Baby AMPS in an hour..Dose Question what do i shoot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nicole & Baby

Very Active Member
Good morning, LL
I feel awful - I forgot to set my alarm this morning & gave Baby her injection an hour late. I am so upset with myself.
I feel defeated too - I just cannot make sense of Baby's #s she is bouncing around like a ball & I feel like giving up, but of course I will never give up. I just don’t know what to do. There is not steady surf or predicability with her #s. With her BG all over the place - I doubt she feels good at all.

WCR Baby had breakfast this morning & went back to bed & I went off to work...

Yesterday's Condo
 
Re: 1/29 Baby AMPS 315 +3 204

I was worried about you when I didn't see your post. Poor thing I guess she just needs some more LTS. She does get good results in the cycle after the insulin. Remember last night? I think that sharp drop has certainly got something to do with her AMPS number. SHe is really doing great though Nicole and you are a very loving wonderful mommabean who wants her to feel better NOW. We can all relate.

Hang in there friend, the weekend is here and she seems to do better then. Plus you can get some more good data during the day to see if her dose is good.


((((Nicole)))) :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/29 Baby AMPS 315 +3 204

(((Paige))) Thank you!
Am facing 12 hour days starting Sunday - so my weekend is shot to.

I feel defeated with Baby's #s, she is all over the board. She cannot feel good this way. There is no rhyme or reason to how her #s go. I feel like a failure - I can only imagine what is going on when I am not there.

I also am second guessing myself about having someone give her PM shots on Sunday/Monday & Tuesday I am scared they wont know how to BG test right & they will hurt her ears.. You remember how hard it is in the beginning to do that..I just want to say no PM shot for a few days..

I am praying for you & Webber… your Boy is looking really good.
 
Re: 1/29 Baby AMPS 315 +3 204

Nicole,

Don't feel defeated or like a failure. You are working towards the answers; maybe Baby just needs a little more time.

I have spent some time this morning analyzing Baby's SS to try to help you figure this out.

According to protocol Baby has earned a dose decreased based on her 30 last night. Although I am not sure why she would drop so low so quickly after a PMPS of over 200, especially since the day before she had a PMPS of 142 and she only dropped to 81 at +3. Is it possible that the FAT .5 dose got a little FATTER last night? Or maybe she didn't eat a very good dinner last night. There are so many factors to consider.

She did have a lower AMPS this morning than she has had in the last three days and she got her dose late, so she might have been under 300 for her AMPS had it been on time. And don't beat yourself up about this. it happened, there is nothing you can do to change it just move on, don't dwell on it.

At +3 she has already dropped more than a hundred points and she is lower today than she was yesterday at the same point.

Just looking at her SS I think her body is just really confused. On some days she has her nadir early in her cycle and on some days she has it later in her cycle. I am not sure of the factors that could be causing this, maybe amount of food or a slight fluctuation in dose, moon phases, or just being different. Again so many factors can play into this. Only you can really determine what the difference might be.

At this point I would probably wait to see where Baby goes today, and possibly resume a standard .5 dose tonight, or maybe try the FAT .5 again, as long as you will be around to monitor.

Are you working tomorrow? If not I would probably get a full cycle testing every hour if possible. I know it seems like a lot, but doing this has really opened my eyes to Sami's cycle, maybe it will do the same for you and Baby.

As for the pet sitter, I would have to agree. Having someone else, who doesn't shot insulin on a regular basis, do the shot would freak me out too. I am even nervous to let my husband give Sami her shot. Not that he can't do it if he was shown how I just feel more comfortable doing it myself.

How long will you be gone? Could you give the shot later than normal, but still within 14 hours? If you had to let the pet sitter test and shot would you be available by phone if they had questions? How soon after the shot would you be home to monitor?

I don't really know what to suggest when it comes to this. I think either way you are taking risks. I guess it were me and Sami the first option for me would be to delay her shot up to 2 hrs, and give the regular dose, and then shot at the normal time the next morning with the regular dose (depending on AMPS, and ability to monitor). Knowing that by doing this her numbers could go wonky during the subsequent days, which is exactly what happened with Sami when I was moving her shot time all around at Christmas. We had a bunch of family in town and every day there were different activities at all different times of the day. For an entire week Sami didn't get her shot on time, but then again I was also fluctuating her dose, and I was only testing twice a day, sometimes three. This was all before I came to this board.

If you couldn't be home within two hours of her regular shot time you might have to bite the bullet on this one and let the pet sitter do the testing and shooting. But I would be sure that the pet sitter has at least one, preferably more, opportunities to test and shot in your presences so you can guide them. I am sure they will be nervous either way, but at least if you are there you can reassure both the pet sitter and Baby.

