead and shoot 0.25U. Get a test at +2 (2 hours after the shot). It's possible she may need a lower dose, but it's trial and error.

@tiffmaxee please confirm?
I’M FREAKING OUT RIGHT NOW!!!

I withdrew 1u and stood over the sink like I always do to squeeze out what I don’t want and get the right dose. I injected him but now I don’t remember squeezing any out. I had to of but why don’t I remember doing it? I have to be the first person in the world to do something this stupid. I don’t know if I gave him 0.25 or 1? How can I not know???? I feel sooo dumb! I have a lot of new info on my mind but it’s no excuse. I’m so embarrassed to even admit this to you guys. How soon does insulin start working because the second I realized this my stomach dropped and I’m so scared. Please help!! What is wrong with me???!!!!
 
How soon does insulin start working because the second I realized this my stomach dropped and I’m so scared.
Anywhere between +1 to +3 - differs from cat to cat. Please test him every hour. More often if he drops low.
Normal range for blood sugar is 50-100.

Do you have high carb food and/or honey if he drops too low? Enough test strips?
 
Anywhere between +1 to +3 - differs from cat to cat. Please test him every hour. More often if he drops low.
Normal range for blood sugar is 50-100.

Do you have high carb food and/or honey if he drops too low? Enough test strips?
Plenty of test strips. Like 75. What’s considered high carb food? What percentage? I have one that’s 17%. Should I feed it now just in case?
I don’t have honey. Should I go buy some? I’m afraid to leave him now.
 
Wait I do have raw organic honey that’s never been opened. It’s not expired either. Is that good?
 
Anywhere between +1 to +3 - differs from cat to cat. Please test him every hour. More often if he drops low.
Normal range for blood sugar is 50-100.

Do you have high carb food and/or honey if he drops too low? Enough test strips?
I know you are going to sleep soon. Do you know if there’s anyone else who can help me today? I’m so scared. I’m literally in tears. Who does something like this??? No one besides me could be this dumb
 
Plenty of test strips. Like 75. What’s considered high carb food? What percentage? I have one that’s 17%. Should I feed it now just in case?
I don’t have honey. Should I go buy some? I’m afraid to leave him now.
Yes. 17% is high carb. No, do not feed him anything but his usual food now. See where he is at +1.

Wait I do have raw organic honey that’s never been opened. It’s not expired either. Is that good?
Should be. Or karo is also fine.
 
What number is one that I have to worry about? Trying to prepare myself but I don’t know how to interpret the numbers.you have been replying really fast but when you’re not here and I get a number I need to know what to do so I don’t have to wait for a response. Can n you give me a basic guideline please?
 
Yes. 17% is high carb. No, do not feed him anything but his usual food now. See where he is at +1.


Should be. Or karo is also fine.
I don’t know what karo is. Will I know for sure at +1 if I gave too much? Or is this going to be an all day potential emergency?
 
What number is one that I have to worry about? Trying to prepare myself but I don’t know how to interpret the numbers.you have been replying really fast but when you’re not here and I get a number I need to know what to do so I don’t have to wait for a response. Can n you give me a basic guideline please?
50-100 is the normal range. Below 50 means she is dropping lower and you need to feed HC.


I don’t know what karo is. Will I know for sure at +1 if I gave too much? Or is this going to be an all day potential emergency?
Karo is corn syrup. You should know by +1 or +2.
 
There's absolutely nothing wrong with you! There are so many members here who have made mistakes with insulin because we're human, and that's what we do. Besides, there's so much on everyone's mind and so much to learn and it's all so new. He's going to be fine. At least you caught your mistake and you're going to be there in case anything should happen. I've read of members here who shot the wrong cat! And others who gave a shot of insulin after their cat had already been shot by another family member. Believe me, you are not the only one. I haven't read all of this thread, so this may have been mentioned. But do you have temptation treats or some dry cat food?
 
