Advice on BG numbers and vetsulin dosage

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jessee07

Member
I've been monitoring Sugar's BG levels, I'm not sure if I'm testing often enough, I'm trying to do so every couple of hours, but I don't push it if she's sleeping. I hope that I'm filling out her spreadsheet correctly. This morning, she wouldn't eat, and I was told not to give her a dose unless she has eaten 30 minutes prior to the dosage time. She had eaten at around 6:40am after I did her BG test for the morning. I guess I just want to make sure her numbers are okay and make sure that skipping this dose was the right call. Any insight would be great. She's supposed to go into the vet tomorrow morning for her glucose curve test and I just want to make sure we're doing things correctly. Thanks so much.
 
I've been monitoring Sugar's BG levels, I'm not sure if I'm testing often enough, I'm trying to do so every couple of hours, but I don't push it if she's sleeping. I hope that I'm filling out her spreadsheet correctly. This morning, she wouldn't eat, and I was told not to give her a dose unless she has eaten 30 minutes prior to the dosage time. She had eaten at around 6:40am after I did her BG test for the morning. I guess I just want to make sure her numbers are okay and make sure that skipping this dose was the right call. Any insight would be great. She's supposed to go into the vet tomorrow morning for her glucose curve test and I just want to make sure we're doing things correctly. Thanks so much.

Welcome to FDF, I will l tag a couple of members that can help you with dosing or guide you to the member that can, the spreadsheet does show most of everything needed, you may look at Corky's SS and see for yourself a model, I noticed that for today's dose you have 0 is that a typo or as you said you did not dose? if not do not be alarmed that you will get higher numbers throughout the day, and you can do the glucose curve at home you do not need the vet for that, below is a link to create your signature, we need more information about your cat and the signature will help:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/

@Wendy&Neko
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
 
Welcome to FDF, I will l tag a couple of members that can help you with dosing or guide you to the member that can, the spreadsheet does show most of everything needed, you may look at Corky's SS and see for yourself a model, I noticed that for today's dose you have 0 is that a typo or as you said you did not dose? if not do not be alarmed that you will get higher numbers throughout the day, and you can do the glucose curve at home you do not need the vet for that, below is a link to create your signature, we need more information about your cat and the signature will help:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/

@Wendy&Neko
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
I think I fixed it. Do I need to list the foods I'm feeding also on the spreadsheet? She wouldn't eat 30 minutes prior to when she was supposed to get her morning dose (9:10a), I was told not to give it to her if she hadn't eaten. I wasn't sure if eating at 6:35a would count towards that or not so I just didn't give her a dose. I'll be checking her every 2 to 3 hours throughout the day.

Also, this may be a silly question but how do I go about informing my vet that I would rather do a glucose curve at home instead of in office? Do I just read through what I need to do on here and then just tell them this is how I'm going to do it, why I want to do it this way and offer to send over her spreadsheet if they want to see what I've been doing since the 17th? I really do not want to put her through any more stress than she's already under and also, I'd really like to not have to spend more money than necessary. Thank you again.
 
I think I fixed it. Do I need to list the foods I'm feeding also on the spreadsheet? She wouldn't eat 30 minutes prior to when she was supposed to get her morning dose (9:10a), I was told not to give it to her if she hadn't eaten. I wasn't sure if eating at 6:35a would count towards that or not so I just didn't give her a dose. I'll be checking her every 2 to 3 hours throughout the day.