I hope all this information helps you work through your dilemmas that you have to deal with in the next few days.
 
Re: 1/29 Baby AMPS 315 +3 204 +8 210 Question

**Question**
Beginning on Sunday (2 days from now) I have a project going live at work. I have to work 12 hour days the first 3 days & then 10 hour days the next 4 (I will work 7 Days straight) This is not normal.. I have been working on this project for 2 years & this is the efforts of those 2 years. Anyway.. I have a dilemma. I will be able to give Baby her AM Shot - but will not be home at all to monitor & will get home 3 1/2 hours after the PM Shot time. I can either:
1. Skip the PM Shot for 3 days so I know Baby is safe.
2. I have hired someone to give her, her shot & they will do it - but will shoot, feed & leave.

My concerns are this: This person is familiar with giving injections (she had a Diabetic Dog) BUT she has never BG Tested & I will teach her tomorrow when I meet her for the 1st time. The BG Part concerns me, because I know how difficult it can be in the beginning & I worry she wont do it right or she will (not intentionally) hurt Baby.
Additionally the way Baby drops, with nobody here to monitor... I am just scared.

I hate to mess up the shed & I know it will.. but I am confused on what to do.. any advice?


(((Tina))) the time you took to look at my SS & reply to me was nothing less than the very best. People like you are absolutely amazing & I feel blessed to have "met" you. It means so much to me & I thank you for your valuable input, support & words of encouragement :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/29 Baby AMPS 315 +3 204 +8 210 Question

I so wish there was someone with experience that lived close by and could help you out with this, Nicole. It's a difficult choice and not one I can advise you on, but I hope others weigh in and give you some guidance.
 
Re: 1/29 Baby AMPS 315 +3 204 +8 210 Question

Hi Nicole
I understand your stress about the petsitter as I went thorugh that over the Christmas holidays. Unlike Baby who can throw low numbers, Max was very high so I did not need to worry about Hypo.
First I recommend that you edit your first post to remove the word question and change to DPS advice. (DPS means dear pet sitter) This will draw attention to your more specfic concern.
Also I noticed that you gave Baby her shot 1 hour late. You need to consider what time you will give her shot tonight because of overlap. Too early shot is like a dose increase, too late is like a dose decrease - Sienne and Gabby are always good for that info.
Please ask that question as well.
You will get your answers before Sunday, don't worry but you must consider your PM shot today and I believe your hours are quiet early.
 
Re: 1/29 Baby AMPS 315 +3 204 +8 210 DPS & PM Shot Time Help!!

Randi, I made the changes.. thank you! Yes.. I gave the AMPS an hour late (but would like to stick to this time)
Now, what do I do about the PM Shot time? I was just going to give it to her at +12, is that Ok?
 
Re: 1/29 Baby AMPS 315 +3 204 +8 210 DPS & PM Shot Time Help!!

Nicole & Baby said:
Randi, I made the changes.. thank you! Yes.. I gave the AMPS an hour late (but would like to stick to this time)
Now, what do I do about the PM Shot time? I was just going to give it to her at +12, is that Ok

It happened to me before Nicole and I left Max at that time for a while and just last week I moved him back to where I wanted, by 15 minute increments backwards, so it took 2 days (4 shots) That would take you back to your regular time on Saturday morning which is time enough for your Sunday marathon work session.

I would prefer someone with more experience to tell you what to do for the PM tonight.
How about you change your heading again, all the numbers you have in it are making it a bit difficult to read in the sense that you have more pressing matters (keep your AMPS #) - you night want to add what time your "normal" PM shot will be so that people will have a "deadline" to get to you.
I hope this helps.
 
Re: 1/29 Baby AMPS 315 +3 204 +8 210 Question

Baby's numbers aren't actually that bad. I've seen a lot more complicated.

She can have big drops-do you free feed or set times?

Although she bounces fairly hard, this also clears quick.
I see you shot through rebound this morning and you'll decrease tonight? you need to hoot 45 minuteslater than normal as your shot was late this morning? (need to note on ss)

I'm afraid I have to question what Msairobix has said-you must NOT SHOOT 2 HOURS LATE and then shoot at your normal 12 hour time on the following shot. This is in effect giving an increase. You will create potentially serious overlap and could have a serious situation on your hands.
General rule is 15 mins either way.
I had a predictable cat and on occasion could extend-but as I say, she had a clear pattern and I knew her. I'm afraid you haven't got this with Baby.

