Alpha Trak 2 strips vs Freestyle Lite or Freestyle Insulinx test strips

Status
Not open for further replies.
I was out of town at a memorial service this afternoon for a friend's Mom who passed recently. It was an informal but sweet service and I certainly enjoyed seeing my friends and all my "adopted" daughters, son and their babies aka my "adopted" grandkids! Then I went to pick up the kid who cuts my grass for me, got the grass cut, got my pond running again then we went out for dinner so yes it was overall, an enjoyable day.:D
 
I was out of town at a memorial service this afternoon for a friend's Mom who passed recently. It was an informal but sweet service and I certainly enjoyed seeing my friends and all my "adopted" daughters, son and their babies aka my "adopted" grandkids! Then I went to pick up the kid who cuts my grass for me, got the grass cut, got my pond running again then we went out for dinner so yes it was overall, an enjoyable day.:D
Sorry about your friends mom, must have been nice to see your friends and your family. It's so nice to talk to you, have a good rest of the night, I'll be drinking a lot of coffee tonight so I can test Tyler lol
 
MrWorfMen'sMom. Good morning Linda
Here are Tyler's numbers from last night giving 0.5 u
Sunday 5-5-19
9:00 pm - 196
+2- 141 (midnight)
+5 - 173 (3:00 am)


Monday 5-6-19
8:30 am- 136 I couldn't believe it when I saw it
 
MrWorfMen'sMom Hi Linda, here are Tyler's BG from the last couple of days

Wednesday 5-8-19
8:30 AM - 182 did not give any insulin
8:30 PM - 167 did not give any insulin


Thursday 5-9-19
8:30 AM - 236 gave 0.5 u
+6 - 208

8:30 PM - 192 gave 0.5 u

Friday 5-10-19
9:00 AM- 201 going to give 0.5 u again at 10:30 AM and will be test throughout the day and will post
Just can't seem to get his numbers down to where they were previously
I know it must be a pain in the neck to see Tyler's BG this way instead of putting it on a spreadsheet, but like I said my tablet is old and it won't let me create the spreadsheet, hoping to buy a new one so I can do the spreadsheet but right now I am so broke lol between Tyler's meds and supplies and his brother Perry who has kidney disease and seizures and his medications I just don't have the money right now, oh forgot to tell you they both turned 11 yrs old on April 29th
Ok just tested so as I said he was
9:00 AM - 201
+3 - 145 ( 1:30 pm)
+5-1/2- 156 (4:00 pm)


9:00 PM - 211. Fed Tyler, waited 30 minutes then shot 0.5u at 10:00 pm
I will test him a couple of times tonight
+3-1/2- 131
+6- 173
 
Last edited:
MrWorfMen'sMom Hi tested Tyler
Saturday 5-11-19
9:00 AM - 239 should I give the 0.5u again
I gave him 0.5u at 10:30 AM
+3- 141

Saturday 5-11-19
9:00 PM - 200 gave 0.25 u
 
Last edited:
MrWorfMen'sMom Hi Linda tested Tyler this morning
Sunday 5-12-19
10:00 AM 153. No Insulin given
9:30 PM - 229 Will give 0.5 u at 10:00 PM and re test
 
Last edited:
MrWorfMen'sMom Hi Linda
Tyler's BG for

5-14-19 . Tuesday
8:00 AM - 245 will give 0.5 u again and re test
8:00 PM - 195 no insulin
 
Last edited:
MrWorfMen'sMom. Hi Linda Tested Tyler this morning

5-15-19 Wed
8:00 AM - 258 going to give him 0.5 u
Fed him and will shoot at 9:00 AM going by his BG starting from 5-7-19
do you think I should stay with the 0.5 u

+3- 129
+6.5- 176

5-15-19 Wed
9:00 PM - 220 will shoot at 10:00 PM 0.5 u
+2- 158
 
Last edited:
Diane, my apologies but things have been a bit crazy here along with a PC keyboard giving me grief. Just catching up here. Not sure what to tell you for Tyler. I am really wondering if it would be better to stick with the 0.25u for the moment if Tyler's BG warrants insulin be given. It would be so much easier to see Tyler's patterns on the spreadsheet. I may try to set one up this weekend (holiday weekend here) and plot in the numbers and then we'll see if you can update it from your tablet. I'll let you know when I get it done by PM. A couple of things to try......If Tyler is too low for insulin, stall him without feeding for 30 minutes and then retest to see if his BG is coming up on its own. If it is, and close to 200, then giving the 0.25u should be Ok BUT make sure you retest him at +2 or +3 to see if he is dropping a lot or not. It's those mid cycle tests that really help make dosing decisions. Tyler's not running that high but he's just not quite there yet to get him off the insulin completely.
 