Also, this may be a silly question but how do I go about informing my vet that I would rather do a glucose curve at home instead of in office? Do I just read through what I need to do on here and then just tell them this is how I'm going to do it, why I want to do it this way and offer to send over her spreadsheet if they want to see what I've been doing since the 17th? I really do not want to put her through any more stress than she's already under and also, I'd really like to not have to spend more money than necessary. Thank you again.
It would be good if you note on the remarks as what you feed and the time is good to see the effects of insulin vs meals a good tracking tool, and referring to the Vet, is your decision not his to choose how you will care for your cat, vet visits are very stressful for a diabetic cat or any cat, their glucose levels rise with stress the readings are affected and not be the same as when he’s at home in his environment which can cause the vet to increase the dose without need, some vets refuse to home test, curve increase or decrease dose and at times places fear, so you feel obligated to spend on vet bills,, everything you need is right here in this forum, your vet is for especial needs for a sick pet, with serious illnesses, at least is what I believe, Diabetes CAN be manageable at home, just ask me, my Corky since diagnosed has not stepped paw in a vets office, I rely only on this Forum, then again all cat parents and cats are different, but From self experience and all I read of horror stories by un knowledgeable Vets on FD, I will not change a thing, I trust this forum blindly, my Corky may not be diabetes free ever, he looks like he could by looking at his SS , but he’s one happy healthy 12 yo and acts like 6 :bighug::cat::cat:
 
It would be good if you note on the remarks as what you feed and the time is good to see the effects of insulin vs meals a good tracking tool, and referring to the Vet, is your decision not his to choose how you will care for your cat, vet visits are very stressful for a diabetic cat or any cat, their glucose levels rise with stress the readings are affected and not be the same as when he’s at home in his environment which can cause the vet to increase the dose without need, some vets refuse to home test, curve increase or decrease dose and at times places fear, so you feel obligated to spend on vet bills,, everything you need is right here in this forum, your ve is for especially needs for a sick pet, with serious illnesses, at least is what I believe, Diabetes CAN be manageable at home, just ask me, my Corky since diagnosed has not stepped paw in a gets office, I rely only on this Forum, then again all cat parents and cats are different, but From self experience and all I read of horror stories by un knowledgeable Vets about FD, I will not change a thing, I trust this forum blindly, my Corky may not be diabetes free ever, he looks like he could Beas his SS reads, but he’s one happy healthy 12 yo and acts like 6 :bighug::cat::cat:
I'll go back and add that stuff in. I keep all of it written down in a planner, it's just easier in the moment and then I just update the spreadsheet at the end of the day. Do you happen to have handy where I can find how to do a glucose curve at home? I would love to only have to go to the vet, when necessary, her prices have most definitely been going up steadily. It cost us more to have our 110lb (at the time) great pyrenees neutered and vaccinated than it cost us to have our 200lb female Dane spayed and given her vaccines like a year before his. Shoot, I'd give them their vaccines at home if I could. Thank you again. I really do appreciate all your help.
 
Welcome to FDF, I will l tag a couple of members that can help you with dosing or guide you to the member that can, the spreadsheet does show most of everything needed, you may look at Corky's SS and see for yourself a model, I noticed that for today's dose you have 0 is that a typo or as you said you did not dose? if not do not be alarmed that you will get higher numbers throughout the day, and you can do the glucose curve at home you do not need the vet for that, below is a link to create your signature, we need more information about your cat and the signature will help:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/

@Wendy&Neko
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)

