ASAP dosing advise.

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by JenaThompson, Sep 16, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JenaThompson

    JenaThompson Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2020
    Just tested for amps and he’s at 100. Do I shoot a reduced dose. We are stalling now.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  2. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I cannot give dosing advice looking for help now
     
  3. JenaThompson

    JenaThompson Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2020
    Thank you. Not sure who to tag to help
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  4. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
  5. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    There was an all nighter last night with a hypo
     
  6. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
  7. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Are you home all day?
     
  8. JenaThompson

    JenaThompson Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2020
    Yea I am.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  9. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I would skip if you cant monitor during the day
     
  10. JenaThompson

    JenaThompson Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2020
    I will be here all day. But I worried about giving him the full dose. This is the lowest his amps have ever been.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  11. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I think stall.
     
  12. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    yeah I would be too
     
  13. JenaThompson

    JenaThompson Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2020
    It’s been about 20 mins so I’ll test again in a bit and hopefully they have gone up some
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  14. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    better too high for a day than too low for a minuet.
     
    Panic likes this.
  15. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
  16. JenaThompson

    JenaThompson Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2020
    That’s what I was thinking. I’ve never had to skip a dose since being on prozinc.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  17. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I keep getting error messages so if I disappear its cause I cant post but I CAN PM you
     
    JenaThompson likes this.
  18. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    i hate to just skip but considering the situation I think you'd better
     
    JenaThompson likes this.
  19. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    lets see the next test
     
  20. JenaThompson

    JenaThompson Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2020
    Just checked we are at 112 after 20 mins. Starting to feel much better now.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  21. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    100-112 effectively the same number
     
  22. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    BUT def better
     
    JenaThompson likes this.
  23. JenaThompson

    JenaThompson Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2020
    I’m just glad it’s going up.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  24. JenaThompson

    JenaThompson Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2020
    Yesterday he got a skinny dose at 116. Which is what I’ll give him today and then monitor him all day.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  25. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    OK But stay on top of it . Do you have High Carb food and karo or honey?
     
  26. JenaThompson

    JenaThompson Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2020
    he is eating now. Couldn’t wait any longer he was standing by his dish doing his puking thing. He thinks he’s starving so he walks around dry heaving.
     
    symian277 likes this.
  27. JenaThompson

    JenaThompson Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2020
    Absolutely we always keep it on hand after our bad hypo experience.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  28. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    HOW LONG AGO WAS THAT???
     
  29. JenaThompson

    JenaThompson Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2020
    I will actually just give him a half to make sure and still watch him.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  30. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    oops caps
     
    JenaThompson likes this.
  31. JenaThompson

    JenaThompson Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2020
    In March.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  32. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I feel more comfortable with that. Cats that have hypoed can be VERY sensitive to insulin
     
  33. JenaThompson

    JenaThompson Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2020
    I was following vets advise we were on vetsulin and
    She had him on 7 units 2x a day.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  34. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Ahhh ok
     
    JenaThompson likes this.
  35. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    :eek:
     
  36. JenaThompson

    JenaThompson Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2020
    Got some stuff to get done around the house. I will update later to make sure he’s doing good. Thank you for helping us out.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  37. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    are you getting error messages?
     
  38. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Ok for whatever help I was lol
     
  39. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Hi Elizabeth :p
     
    Panic likes this.
  40. JenaThompson

    JenaThompson Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2020
    I haven’t been getting error messages I do everything on my phone though. And you did help. I was kind of panicking. It def helps having someone to talk to
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  41. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    ;) glad i could help
     
    JenaThompson likes this.
  42. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Opi has earned a reduction several times over now - you do not want a cat to drop below 90 on Vetsulin and he has multiple times without a reduction. Do keep him at 0.25u, that is his new full dose.

    Tagging @Deb & Wink for later tonight when she's online. His numbers are looking good so I hope he'll be ready for an off the juice trial soon.

    Can you start getting more mid-cycles in? I know you can today but in general too.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  43. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    THANK YOU ELIZABETH!!!
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  44. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I know Deb was up all night wit Kitty Cat
     
  45. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Okay sorry I thought I saw above he was on Vetsulin, I feel a little better now haha! My advice still stands though. ;)

    Hi Jeanne! Great job this morning!
     
  46. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    lol sure woke me up
     
  47. JenaThompson

    JenaThompson Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2020
    yes I can. We are on prozinc now. We have just been super busy lately and out of town a bunch so he’s had a pet sitter a couple times.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  48. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Okay great. Get a +2 today for sure. If he goes under 90 again that's another reduction but since we're getting sooo close to lower dosing numbers you might have to wait for Deb's advice on reducing again. Not sure if you would go straight to .10u or hold it a bit longer etc. You do have a hypo kit with gravy food as a back-up right? :)
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  49. JenaThompson

    JenaThompson Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2020
    Yes I have a kit. No gravy food but I have some of his old kibble plus honey and karo. But the store is about 5 mins from me so I can go grab some today. I didn’t know about the below 90 I had posted his chart for someone to look at on the fb page and they told me I wanted him to get to those lower green number.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  50. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Kibble is good for a short hike. If you can get some LC AND HC food that would last longer.
     
  51. JenaThompson

    JenaThompson Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2020
    Will do
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  52. JenaThompson

    JenaThompson Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2020
    +2 we are sitting 99 now.
     