Karo is corn syrup. You should know by +1 or +2.
I’m almost positive now I gave him 1. My sink doesn’t smell like bandaids. I’m the worst cat mom ever. If I was reading this from someone else I would be angry at them and have a really hard time believing someone could make this kind of mistake. It seems so ridiculous. I have no words. It’s like I spaced and I’ve never ever done something like that before. Especially now that it’s so important. There’s literally nothing I can say that would make this OK or explain how it could have happened.
 
There's absolutely nothing wrong with you! There are so many members here who have made mistakes with insulin because we're human, and that's what we do. Besides, there's so much on everyone's mind and so much to learn and it's all so new. He's going to be fine. At least you caught your mistake and you're going to be there in case anything should happen. I've read of members here who shot the wrong cat! And others who gave a shot of insulin after their cat had already been shot by another family member. Believe me, you are not the only one. I haven't read all of this thread, so this may have been mentioned. But do you have temptation treats or some dry cat food?
Thank you for saying that! It’s still feels like an unacceptable and inexcusable mistake to make. Bailey doesn’t like cat treats. Not even the ones with high carbs. I do have dry cat food from when I was feeding it to him before diagnosis. I don’t know the carb content. Should I feed him some of that now?
 
If I was reading this from someone else I would be angry at them and have a really hard time believing someone could make this kind of mistake. It seems so ridiculous. I have no words. It’s like I spaced and I’ve never ever done something like that before. Especially now that it’s so important. There’s literally nothing I can say that would make this OK or explain how it could have happened.

Calm down!! You are NOT the first person to do this and you won't be the last. We had one person who was giving 25 units when she thought she was giving 2.5. It happens....we're only human.

Keep your spreadsheet updated and keep the subject line in this thread updated with the latest test results as you get them.
 
Thank you for saying that! It’s still feels like an unacceptable and inexcusable mistake to make. Bailey doesn’t like cat treats. Not even the ones with high carbs. I do have dry cat food from when I was feeding it to him before diagnosis. I don’t know the carb content. Should I feed him some of that now?
Oh don't worry about feeding him anything higher carb unless his numbers drop down low. You're not even positive that you did shoot him one unit. So just hold on and when you test him, you'll know what to do. And you have people here who can help you. I'm at work, but I can certainly check in and I know there's others here too. He's going to be fine. He's in very good hands and you're a loving cat mom.
 
First of all, take a deep breath! As long as you're able to test and have the supplies you need (high carb food and honey are fine), you are in control of his blood glucose.

Get a +1 and let's go from there.
OK, thank you! Will a +1 be soon enough to tell me anything? I’ve been doing a lot of reading on here and I thought I read that Lantus doesn’t begin working until two hours after injection. Is that not true?

i’m literally brand new to home testing. I put a link above to my first thread. It explains my current situation and what’s been going on. I didn’t even know about home testing until 5 days ago (even though I’ve been giving insulin for over a month). I found this site when I started seeing symptoms and possibly had a hypo scare. I just learned about hypo too.

Anyway… My cat hates the tests and sometimes hides from me after or becomes very difficult. I don’t want to risk my chance of getting a +2 if that one is more important. If that makes sense? I know I can get one. Just worried that both might be difficult while we are still getting the hang of things. I will certainly try but thought I should mention it in case that changes anything and you think I should hold off until +2 to be safe..
 
Calm down!! You are NOT the first person to do this and you won't be the last. We had one person who was giving 25 units when she thought she was giving 2.5. It happens....we're only human.

Keep your spreadsheet updated and keep the subject line in this thread updated with the latest test results as you get them.
Oh my gosh! 25 units! I hope things turned out ok. That’s so scary.
You're not even positive that you did shoot him one unit.
I’m almost positive I shot 1 now. I’ve had my face in the sink and it doesn’t smell like bandaids. I probably sound like a weirdo but that’s what lantus smells like to me. I can always smell it after. I don’t have to put my face in the sink like I was just doing to smell it either. That’s a pretty good indicator that I messed up.
 