There are many sticky notes in the
Main Forum with much valuable information for you, I will tag a member that can help you with the glucose curve or link for you as well:bighug::cat::cat:
@Diane Tyler's Mom GA
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
Thank you
Also, you mentioned about not testing enough, the main testing should be done prior to dosing, cats are unpredictable at times, and you do not want to dose having a very low BG to chance HYPO, and if you are home, is good to test at least a couple of time during the day, I am an obsessive tester since day one testing every 2 hours, and referring to HYPO, you should have handy what is called a HYPO KIT, this should contain some medium carb food between 11-15% and some High carb food between 16-24%, I know you feeding FF Pates, remember that s=diabetic cats need to have a diet of wet can foods between 0-10%, kibbles or dry foods and commercial treats even the so called
prescribed food the vet sell contain an extreme amount of carbs between 14-30% carbs, cats cannot digest carbs, so it turns into sugars, which damage the pancreas, which then requires insulin, this was the elementary way I was able to understand the damage I caused Corky eating MeauMix kibbles for 10 years, my vet never told me, as a matter of fact once diagnosed he "prescribed" Royal Cannin, that contained 15% carbs, I was never able to stabilize Corky, until months after I found this Forum, already without a vet! :bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Last edited:
Also, you mentioned about not testing enough, the main testing should be done prior to dosing, cats are unpredictable at times, and you do not want to dose having a very low BG to chance HYPO, and if you are home, is good to test at least a couple of time during the day, I am an obsessive tester since day one testing every 2 hours, and referring to HYPO, you should have handy what is called a HYPO KIT, this should contain some medium carb food between 11-15% and some High carb food between 16-24%, I do not know what are you feeding, but diabetic cats need to have a diet of wet can foods between 0-10%, kibbles or dry foods and commercial treats even the so called
prescribed food the vet sell contain an extreme amount of carbs between 14-30% carbs, cats cannot digest carbs, so it turns into sugars, which damage the pancreas, which then requires insulin, this was the elementary way I was able to understand the damage I caused Corky eating MeauMix kibbles for 10 years, my vet never told me, as a matter of fact once diagnosed he "prescribed" Royal Cannin, that contained 15% carbs, I was never able to stabilize Corky, until months after I found this Forum, already without a vet! Below is a carb calculator I use quite often, I do not know if you are in US, but tell us what part of the country you are in and we can send you a Drs. food recommended list as well:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
Cat Food Nutrition Calculator | Elizabeth C Scheyder
We usually get up around 6 to 6:30am and we test shortly after we get up. She likes to eat no later than 7am. She gets her insulin at 9:10a so I usually try to test about 2 to 3 hours after her shot and then at least twice before her 2nd shot at 9:10p. So, we usually test 3-5 times a day. We did get some medium carb canned food. I had a hard time finding high carb can food until someone told me I could use anything in with gravy in it, so I have a couple of those too. She has a mix of Friskies pates and fancy feast classic pate. She really loves the tiki cat after dark, but I try to only use those if I absolutely need her to eat so she can have her shot. Unfortunately, she used her last can last night, so I didn't have one this morning and she wasn't feeling the fancy feast. Our vet wanted us to put her on prescription food, but I told her I wanted to go home and research before I made a decision. I found a bunch of information, some of which led me here, that said no prescription food. Low carb wet food or raw food was the way to go, so that's what we did. I got a list of low carb wet foods and hit the stores. We're in the US, the Dakotas specifically.
 
We usually get up around 6 to 6:30am and we test shortly after we get up. She likes to eat no later than 7am. She gets her insulin at 9:10a so I usually try to test about 2 to 3 hours after her shot and then at least twice before her 2nd shot at 9:10p. So, we usually test 3-5 times a day. We did get some medium carb canned food. I had a hard time finding high carb can food until someone told me I could use anything in with gravy in it, so I have a couple of those too. She has a mix of Friskies pates and fancy feast classic pate. She really loves the tiki cat after dark, but I try to only use those if I absolutely need her to eat so she can have her shot. Unfortunately, she used her last can last night, so I didn't have one this morning and she wasn't feeling the fancy feast. Our vet wanted us to put her on prescription food, but I told her I wanted to go home and research before I made a decision. I found a bunch of information, some of which led me here, that said no prescription food. Low carb wet food or raw food was the way to go, so that's what we did. I got a list of low carb wet foods and hit the stores. We're in the US, the Dakotas specifically.

Perhaps you might want to look into CHEWEY.COM, they have every FF flavors , they do sell by the case of 24 only, but their prices example, Publix has the FF Pate can @$1.14 when chewy @$ 0.83, and when you auto ship, (which you can change the dates and order as you wish) you save $5.00 per case, I buy by the month, and no shipping charge, in 2 days I even buy the Pretty Litter I use for $10.00 cheaper then at Publix, game changer!:bighug::bighug:;):cat::cat:
 
you happen to have handy where I can find how to do a glucose curve at home? I
@Jessee07

