Another update: AM+5 BG 77. Update PMPS 155. Test at AM+5 hour, got 59; retest, got 67

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Liang & Nathan, Jun 5, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Liang & Nathan

    Liang & Nathan Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    Hello all,

    Today I tested Nathan at AM +5 hour and got a reading 59. We then tested on the other ear again and got a reading 67. So no need to worry about the low blood sugar issue, right?

    We fed him some canned food right after the testing.

    I will reduce 0.25u again.

    Thank you all.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  2. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    :D :D :D :D

    I'd keep testing and get a +6 (+5.5 if you are nervous). It's the middle of the cycle so the insulin will start to fade soon, but you aren't there yet. He could still go down a bit.

    Nice numbers, though!
     
  3. Liang & Nathan

    Liang & Nathan Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    Thank you. I actually planned to test at +7 hour.

    I just fed him 1 oz canned food.

    If I test at +6 hour (1 hour from now), will the food have a big impact on the BG?
     
  4. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Are you trying to keep a 2hr food-free window before tests? You don't need to do that any time other than pre-shots. The rest of the time you can just feed and test whenever you want.
     
  5. Liang & Nathan

    Liang & Nathan Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    Also would somebody like to look at Nathan's SS? @Deb & Wink

    It seems in the AM cycle, his BG drops very fast, usually more than 200 in 4-5 hours.

    Is there possible risk when BG drops too fast? and why BG drops so fast in the AM cycle?

    But in the PM cycle, his BG ususally drops around 100 in 4 hours.
     
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2020
  6. Liang & Nathan

    Liang & Nathan Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    OK, got it. Will test at +6.
     
  7. Liang & Nathan

    Liang & Nathan Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    Just tested at +6, got 93 :)
     
  8. Liang & Nathan

    Liang & Nathan Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    PMPS test 155. Will stall 30 minutes and retest.

    My question is: if retest reading >200, I will shoot 0.75u.

    However, what if retest reading <200, what a token dose should be?

    Thanks a lot.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  9. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Wonder if you're seeing the effects of the removal of the last dry food?
     
  10. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    I am not a ProZinc person, but I think I would go conservative here. Nathan wasn't dangerously low today, but with the recent food change, you want to be cautious on dose.
     
  11. Liang & Nathan

    Liang & Nathan Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    Yes I believe removal of dry food has a huge impact on BG.

    So would you suggest me to skip his PM dose if retest reading is less than 200?

    And if the retest reading is more than 200, then give him 0.75u?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  12. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Or a very small dose, like 0.25U.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  13. FrostD

    FrostD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    I'm having same thing happen, but on Vetsulin. Looking at your SS and how low he goes, I agree with Nan. I've been giving 1/3-1/2 dose when he's around 200 (but again, Vetsulin)
     
  14. Liang & Nathan

    Liang & Nathan Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    Stalled 30 minutes and retested, got 139.

    I don't think BG is dropping, but the lower BG may be due to testing variance.

    But BG is certainly not raising.

    So I will skip the PM shot today.

    Tomorrow morning give him 0.75u if BG >200.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  15. Liang & Nathan

    Liang & Nathan Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    Thank you. The retest reading is still low. Will skip the PM shot.
     
  16. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Goodness! He seems to have decided that he likes these numbers!!! Go Nathan!
     
  17. Liang & Nathan

    Liang & Nathan Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    Look, Nathan with neighbor's outdoor cat.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Ha! He's looking up like, "excuse me, we're having a private conversation here". So cute!
     
  19. Liang & Nathan

    Liang & Nathan Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    Update again.

    Yesterday evening shot was skipped. After 4 hours, BG was 249.

    Today AMPS BG was 313, and I gave him 0.75u.

    Just tested +5, BG was 77.

    So another 0.25u reduction? I should give him 0.5u this evening if PMPS >200?
     
  20. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Yes, reduce to 0.5U. He might be letting you know he doesn't need as much insulin now that the dry food is gone :).
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page