Last edited:
You are stressed and new at this. We all make mistakes at times under those circumstances. :bighug:
Should I wait and test at +2 instead of +1? I’m only asking because Bailey gets mad after ear tests and I’m horribly worried that it may be a problem to get them both. I don’t have anyone here to help me. I’m sure this will get easier but for now we’re still in that learning and adjusting phase. I can’t go from nothing to expert right away. I wish I could!

Another sign that I likely gave him too much insulin is that he’s eating again. He doesn’t ever eat this soon after the last time he ate. He grazes throughout the day and doesn’t eat full meals. He’s eating a lot now though.

This is one of the things I noticed the day I started worrying about him and did research and found this site. The day I think he was hypo. Huge appetite, lethargic, glossy eyes, and the hard to explain “he doesn’t look right”.
 
Sorry. I’m probably driving everyone crazy and posting too many messages.

+1 would be now. I’ll wait and stop posting so much to see if someone thinks I should test now or if it’s OK to wait till +2 because that test is more important. Plus he just ate so that should help
 
He’s eating so get a +2 if you need to choose. What is he eating?
Either a fancy feast pate or friskies pate. I put down one of each when I was trying to get him to eat before giving insulin. He sometimes has a preference and the preference changes all the time. So I put down 2 bowls. I can’t tell by looking at them which one is which. He’s laying next to me now. Sweet boy! I’ll test in an hour and post then. Thank you!
 
I’ve had my face in the sink and it doesn’t smell like bandaids. I probably sound like a weirdo but that’s what lantus smells like to me.

You're totally normal....first time I smelled it I said it smelled like band-aids too (heck, like a whole band-aid factory!) There's no missing that smell!

Some people say it smells like Scotch, but I've never been a drinker, so wouldn't have any idea what it tasted or smelled like
 
You're totally normal....first time I smelled it I said it smelled like band-aids too (heck, like a whole band-aid factory!) There's no missing that smell!

Some people say it smells like Scotch, but I've never been a drinker, so wouldn't have any idea what it tasted or smelled like
I thought I was the only one. It doesn’t smell like any scotch I’ve ever smelled. I’m more of a vodka person myself though. Not a big drinker either but after all of this that’s been going on I might start. LOL
 
@Chris & China (GA) @tiffmaxee @Daddy Jack's Mommy The +2 is coming up soon. Thought I should ask how to interpret my numbers in case immediate action is required. I figure it’s better to know what to do then wait for a reply. Can anyone give me a guideline of what numbers are OK and what numbers mean I should feed either higher carb food versus honey numbers please?
 
Also, what do I put in my spreadsheet for the dosage? Will it make things confusing if I put 1 unit which is what I’m almost positive I did? Since no one will know it wasn’t intentional… or how do I handle that?
 
3 failed attempts. First time 1 didn’t get enough blood on the strip and got an error message. The other had enough blood but the strip got knocked out before the reading was displayed. I didn’t even know that could happen. Third time, he shook his head and I couldn’t get any blood. Bailey is furious at me. I’m going to give him 15-20 min and then try again. I know it’s crucial so I won’t stop until I get a reading. I think he can tell I’m nervous. More nervous than usual because I’m afraid of a low number.
this day keeps getting worse… I’m so upset
 
I just went to pet him and he bit me!!! He’s never done that.

I have to remember how to do a burrito wrap because that might be what I need to do here to get a test. Should I give him a little break or no? I’m going to look on YouTube for the burrito technique right now. I’ve done it before I just don’t remember how.
 
You can scrape the blood drop onto a clean fingernail and test from there. That way you don't have to hold him any longer than necessary
I don’t think that would work because I don’t really have fingernails. I’m planning on doing a burrito wrap but I don’t know if I should do it right away or give him a break. He’s really upset right now
 
@Chris & China (GA) I’m bleeding a little but not bad. I can’t believe he did that. In the 12 years I’ve had him he’s never bit me.

He actually just went into a corner which gave me the perfect opportunity to trap him. He was hissing and trying to bite me the entire time but I used a towel and got it. 94 and he ate more than usual after insulin. I might be in trouble here, huh?