Here's an example only about doing a 12 hour curve

Example
Lets say you test at 7 AM, then you would feed Sugar at 7:30 because Vetsulin hits hard and fast . Then give give insulin at 8:00
So your next test would be 2 hours later which would be
at 10:00 AM then
at 12 :00 noon
at 2 00 PM
at 4: 00 PM
at 6:00 PM
at. 8:00 PM

Just a suggestion I would check the alerts to see if anyone responded to you and tap the like word so we know you have read it
So please read from here down all that have replied back to you and have given you advice
 
Last edited:
@Suzanne & Darcy
Hi Suzanne I know you haven't read all about Jessee
and her cat sugar. It looks like she needs some help about the doses. Shouldn't she have reduced on 1-28 for the PM dose because Sugar dropped under 90?
She is not getting any tests at night at +2 or +3 all after the PMPS . Can you please take a look at her SS
Thanks Suzanne
 
Last edited:
We usually get up around 6 to 6:30am and we test shortly after we get up. She likes to eat no later than 7am. She gets her insulin at 9:10

I'm wondering why if you test around 6 or 6:30 AM and then you feed Sugar at 7:00 AM why are you waiting until 9:00 AM to give Sugar insulin?

The order for this process is (1)test , (2) feed (3) wait 20 – 30 minutes (4) shoot.

Can you get tests in after the PMPS shot @+2 or @+3 and maybe one more @+5
Cats drop lower at night.

@Jessee07
 
Last edited:
Sharing it here for easy reference (only including the "dry matter" chart since it's the one to follow): This was sent by Tiki Cat to a member here so I copied it for you



upload_2022-10-14_12-56-9-png.65502
upload_2022-10-14_12-56-26-png.65503
 
she wasn't feeling the fancy feast
I see those are the Pates

If she doesn't want to eat the Pates one day
You can even feed the Fancy Feast Roasted/Flaked/Chunky
The are either 4%, 5% , and 6% which are also ok to feed

Chunky Chicken Feast - is 4% carbs.

For your hypo kit

10% and under is low carb
11% -15 is medium carbs.

16- 24 is high carb.
You can look at the food chart for med and high carb food . I would mark the cans with a magic marker

@Jessee07
 
I'll go back and add that stuff in. I keep all of it written down in a planner, it's just easier in the moment and then I just update the spreadsheet at the end of the day. Do you happen to have handy where I can find how to do a glucose curve at home? I would love to only have to go to the vet, when necessary, her prices have most definitely been going up steadily. It cost us more to have our 110lb (at the time) great pyrenees neutered and vaccinated than it cost us to have our 200lb female Dane spayed and given her vaccines like a year before his. Shoot, I'd give them their vaccines at home if I could. Thank you again. I really do appreciate all your help.
To do a curve at home, just test every 2 hours for one cycle (which os one 12 hour period.). So you start at AMPS, test then, then again at +2, +4, +6, +8, +10, +12 (which would actually be PMPS time.). Then you can send the curve info to the vet if you wish to. You don’t need to put your cat through the stress. You don’t need to spend the extra money. Cats are usually stressed at the vet anyway and stress elevates BG, so your curve at home will be more accurate.
 
Diane is right about the procedure for testing, feeding and shooting the insulin. If Sugar eats at 7 and is tested even before that but is given insulin two hours later, the test you got at 7 a.m. is not an AMPS number — it’s more like a +10 number from the previous evening’s cycle. Does this make sense? The AMPS or PMPS test numbers are the tests we do just before we feed our cats and then give them their insulin. When we take these two tests, we need to make sure that our cats have not had food to eat for the two hours prior to those tests (so that the test BG value is not inflated by food.). Later on after you have a lot of data on your cat, this rule can be relaxed if you know how your cat responds to carbs in the food.

of course, you are right about making sure that your kitty has eaten about 30 minutes before you give the Vetsulin. vetsulin cam hit very hard and fast and drop BG quickly. By the way, the American Animal Hospital Association no longer recommends Vetsulin be used in cats. It’s not a particularly good insulin for cats and does not give long-lasting glucose control.
 
