Re: 1/29 Baby AMPS 315 +3 204
Nicole,
Don't feel defeated or like a failure. You are working towards the answers; maybe Baby just needs a little more time.
I have spent some time this morning analyzing Baby's SS to try to help you figure this out.
According to protocol Baby has earned a dose decreased based on her 30 last night. Although I am not sure why she would drop so low so quickly after a PMPS of over 200, especially since the day before she had a PMPS of 142 and she only dropped to 81 at +3. Is it possible that the FAT .5 dose got a little FATTER last night? Or maybe she didn't eat a very good dinner last night. There are so many factors to consider.
She did have a lower AMPS this morning than she has had in the last three days and she got her dose late, so she might have been under 300 for her AMPS had it been on time. And don't beat yourself up about this. it happened, there is nothing you can do to change it just move on, don't dwell on it.
At +3 she has already dropped more than a hundred points and she is lower today than she was yesterday at the same point.
Just looking at her SS I think her body is just really confused. On some days she has her nadir early in her cycle and on some days she has it later in her cycle. I am not sure of the factors that could be causing this, maybe amount of food or a slight fluctuation in dose, moon phases, or just being different. Again so many factors can play into this. Only you can really determine what the difference might be.
At this point I would probably wait to see where Baby goes today, and possibly resume a standard .5 dose tonight, or maybe try the FAT .5 again, as long as you will be around to monitor.
Are you working tomorrow? If not I would probably get a full cycle testing every hour if possible. I know it seems like a lot, but doing this has really opened my eyes to Sami's cycle, maybe it will do the same for you and Baby.
As for the pet sitter, I would have to agree. Having someone else, who doesn't shot insulin on a regular basis, do the shot would freak me out too. I am even nervous to let my husband give Sami her shot. Not that he can't do it if he was shown how I just feel more comfortable doing it myself.
How long will you be gone? Could you give the shot later than normal, but still within 14 hours? If you had to let the pet sitter test and shot would you be available by phone if they had questions? How soon after the shot would you be home to monitor?
I don't really know what to suggest when it comes to this. I think either way you are taking risks. I guess it were me and Sami the first option for me would be to delay her shot up to 2 hrs, and give the regular dose, and then shot at the normal time the next morning with the regular dose (depending on AMPS, and ability to monitor). Knowing that by doing this her numbers could go wonky during the subsequent days, which is exactly what happened with Sami when I was moving her shot time all around at Christmas. We had a bunch of family in town and every day there were different activities at all different times of the day. For an entire week Sami didn't get her shot on time, but then again I was also fluctuating her dose, and I was only testing twice a day, sometimes three. This was all before I came to this board.
If you couldn't be home within two hours of her regular shot time you might have to bite the bullet on this one and let the pet sitter do the testing and shooting. But I would be sure that the pet sitter has at least one, preferably more, opportunities to test and shot in your presences so you can guide them. I am sure they will be nervous either way, but at least if you are there you can reassure both the pet sitter and Baby.
I hope all this information helps you work through your dilemmas that you have to deal with in the next few days.