Diane, my apologies but things have been a bit crazy here along with a PC keyboard giving me grief. Just catching up here. Not sure what to tell you for Tyler. I am really wondering if it would be better to stick with the 0.25u for the moment if Tyler's BG warrants insulin be given. It would be so much easier to see Tyler's patterns on the spreadsheet. I may try to set one up this weekend (holiday weekend here) and plot in the numbers and then we'll see if you can update it from your tablet. I'll let you know when I get it done by PM. A couple of things to try......If Tyler is too low for insulin, stall him without feeding for 30 minutes and then retest to see if his BG is coming up on its own. If it is, and close to 200, then giving the 0.25u should be Ok BUT make sure you retest him at +2 or +3 to see if he is dropping a lot or not. It's those mid cycle tests that really help make dosing decisions. Tyler's not running that high but he's just not quite there yet to get him off the insulin completely.
Hi Linda, no need to apologize, I know I could be relentless lol, zIts just that I got a little nervous seeing him in the 200's . I'll see how it goes, and again so sorry for all the PM
 
No need for apologies from you either! I understand how frustrating it can be with these critters when they don't seem to be doing what you expect them to do. Patience is key and try not to focus on each and every reading as much as how he is feeling overall. Over reacting to any individual reading is only warranted if they suddenly drop low and need some steering to safer numbers. ;)
 
No need for apologies from you either! I understand how frustrating it can be with these critters when they don't seem to be doing what you expect them to do. Patience is key and try not to focus on each and every reading as much as how he is feeling overall. Over reacting to any individual reading is only warranted if they suddenly drop low and need some steering to safer numbers. ;)
Thank you Linda, I think that's what I'm doing, focusing on every reading, he always seems like he is feeling fine. Thank you again Enjoy your holiday weekend
 
MrWorfMen'sMom Hi Linda
5-18-19
9:00 AMPS -. 277. Tyler's getting up there
Will shoot at 10:30 AM. 0.5 U and re check
Just getting upset that he's this high
 
Last edited:
Can you check him at +3 today? Let's see if we can figure out how much that 0.5u dose is dropping his BG.
Ok just re tested at +3
5-18-19 Saturday
9:00 AMPS was 277
Gave 0.5 U
+3 182
Just had to give him some Dr Elseys dry to shut him up lol
He's a strange cat, when it's feeding time he usually only eats about
a half of can of FF chicken pate. Now if he hears a noise he will stop eating and walk
away, or he might not finish all of it, I know he should eat more so I have to wait awhile and then have to coax him to finish the rest. He is just stubborn and will turn his head away from the dish, I actually have to hold it up to his mouth for him to eat more. He's a real pain in the neck.
Even though he ate some Dr Elseys dry, it wasn't a lot, I will
check him again at +6
 
Last edited:
How about checking him again at +4 to see if he's down any more or not. I'm just curious as to how low he is going on the 0.5u dose and his nadir may be before +6.
 
How about checking him again at +4 to see if he's down any more or not. I'm just curious as to how low he is going on the 0.5u dose and his nadir may be before +6.
Oh it's to late , I already checked at +6
+6- 212
I can try tonight to test at +3, +4, and +6 depending what time I shoot, if it's to late I can do it tomorrow morning.
I'll see what it is tonight . I try to get to as close as I can to 0.5U on the U-40 syringes.
We already discussed that these syringes don't have half markings, I will call my vet on
Monday to see if they are available and if I need a prescription
 
Last edited:
You will need a prescription in New Jersey. If the vet will co-operate, you can order the syringes with half unit markings from ADW for far less than the vet would charge you. Chances are that the vet may give you a hard time (may not even know that U40 syringes with half unit markings are available) so you'll have to make it clear that 1 unit is too much for Tyler and you need to be able to draw up smaller doses.
 
You will need a prescription in New Jersey. If the vet will co-operate, you can order the syringes with half unit markings from ADW for far less than the vet would charge you. Chances are that the vet may give you a hard time (may not even know that U40 syringes with half unit markings are available) so you'll have to make it clear that 1 unit is too much for Tyler and you need to be able to draw up smaller doses.
I didn't know that U-40 syringes come with half markings, I'll tell her that. Did you
think the +6 of 212 was to high? I guess we really can't tell because we don't know what his +4 would have been. After I test him tonight which will be probably around 9:00 PM I will post it, maybe you can please take a look at it for me. Thank you again, you have been so much help
 
With Vetsulin, nadir (peak action) is often before +6. Tyler obviously dropped almost 100 points by +3 today but he may have been continuing to drop and in order to figure out dosing, we really need to see how low he goes on the 0.5u dose. Nadir isn't always at exactly the same time every day...depends on the cat. In some cases they are pretty reliable and in others, they bounce around time wise. It's looking like Tyler is likely reaching nadir before +6 in the cycle. The 212 at +6 is kind of expected. We'll see where he is tonight.
 