Last edited:
No tests today? Even on a day when you skip a shot, it’s valuable information to see how high they may go. And it’s very helpful to have a few nighttime tests as well. Day and night cam sometimes be different and don’t always follow the same patterns.
 
@Diane Tyler's Mom GA is correct that Sugar earned a .25 unit dose reduction on 1/28 due to dropping below 90. This isn’t that surprising on Vetsulin. It’s going to be hard to get Sugar regulated on the Vetsulin. It would be very good if you could get your vet to prescribe ProZinc or Lantus insulin for Sugar.

It’s really important for you to give Sugar some small snacks during the early portion of her cycle. Try +2 and +4. The numbers will tell you if you need to move those times a bit. A snack will ordinarily be a small amount of the regular Low Carb food.
 
Perhaps you might want to look into CHEWEY.COM, they have every FF flavors , they do sell by the case of 24 only, but their prices example, Publix has the FF Pate can @$1.14 when chewy @$ 0.83, and when you auto ship, (which you can change the dates and order as you wish) you save $5.00 per case, I buy by the month, and no shipping charge, in 2 days I even buy the Pretty Litter I use for $10.00 cheaper then at Publix, game changer! :bighug::bighug:;):cat::cat:
Thank you for this. I have thought about trying the pretty litter but I'm not sure how well it works in multi-cat homes.
 
@Jessee07

Here's an example only about doing a 12 hour curve

Example
Lets say you test at 7 AM, then you would feed Sugar at 7:30 because Vetsulin hits hard and fast . Then give give insulin at 8:00
So your next test would be 2 hours later which would be
at 10:00 AM then
at 12 :00 noon
at 2 00 PM
at 4: 00 PM
at 6:00 PM
at. 8:00 PM

Just a suggestion I would check the alerts to see if anyone responded to you and tap the like word so we know you have read it
So please read from here down all that have replied back to you and have given you advice
Thank you for this. I plan to do it at home. However, my vet was completely against it. I'm so frustrated at this point. I honestly feel like I know more than she does and the attitude I got. It was so hard to bite my tongue. I guess I'll be calling other vets to see what they know.
 
I'm wondering why if you test around 6 or 6:30 AM and then you feed Sugar at 7:00 AM why are you waiting until 9:00 AM to give Sugar insulin?

The order for this process is (1)test , (2) feed (3) wait 20 – 30 minutes (4) shoot.

Can you get tests in after the PMPS shot @+2 or @+3 and maybe one more @+5
Cats drop lower at night.

@Jessee07
The vet told us to give her first dose before bed. We went in at like 4:30p on the 17th and she said to give it at times you'd be able to keep up with. I have 3 kids that get up and get ready. So, I'm wrangling kids, 3 dogs, and the cat in the mornings. It's pretty hectic. So, it just seemed easier to do it when everything was less chaotic. That way I have time to make sure she's eating enough food and it's not as loud and crazy so she's calm and I'm calm. If that makes sense.
 
I see those are the Pates

If she doesn't want to eat the Pates one day
You can even feed the Fancy Feast Roasted/Flaked/Chunky
The are either 4%, 5% , and 6% which are also ok to feed

Chunky Chicken Feast - is 4% carbs.

For your hypo kit

10% and under is low carb
11% -15 is medium carbs.

16- 24 is high carb.
You can look at the food chart for med and high carb food . I would mark the cans with a magic marker

@Jessee07
Good to know. Thank you.
 