He’s very mad now and is hiding somewhere.
 
94 and he ate more than usual after insulin. I might be in trouble here, huh?

No, that's a perfectly safe number. Give him a break and if you can, test again in an hour.

Make sure you wash that bite out really well. Use some hydrogen peroxide if you have it. You also want to call your doctor and tell them you were bit. Cat bites are nothing to play with and often get infected quickly and can end up putting you in the hospital on IV antibiotics very fast.
 
One member here used to scoop up the blood on a little souvenir spoon. Do you have a little spoon or a tiny dessert spoon to scoop it up with? I don't know if you actually can get a drop of blood going, but if you do you can scoop it up and then sip the blood off of the spoon. That way if he shakes his head or runs away, it will be okay.
 
No, that's a perfectly safe number. Give him a break and if you can, test again in an hour.

Make sure you wash that bite out really well. Use some hydrogen peroxide if you have it. You also want to call your doctor and tell them you were bit. Cat bites are nothing to play with and often get infected quickly and can end up putting you in the hospital on IV antibiotics very fast.
My vet hasn’t returned my call or responded to my emails in 3 days. I’m sure I made things worse by sending a very angry and strongly worded email telling them that they should be ashamed for not getting back to me on such an urgent and serious issue. I also may have threatened to file a complaint with the Department of Financial and Professional Regulation and told them I needed to find a vet that actually cared about the well being of my pet. Which clearly wasn’t them.

Not one of my better moments but I’m so furious with them. No one ever gets back to me. I really am considering reporting him although I probably won’t because I was reading it typically doesn’t result in anything.

Angry doesn’t even begin to describe it. My vet never told me about home testing. He never mentioned hypo or that there was a risk of something like that happening. I had to find out the hard way. I got incredibly lucky that I got a meter and tested when I did. Otherwise I would’ve given the usual two units when he was at 68 (the number I got close to when the next insulin injection was supposed to be).

The chance that I happened to have a bad gut feeling something was wrong and was lucky enough to find this site that same day… (so I went out and got a meter). That’s too close of a potentially fatal mistake for my comfort.

I called my vet last week (just before this hypo scare happened) since it had been a month on insulin and I thought a follow-up visit was needed. He said if my cat was doing fine but still peeing a lot (which I mentioned) that I should increase to 3 units twice a day. He told me to increase without having him come in for additional bloodwork or any other info besides he was peeing a lot still. No curve (which I just learned about). No blood test. Nothing. Hasn’t seen my cat since diagnosis.

I feel like that has to be negligence, at best. I’m so lucky I didn’t listen to him because the two units alone could have killed him. I imagine some people would’ve listened to the vet and increased the dose. One thing that usually doesn’t work well in my favor is that I’m argumentative by nature. The conversation I had with him felt off. I decided not to listen. I planned on getting another opinion but then the next day I started seeing symptoms. When they lasted for a couple days I knew something was wrong and started researching. I think he was probably in dangerously low numbers for the 2 days prior to my first home test.

Learning about hypo through a Google search is not how I should’ve found out that it was a possibility of insulin.

What about the people that don’t find this site? Since I joined, I’ve heard people say you wouldn’t shoot your child without testing so why would it be any different with a cat. I didn’t know you were supposed to test people either. I’ve never known anyone with diabetes. Maybe it’s just me but I didn’t know that was common knowledge. I didn’t know in the beginning to question someone who is supposed to know better than anyone else and is trained specially for these types of things.

Sorry for the long rant. I’m just upset about the entire situation and wish I could force accountability on my vet. Not for me, but for the next cat he does this to. I’m allowing him to get away with something that could potentially kill other cats in the future. I don’t know if there’s anything I can do though.

I got a ticket the other day for not using my left turn signal in a left only turn lane. So basically I wasn’t stating the obvious. That is punishable. How is what my vet doing not a crime?
 