With Vetsulin, nadir (peak action) is often before +6. Tyler obviously dropped almost 100 points by +3 today but he may have been continuing to drop and in order to figure out dosing, we really need to see how low he goes on the 0.5u dose. Nadir isn't always at exactly the same time every day...depends on the cat. In some cases they are pretty reliable and in others, they bounce around time wise. It's looking like Tyler is likely reaching nadir before +6 in the cycle. The 212 at +6 is kind of expected. We'll see where he is tonight.
I am starting to really understand what you are talking about. Thank you, you would think my vet would go over all of this information with me, nadar, etc. It's only being on this wonderful forum and especially your help is why I had asked her some questions. Ok we will see where he is tonight and I will definitely test him at least +2, +3, +4 and +6 either tonight if I can stay awake, if not definitely tomorrow morning.
 
oops, speaking of that, I just discovered that son's dog found a plastic box of snickerdoodle and peanut butter cookies, pulled them out all over the bed, crumbs everywhere, 3 cookies left out of a dozen or more --- AND I'm not altogether sure that Catcat didn't get into it too -- he's hungry all the time of course, and I went out to the food bank between +8 and +9 for him, --- his schedule calls out for no food served up between +7 and +11.5 .. I'd think he'd be hyper but he's just lying there smiling and saying "Who? Me?" -- oh yeah, the dog is allergic to wheat ....
 
oops, speaking of that, I just discovered that son's dog found a plastic box of snickerdoodle and peanut butter cookies, pulled them out all over the bed, crumbs everywhere, 3 cookies left out of a dozen or more --- AND I'm not altogether sure that Catcat didn't get into it too -- he's hungry all the time of course, and I went out to the food bank between +8 and +9 for him, --- his schedule calls out for no food served up between +7 and +11.5 .. I'd think he'd be hyper but he's just lying there smiling and saying "Who? Me?" -- oh yeah, the dog is allergic to wheat ....
Oh my God, I'm sure he didn't eat any, smell his breath lol
 
nope, he smells of sardines (his post-test treat) and FF liver&chicken (on today's menu) -- no whiff of cinnamon or lemon, and I'd discount the peanut butter since it's chunky bits and he prefers his food smoothly pureed ... we'll see on his pre-shot test, coming up in an hour and a bit

dog is chasing birds in the yard (half husky half lab) and I'm tired after walking more than I should've, at the Relay for Life at the fairgrounds last night, not sure I could survive doggy breath ...
 
MrWorfMen'sMom hey Linda so here is where we left off
5-18-19 Saturday
9:00 AMPS - 277 shot 0.5 UNITS
+3 - 182
+6 - 212
We think Tyler is likely reaching nadir before +6 in the cycle@MrWorfMen'sMom

I just tested him at 8:00 PM he was begging to eat.
5-18-19
8:00 PMPS -213
Going to shoot around 9:00 PM shot 0.5 UNITS
I will test him at +2, +3, +4, and +6


+2 - 172 ( 11:00 PM )
+3 - 188. ( Midnight)
+4 - 156 ( 1:00 AM)
+6 - 203 ( 3:00 AM)


5-19-19 SUNDAY
9:00 AMPS - 273. - do you think I should stay with the 0.5 U
I went with the 0.5U

5-19-19. Sunday
9:00 PMPS - 298 .going to feed him now and then wait 30 minutes then
Will shoot, question is how much, as you can see I've been giving 0.5 U

Shot 0.5U Again
+2 - 278 I can't believe it didn't go down more than this
Not even going to test anymore tonight
Just so disgusted



5-20-19. MONDAY
AMPS - 286. Wondering how many Units to shoot
This time I tried 1 U and twisted the plunger a little
To let a few drops out
+4 - 209

5-20-19 Monday
9:00 PMPS. 279
Do you think I should try giving 1.05 Units?
Had to shoot now so I went ahead and have 1.05 UNITS
And will re test a few more times
+2.05 - 197
 
Last edited:
nope, he smells of sardines (his post-test treat) and FF liver&chicken (on today's menu) -- no whiff of cinnamon or lemon, and I'd discount the peanut butter since it's chunky bits and he prefers his food smoothly pureed ... we'll see on his pre-shot test, coming up in an hour and a bit

dog is chasing birds in the yard (half husky half lab) and I'm tired after walking more than I should've, at the Relay for Life at the fairgrounds last night, not sure I could survive doggy breath ...
You are too damn funny
 