To do a curve at home, just test every 2 hours for one cycle (which os one 12 hour period.). So you start at AMPS, test then, then again at +2, +4, +6, +8, +10, +12 (which would actually be PMPS time.). Then you can send the curve info to the vet if you wish to. You don’t need to put your cat through the stress. You don’t need to spend the extra money. Cats are usually stressed at the vet anyway and stress elevates BG, so your curve at home will be more accurate.
This was my plan. She doesn't do well at the vet especially if her sister isn't with her. Yes, she's tolerant but she is highly stressed being there. I tried to explain all this to the vet yesterday when I called to cancel her curve for today. She argued with me. Told me that my meter isn't reliable for cats. That I needed to have at least one curve done in house and then "I can do whatever I want after that." So, it looks like I'm going to be searching the forum to find questions to ask potential vets and I'll be calling around to various vets in town and the surrounding areas if I have too. I'm so frustrated. I apologize for dumping all this, I just feel like I can't win here.
 
Are you able to get any tests in after the pm dose of insulin around +2 or+3?
I will ask @Suzanne & Darcy to have a look at the dose as she is a vetsulin user and I am not.
I can certainly set an alarm to get up and test, I don't have a problem with that. I probably should have just moved her time around when she skipped her morning dose yesterday but it's hard to find a time when I can make sure she's getting enough to eat and it's calm enough we both aren't stressed from the morning chaos.
 
I can certainly set an alarm to get up and test, I don't have a problem with that. I probably should have just moved her time around when she skipped her morning dose yesterday but it's hard to find a time when I can make sure she's getting enough to eat and it's calm enough we both aren't stressed from the morning chaos.

fancy Feast has quite a few Chucky flavors that are between 0-10% carbs, see Corky's SS under remarks, the foods he eats are listed there , also a new flavor Turkey Feast Chunky 4%
 
Diane is right about the procedure for testing, feeding and shooting the insulin. If Sugar eats at 7 and is tested even before that but is given insulin two hours later, the test you got at 7 a.m. is not an AMPS number — it’s more like a +10 number from the previous evening’s cycle. Does this make sense? The AMPS or PMPS test numbers are the tests we do just before we feed our cats and then give them their insulin. When we take these two tests, we need to make sure that our cats have not had food to eat for the two hours prior to those tests (so that the test BG value is not inflated by food.). Later on after you have a lot of data on your cat, this rule can be relaxed if you know how your cat responds to carbs in the food.

of course, you are right about making sure that your kitty has eaten about 30 minutes before you give the Vetsulin. vetsulin cam hit very hard and fast and drop BG quickly. By the way, the American Animal Hospital Association no longer recommends Vetsulin be used in cats. It’s not a particularly good insulin for cats and does not give long-lasting glucose control.
Thank you for this. When I asked the vet about all this, she said it was fine. Then again, she said not to test at home. Is there a way that I can change her dosage time? I was told to give it to her 12 hours apart, it was okay to go longer but never shorter. The information that's been given here makes way more sense than what the vet told me so I'm going to listen to you guys. Sorry to go on a bit of a tangent here but I'm really frustrated and kind of pissed off. I called the vet to cancel her glucose curve for today, I told them I would be doing it at home. How I was going to do it, why I was doing it and offered to send over the BG spreadsheet for them along with the curve info I gathered on my own. They told me that human meters are not reliable for cats, that it would be grossly inadequate, and they couldn't trust them. They said that I needed to have at least one curve done in house and then "I can do whatever I want after that." This is the same vet who told me to just shoot insulin without monitoring BG. I'm just so incredibly angry. It should not feel like I, a person who didn't even know cats could have diabetes until sugar's diagnosis, knows more about FD than a vet. Thank you for the advice, I appreciate it, and I am taking it all to heart.
 
fancy Feast has quite a few Chucky flavors that are between 0-10% carbs, see Corky's SS under remarks, the foods he eats are listed there , also a new flavor Turkey Feast Chunky 4%
Thank you. I will definitely look for those and if I can't find them, I'll just order them. Whatever I can do that will help her. I really truly appreciate all the help, I'm taking it all on board.
 
Thank you. I just feel so defeated. I'm trying to remain civil with the vet but she only seems to want it her way and isn't willing to listen to what I have to say and it's making me really mad.