I don't blame you for your feelings about your vet (and I didn't say to call him...I said to call YOUR doctor and tell them you were bit...they should start you on oral antibiotics)

The sad fact is that vets only get about 5 hours of education in school on diabetes and that covers all types of animals. Vet schools only have 4 years to teach a little bit about everything. They just can't spend 2 weeks on each disease, each different treatment for that disease and then the differences between treating a cat to a dog to a hamster. Once they go into practice, they usually work with an established vet who continues to teach them (but of course if they didn't take the time to learn more about feline diabetes, the stupidity just gets passed on to the new guy). Vets are required to have continuing education, but they usually get to choose which classes they want to learn more about. Since they see more diabetic dogs than cats, if they choose to learn more about diabetes at all, they're usually going to choose the dog updated education. Also, teaching about nutrition is almost unheard of (although it's getting a little better)....but the education they get on nutrition is supplemented by the prescription pet food manufacturers!

The truth is that most people who find out their cat is diabetic choose to euthanize. Whether this is due to not caring, or having a vet that "scares them off" with horror stories of blindness and the routines that come along with caring for a sugarcat or a million other reasons somebody might choose to euthanize instead of treat is beyond our comprehension here because WE are fighting for our cat's lives! WE don't give up that easily. WE are willing to put in the work because we understand that when we took them into our home, it was for life....not just as long as they were healthy or "convenient" to have around.

I finally settled on vet #5 who was more than an hour away just so I had somebody I could deal with (or at least ignore) and she would continue to see China. Since I'd gotten my Lantus from Canada, I didn't need a new script every year. If I took China in for her yearly checkup or for a dental or a nasty URI, I started the conversation with "She's on X units of Lantus and her blood glucose runs between Y and Z but today we're here for (fill in the blank)" and that was usually the end of the conversation about diabetes! If she did feel the need to say something anyway (usually about switching to a "prescription" food), I'd smile, nod my head and say "I'll think about that"....and come right back here.
 
He’s very mad at me right now. This morning I had 4 failed attempts before giving up. Delayed insulin and finally got AMPS. Then 3 failed attempts at +2. 10 min later trapped him and got a reading. I don’t blame him. I poked 9 times already today. He’s not used to this and doesn’t understand why I keep hurting him.

Currently he’s under this shelving unit where I can’t reach him. It’s too heavy to move myself. I’m going to have to play the waiting game. I’ll test again as soon as he comes out. He naps here sometimes. Never thought it would be an issue that I can’t reach him to pull him out.

I hope this doesn’t become a thing because I don’t want to have to block all the places in my house where he can do this. I’m having a very bad day
 
I don't blame you for your feelings about your vet (and I didn't say to call him...I said to call YOUR doctor and tell them you were bit...they should start you on oral antibiotics)

The sad fact is that vets only get about 5 hours of education in school on diabetes and that covers all types of animals. Vet schools only have 4 years to teach a little bit about everything. They just can't spend 2 weeks on each disease, each different treatment for that disease and then the differences between treating a cat to a dog to a hamster. Once they go into practice, they usually work with an established vet who continues to teach them (but of course if they didn't take the time to learn more about feline diabetes, the stupidity just gets passed on to the new guy). Vets are required to have continuing education, but they usually get to choose which classes they want to learn more about. Since they see more diabetic dogs than cats, if they choose to learn more about diabetes at all, they're usually going to choose the dog updated education. Also, teaching about nutrition is almost unheard of (although it's getting a little better)....but the education they get on nutrition is supplemented by the prescription pet food manufacturers!

The truth is that most people who find out their cat is diabetic choose to euthanize. Whether this is due to not caring, or having a vet that "scares them off" with horror stories of blindness and the routines that come along with caring for a sugarcat or a million other reasons somebody might choose to euthanize instead of treat is beyond our comprehension here because WE are fighting for our cat's lives! WE don't give up that easily. WE are willing to put in the work because we understand that when we took them into our home, it was for life....not just as long as they were healthy or "convenient" to have around.