  53. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    You can only go lower if you're not feeding kibble, it doesn't work as fast as wet. And yes, you want some gravy cans. If Opi drops low you need wet food to pull it back up, dry takes too long to hit the system to be of much help.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  54. JenaThompson

    JenaThompson Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2020
    The only wet food he will eat is the gravy stuff and only licks the gravy. But we will be watching close today.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  55. JenaThompson

    JenaThompson Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2020
    And he’s a grazer so I leave his food out until 2 hrs before shot time. So he’s been munching a couple times already.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  56. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Okay yeah, do what you can considering his pickiness. He looks like he's coasting right now so I'd check again in a couple hours to see how he's doing. :)
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  57. JenaThompson

    JenaThompson Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2020
    Will def do that. Prob check him every 2 hrs and if he is showing signs I will test more.
     
    Panic and jt and trouble (GA) like this.
  58. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I apologize I thought dry food only last s a short while.
     
    JenaThompson likes this.
  59. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    That's karo syrup. :p Dry takes a while before hitting the system and even longer to leave it. That's why it's no good during hypo numbers.
     
  60. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    understood
     
    Panic likes this.
  61. JenaThompson

    JenaThompson Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2020
    Could this be why he has been having diarrhea too?
     
  62. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    a diet change can cause diarrhea.
     
    Panic likes this.
  63. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    If he's been on it a while and the diarrhea is new I wouldn't think so. If he just switched though, totally possible.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  64. JenaThompson

    JenaThompson Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2020
    We have been on this food for quite awhile. I’m calling today to get him an app. And checked out
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  65. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Awww poor kitty kitty...
    good luck with the vet today!
     
  66. JenaThompson

    JenaThompson Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2020
    I hope we can get in last time it was a 2 month wait. We are sitting at 81 @+4
     
  67. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    That's not bad, check in another hour or two if you can. Hopefully Deb will have advice for tonight's dose.

    2 month wait!! Better be an amazing vet clinic.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  68. JenaThompson

    JenaThompson Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2020
    Yep there will be more tests today. And he actually had an opening next week so I took it.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  69. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs


    Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy. 15% Med Carbs


    Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy. 15% Med Carbs


    Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

    A must to have these on hand, it's really only the Gravy that is full of the carbs if you ever need to bring up his BG since you said he will only lick the gravy
     
  70. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Not me. I was asleep and did not help out with any pajama parties.

    Let me take a look at the SS, and get back to you on the dose.
     
  71. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Duh jeanne:banghead: thats 2 duhs in one thread I think I need a nap
     
  72. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Sounds like it was you having a pajama party, Jeanne! :woot: I think we need a break :rolleyes:
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  73. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Ok, Optimus, using Prozinc since 8/5/20. Current dose is 0.25U. Optimus dropped below 90 mg/dL again on 9/17/20?

    Sorry, it's only 9/16/20 where I live on the east coast of the US. It's still only 9/16/20 in the mid-west time zone of the US too.

    If you could fix the spreadsheet, to reflect the correct information for the correct dates, that would be helpful. thanks.

    Yes, Optimus needs another dose reduction. Please try to measure 0.1U. You'll probably want to practice with some colored water or juice first, to measure that tiny dose.
    Are you using the U40 insulin syringes or the U100 insulin syringes and the dose conversion chart?

    Really need to see some more data for the PM cycle, to see what is going on then. Would you please try to get at least one more test each PM cycle? The +2 is a good one to get, as it can indicate the direction the BG levels are headed.
     
  74. JenaThompson

    JenaThompson Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2020
    I will get more at night. And crap I messed up and forgot August had 31 days. Ugh. I just did .25 today cuz I didn’t want to give him a full dose and we are using u40 syringes. Should I stick w the .25 since his numbers tonight were a bit higher?
     
  75. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    That's ok. I often have to look at the calendar or my cell phone to see which day of the week it is. :bookworm: When you don't work, it doesn't matter which day is Monday and which day is Thursday.;)

    NO. You should try to drop the dose to the 0.1U, since Opi earned a dose reduction by dropping below 90 mg/dL on 9/15/20 AND again today 9/16/20.

    Let's reevaluate in a couple of days at this lower dose. Well, let's reevaluate in about 6 cycles at the lower dose. I see you already went ahead and gave Optimus the 0.25U dose. Watch him closely tonight. Many cats drop lower at night, as they are more active then and using up energy (burning up glucose).
     
    JenaThompson likes this.
  76. JenaThompson

    JenaThompson Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2020
    will do. I will set a few alarms tonight so I can keep an eye on him and I’ll start w .1 in the morning. Thank you for help. These low numbers make me very nervous but also very happy for him.
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  77. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Please start a new thread in the AM, and link this old one into the top.
    Moderators get upset when threads go over 50 replies, and this one is up to 76.

    Thanks.
     
    JenaThompson likes this.
  78. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Nooo I left early and came back early. I was just following along. The real Heroes are Mogs, Elise, Kel, Elizabeth Bertie...I may be forgetting someone but THANK YOU ! You are ALL angels.
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  79. JenaThompson

    JenaThompson Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2020
    I thank you all. I haven’t had too many freak outs or panicks but when I do u guys are always here to help. I appreciate without the page my cat prob wouldn’t be here today following vet advise. I did start a new thread too.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page