Perhaps It’s time to find another Vet that understand you and respects your decisions and questions and listen to you!! Do not gov u your baby needs now more then ever, again take a step back breath in and breath out, you are already under stress trying to manage the diabetes, you do not need to be second guessed , there’s a possibility she is not that well taught on feline diabetes, put your foot on the ground, you know your cat better than she does!!!:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Perhaps It’s time to find another Vet that understand you and respects your decisions and questions and listen to you!! Do not gov u your baby needs now more then ever, again take a step back breath in and breath out, you are already under stress trying to manage the diabetes, you do not need to be second guessed , there’s a possibility she is not that well taught on feline diabetes, put your foot on the ground, you know your cat better than she does!!!:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
Thank you. I'll be calling other vet offices in town and surrounding areas if I have to today, see if I can find someone more knowledgeable on feline diabetes or at least someone willing to hear me out and work with me.
 
Thank you. I'll be calling other vet offices in town and surrounding areas if I have to today, see if I can find someone more knowledgeable on feline diabetes or at least someone willing to hear me out and work with me.
let us know how it goes, Good luck, feel the vet first, ask questions, you have already know from this forum what your diabetic cat needs to stay healthy, bring up what you already know without hesitation, let the vet know you know what you want and what you are doing so there will be no fooling around, on superficial or unhealthy treatments, tell the vet about this forum, see how the vet react and follow your instincts!!!:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
Also I do not see any test or dose for today after AMPS on the SS?
 
Is there a way that I can change her dosage time? I was told to give it to her 12 hours apart, it was okay to go longer but never shorter. The information that's been given here makes way more sense than what the vet told me so I'm going to listen to you guys
Yes there is, what do you want to do get up earlier to test , feed wait 30 minutes then give Sugar the insulin? Did you give any insulin last night 1-29 can you please update your spreadsheet. You also should have given 0.25 on the morning of 1-29

What about today 1-30 ? Any tests ? Nothing on your spreadsheet

I think this is how you would do it
You can move shot time back by 30 minutes a day.
I asked @Suzanne & Darcy so let's see if this is correct

As Suzanne said
Even on a day when you skip a shot, it’s valuable information to see how high they may go. And it’s very helpful to have a few nighttime tests as well. Day and night cam sometimes be different and don’t always follow the same patterns.

Sugar also earned a reduction because she dropped under 90 on 1-28 during the day cycle. You should have reduced the dose to 0.25 for the PM dose on 1-28

You have shot lower numbers before on 1-17 and 1-18

@Jessee07
 
Last edited:
them along with the curve info I gathered on my own. They told me that human meters are not reliable for cats, that it would be grossly inadequate, and they couldn't trust them.
That's bull crap,. Maybe you should tell your vet this Almost most of our members use human meters . I used the Relion and got Tyler into remission for 3 years and 4 months but I had to let him go because he got cancer in Aug 2024:(
I know he still would have stayed in remission if he was still here and this is because I took the advice from all the experienced members here I think you should find a new vet and I think other members mentioned bto you here that Vetsulin is used for dogs. Lantus or Prozinc is better . Most of us use Lantus or the generic. If down the road you do find another vet and they let you use Lantus or the generic we can help you out with that and what changes you would have to make the
@Jessee07
 
That's bull crap,. Maybe you should tell your vet this Almost most of our members use human meters . I used the Relion and got Tyler into remission for 3 years and 4 months but I had to let him go because he got cancer in Aug 2024:(
I know he still would have stayed in remission if he was still here and this is because I took the advice from all the experienced members here I think you should find a new vet and I think other members mentioned bto you here that Vetsulin is used for dogs. Lantus or Prozinc is better . Most of us use Lantus or the generic. If down the road you do find another vet and they let you use Lantus or the generic we can help you out with that and what changes you would have to make the
@Jessee07

Well said!
 