I finally settled on vet #5 who was more than an hour away just so I had somebody I could deal with (or at least ignore) and she would continue to see China. Since I'd gotten my Lantus from Canada, I didn't need a new script every year. If I took China in for her yearly checkup or for a dental or a nasty URI, I started the conversation with "She's on X units of Lantus and her blood glucose runs between Y and Z but today we're here for (fill in the blank)" and that was usually the end of the conversation about diabetes! If she did feel the need to say something anyway (usually about switching to a "prescription" food), I'd smile, nod my head and say "I'll think about that"....and come right back here.
Thanks for the clarification. I didn’t realize you said my doctor. LOL. I’m not really worried about myself though.

So if this is common for vets, do a lot of cats end up in the hospital or dead from poor vet advice, such as insulin overdose? They can just get away with that? Why does everyone allow this to be the “norm” and acceptable? I don’t understand.

I should open a vet clinic of my own if you can treat without knowing anything about what you’re treating. There are so many animal lovers in this world. I find it very surprising no one does anything to change this. Maybe I should start. Not that I have any money or know how but that really bothers me.

All of us saying, “this is normal for vets to give bad advice or wrong info”… Well doesn’t that make us part of the problem? That’s coming out wrong. You and all the wonderful people here are constantly taking time out of your day to help strangers. It is so incredible and you have probably saved so many lives. You guys are doing everything you can to make things better. I admire you for that. I’m just upset vets can do this because not everyone is fortunate enough to find this site. I almost didn’t find it in time.

Only certain personality types seek out information and advice that conflicts with those given to them by a professional. It’s just sad in general. I wish I could do something.

I was taught, bad things continue only because we allow them to. Change happens one step at a time… Maybe I can find a way to make at least a step. Easier said than done I’m sure.

I’ll stop now. Sorry for wasting everyone’s time with my non-helpful complaining. It won’t happen again. Just needed to get it off my chest
 
Here's something I wrote up for others for testing...maybe it'll help you too!

It can be really helpful to establish a routine with testing. Pick one spot that you want your "testing spot" to be (I like the kitchen counter because it's got good light and it's at a good height....it also already blocked 2 escape routes due to the wall and the backsplash) It can be anywhere though...a rug on the floor, a table, a particular spot on the couch...wherever is good for you.

Take him there as many times a day as you can and just give his ears a quick rub and then he gets a yummy (low carb) treat. Most cats aren't objecting so much with the poking..it's the fooling with their ears they don't like, but once they're desensitized to it and learn to associate a certain place with the treats, they usually start to come when they're called! Or even when they hear us opening the test kit!

You also have to remember...you're not poking him to hurt him...you're testing him to keep him safe and understand what's going on inside his body. There's just nothing better than truly understanding what's going on inside your kitty's body and with this disease, the more knowledge you have, the more power you have against it. The edges of the ears have very few pain receptors, so it really doesn't hurt them. Also, if you're nervous and tense, it's going to make your kitty nervous and tense too. As silly as it might seem, try singing! It forces you to use a different part of your brain!

It's also important to make sure his ear is warm. A small sock filled with a little rice and microwaved or a small pill bottle filled with warm water (check temp against your wrist like you would a baby bottle) works well

For new kitties, using a heavier gauge lancet is also really helpful. A 25-28 gauge lancet pokes a bigger "hole" than a 31-33 gauge lancet does, so look for "Alternate Site testing" lancets that are usually a lower number

Finding the right "treat" will be a great help too! Freeze dried chicken, bonito flakes, little pieces of baked chicken...whatever low carb treat you can find that he really enjoys will help him to associate the testing with the treat! China's Achilles heel was baked chicken, so I'd bake a piece, chop it into bite sized pieces, put some in the refrigerator and freeze the rest to use as needed. It didn't take long for her to come any time I picked up the meter!

There are more testing tips here:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hometesting-links-and-tips.287/
 
Cat bites can be more dangerous than dog bites. So just watch for any signs of infection. Clean it twice a day with hydrogen peroxide. Call your doctor if it gets hot and red as then you might need an antibiotic. It will probably be fine.

So sorry about your vet experience.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top