MrWorfMen'sMom hey Linda so here is where we left off
5-18-19 Saturday
9:00 AMPS - 277 shot 0.5 UNITS
+3 - 182
+6 - 212
We think Tyler is likely reaching nadir before +6 in the cycle@MrWorfMen'sMom

I just tested him at 8:00 PM he was begging to eat.
5-18-19
8:00 PMPS -213
Going to shoot around 9:00 PM shot 0.5 UNITS
I will test him at +2, +3, +4, and +6


+2 - 172 ( 11:00 PM )
+3 - 188. ( Midnight)
+4 - 156 ( 1:00 AM)
+6 - 203 ( 3:00 AM)


5-19-19 SUNDAY
9:00 AMPS - 273. - do you think I should stay with the 0.5 U
I went with the 0.5U

5-19-19. Sunday
9:00 PMPS - 298 .going to feed him now and then wait 30 minutes then
Will shoot, question is how much, as you can see I've been giving 0.5 U

Shot 0.5U Again
+2 - 278 I can't believe it didn't go down more than this
Not even going to test anymore tonight
Just so disgusted



5-20-19. MONDAY
AMPS - 286. Wondering how many Units to shoot
This time I tried 1 U and twisted the plunger a little
To let a few drops out
+4 - 209

5-20-19 Monday
9:00 PMPS. 279
Do you think I should try giving 1.05 Units@MrWorfMen'sMom
Went ahead and gave 1.05 Units
+2.05 - 197
 
Last edited:
Diane, I am working on getting all of your readings plotted on a spreadsheet so we can "see" the pattern. While I think Tyler may need a bit more insulin, I think the 1u with a couple drops pushed out to make it a "skinny" 1.0u dose would be the best way to go. I'd be very careful about suddenly upping the dose to 1.5u and reacting to one reading. Too much insulin can also look like too little and with the low readings Tyler got before, that he is now eating only LC food and it appears his pancreas is at times sputtering into action, I think it would be prudent to increase the dose slowly, systematically and hold doses for a few cycles before making decisions to increase. Obviously if he starts seeing lower numbers again, decreases can be done as needed.
 
Diane, I am working on getting all of your readings plotted on a spreadsheet so we can "see" the pattern. While I think Tyler may need a bit more insulin, I think the 1u with a couple drops pushed out to make it a "skinny" 1.0u dose would be the best way to go. I'd be very careful about suddenly upping the dose to 1.5u and reacting to one reading. Too much insulin can also look like too little and with the low readings Tyler got before, that he is now eating only LC food and it appears his pancreas is at times sputtering into action, I think it would be prudent to increase the dose slowly, systematically and hold doses for a few cycles before making decisions to increase. Obviously if he starts seeing lower numbers again, decreases can be done as needed.
Hey Linda, Thank you, today for Tyler
5-21-19 Tuesday
9:00 AMPS. - 202 .What do you think I should give, sorry
I feel like a real pain in the you know what
I will be ready to shoot at 10:30 am, or maybe I should
just skip the dose since it's only 202
Decided to skip the dose this morning, hope I did
the right thing
5-21-19
9:00 AMPS 202. Did not shoot
9:00 PMPS 274 Going to give 1.0 Units, a skinny
 
Last edited:
Sorry....just seeing this now. He's right on the cusp so skipping today is fine. Once I get his readings plotted on the spreadsheet, we can decide next steps as his numbers do need to come down. He's not real high by any means but it looks like we can get him down more.
Curiosity.... is your tablet an Android? If so what version of android are you running? You can check it in the settings.
 
Sorry....just seeing this now. He's right on the cusp so skipping today is fine. Once I get his readings plotted on the spreadsheet, we can decide next steps as his numbers do need to come down. He's not real high by any means but it looks like we can get him down more.
Curiosity.... is your tablet an Android? If so what version of android are you running? You can check it in the settings.
Yes it's an Android, version 4.2.2
 
Yes it's an Android, version 4.2.2
Tonight was
5-21-19 Tuesday
9:00 PMPS 274 going to give the 1.0 units skinny


5-22-19 Wednesday
9:00 AMPS 225. Will give a skinny 1.0 u



5-23-19 Thursday
9:30 AMPS - 219 did not shoot
9:30 PMPS - 197 did not shoot @MrWorfMen's Mom

5-24-19 Friday
9:00 AMPS - 128 @MrWorfMen's Mom yeah no insulin
9:00 PMPS - 215 this was short lived I guess I will give a skinny 0.5 what
do you think @MrWorfMen's Mom
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top