Regarding human versus pet meters, if human meters are no good for pets, then why do so many vets recommend putting Libre sensors on cats? The Libre continuous glucose monitor is a human product. Also, the pet meters are a much more recent invention. For many years before there even was such a thing as a pet meter, vets used human handheld glucometers. My vet still uses one. Some of our members with obstinate vets will have an Alpha Trak Meter that they only use to run the occasional curve and give the numbers to their vet. There is no reason why you should have to go to all the expense of those expensive test strips. There is no reason to not do your own curve at home. Tell the vet that the stress will raise her blood glucose and give elevated numbers. Tell the vet that you will save your money for other veterinary expenses for things that cannot be done at home.
 
This was my plan. She doesn't do well at the vet especially if her sister isn't with her. Yes, she's tolerant but she is highly stressed being there. I tried to explain all this to the vet yesterday when I called to cancel her curve for today. She argued with me. Told me that my meter isn't reliable for cats. That I needed to have at least one curve done in house and then "I can do whatever I want after that." So, it looks like I'm going to be searching the forum to find questions to ask potential vets and I'll be calling around to various vets in town and the surrounding areas if I have too. I'm so frustrated. I apologize for dumping all this, I just feel like I can't win here.
Definitely no need to apologize. Many of us have been in this same position. And it helps to vent sometimes. You CAN do this and help Sugar. Really all you need a vet to do at this point is give you an Rx for the insulin or sell you a bottle of insulin. I am not saying that later on you may need some veterinary assistance, but for this right now… insulin and the FDMB is all you need!
 
Last edited:
Regarding human versus pet meters, if human meters are no good for pets, then why do so many vets recommend putting Libre sensors on cats? The Libre continuous glucose monitor is a human product. Also, the pet meters are a much more recent invention. For many years before there even was such a thing as a pet meter, vets used human handheld glucometers. My vet still uses one. Some of our members with obstinate vets will have an Alpha Trak Meter that they only use to run the occasional curve and give the numbers to their vet. There is no reason why you should have to go to all the expense of those expensive test strips. There is no reason to not do your own curve at home. Tell the vet that the stress will raise her blood glucose and give elevated numbers. Tell the vet that you will save your money for other veterinary expenses for things that cannot be done at home.
I agree with Suzanne ,,take her advice very serious, she has been the one who has helped me take Corky were he is right now, after the Libre nightmare I have only used the ReliOn human meter and strips, never gone wrong
 
And she is best my Corky’s Guardian Angel his savior!!
And she is best my Corky’s Guardian Angel his savior!!

Good morning, as Diane and Suzanne said, you need either ProZinc or Lantus, you can ask your Vet for a PRN (1year) prescription, each vial should last between 3-6 months depending how much you dose, you keep the script at Walmart or you can order even better get it from CHEWY.COM they will call the vet for the prescription ( another vet bill gone) I do not know where the BG should be with Vetsulin ,but your spreadsheet shows blues, that should be good, but I am far from advise in the matter, but yes all you need is the insulin and FDMB!

We like to keep our threads to 50 post, you can start a new thread with the same title with continuation in the title and one of the members will attach this thread to the new one
"Continuation"Advice on BG numbers and vetsulin dosage
 
Your two cats in your photo are so cute together. Is that Sugar and her sister? They must be close since you said she doesn’t do well at the vet away from her sister.

I have a cat like that who needs her sister. Sometimes when we take Esther (scaredy cat) to the vet, we also pop Ruth into a carrier with her for comfort. Ruth is the adventurous one. She enjoys car rides and exploring at the vet. Esther seems calmer then, although Ruth wants to get out of her carrier and walk all over the car (occasionally I will let her, but only if I have someone else in the car to control her. She also wants to get out at the vet and look around. Once the vet tech asked, “and who is that … and what is she here for?” We are known for sometimes bringing multiple cats to the vet to be seen. We said it was just Esther’s sister and she was here for comfort. They thought that was funny.

It sounds like you need to keep Sugar at home as much as possible. Too bad you don’t have a good mobile vet around. We have one that I used years ago, but she and I didn’t see eye to eye on vaccines so I let her go. She was a decent vet for the most part.

I hope you can find another vet who will not be so totalitarian with you and will be willing to also prescribe a different insulin for Sugar.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top