If your worried about your petsitter and not being able to monitor you could reduce the shot she gives in the evening. Yes Babys numbers might run higher, but they will be safer numbers.In Baby's case this would be a .1u.I know barely seeable. See what others suggest. She wouldn't hypo on this amount, it's just not enough.
Petsitter could surprise you with their ability.Hard to hurt kitty if your gentle other than taking a number of attempts-much easier I'm sure if someone shows you.
Can leave food out and put in ice pucks so stays fresh for longer if don't have auto timer feeders.Used to Lucky's under a fresh pouch, by the time she'd eaten that the frozen one had defrosted.

When i put Lucky in the cattery (vets one) I always reduced her dose by quite a lot-they still on one occasion managed to O'd her!! (used wrong syringes)as they couldn't/wouldn't test her.
 
Re: 1/29 Baby AMPS 315 DPS

Thanks everyone for your valuable input. I shot her at 4am this morning & am planning on shooting her at 4pm this afternoon. I will stick to the 4am/4pm because I was working my way towards that anyway.. just wanted to do it in 15min increments instead of over sleeping & being an hour late!

**I free feed

I like the idea of having the pet sitter not give very much insulin.. that is a thought.. gosh this just seems really challening.. but will see how it all plays out!!
 
Re: 1/29 Baby AMPS 315 +3 204 +8 210 DPS & PM Shot Time Help!!

Nicole, I know the panicky feeling when the numbers just don't cooperate. I've always been advised when I have to delay Tess's shot because of dropping numbers to move the next shot back by the same amount of time, unless only 15 min.

Could this actually work to your advantage with the schedule problem? Could you adjust the shot time back to say, one hour before you leave, do a +1 before work. Would that allow you to have the sitter shoot an hour before you get home? That way there wouldn't be such a long time after the shot before you could do BG gain. I don't know how much time the commute would adds to you 12 hours or if you need to check at later than +1 for your peace of mind. Another option instead of having her skip the shot is a BCS dose, still a little screw up in the shed but not as much. :YMHUG:

I know the need to keep to a schedule. I stressed about it last week, but Tess didn't cooperate and went on her own schedule. When I gave up worrying about it (and left DH in the great hands of the board) I could breath again.

Hang in there, things will be fine. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/29 Baby AMPS 315 DPS

That is a good idea too, I could do 5am & 5pm, this would allow me to get a +1.5 before work & allow me to be home for a +2.5 after Petsitter gives the dose because I would be working 7am-7pm the first 3 days & then 7am-5pm the next 4 days. I am really liking that.. what do you all think?
 
1/29 Baby AMPS 315 +3 204 +8 210 DPS & PM Shot Time Help!!

That's cool on the new shot time (might still be worth noting that)

I like Ann's idea, if that could work for you?Hah-just went to post and you'd posted. EXCELLENT idea, think it will give you peace of mind.Just get petsitter to leave plenty of food out.If she can get preshot bg and agreement to ring you if not sure, then can decide.
Could see if someone confident in giving dosing advice in your country is willing to share cell numbers if you can't get to the board for advice (and a tolerant petsitter timewise)
Other than that would be agreeing a plan based on preshot number (harder I'd say as Baby can drop a lot.)


Free feeding is good-kitties as a general rule will feed themselves if they start going low. Leaving out more than enough food should help aleviate concerns too.


Good luck with your pet sitter :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/29 Baby AMPS 315 DPS

I like Ann's idea too Nicole. That way you are home not too long after the shot in the evening and you can monitor about +1.5 before you leave. Yay you may have a plan!!! Good luck :thumbup
 
Re: 1/29 Baby AMPS 315 DPS

Nicole & Baby said:
Randi, I made the changes.. thank you! Yes.. I gave the AMPS an hour late (but would like to stick to this time)
Now, what do I do about the PM Shot time? I was just going to give it to her at +12, is that Ok

Nicole, I'm glad that you got that pretty much settled for now. I am sorry that I misunderstood you earlier about when you were going to give the PM shot today. I thought you liked the time you were at now (before the sleep-in) and were going to do +12 from that time. Not the new time you ended up shooting and wanted to go back.
I hope I did not confuse you but from what I can see, you ended up shooting at 5am so now you are sticking to 5&5 instead of 4&4, so you're good.
 
Re: 1/29 Baby PMPS 154

Randi & Max.. no worries about possibly confusing me, you were being helpful & did not know.. somtimes it is challenging to communicate thru typing ;-)

**Shot given at 4:15am/4:15pm & we will work up to 5am/5pm for Sunday (in 15min increments)
***Did not give a Fat .50 Dose, am sticking with .50 after last night & really for the next week - with my work schedule I am not comfortable increasing even if she runs a little high, but am praying for a blessed cycle, because bouncing cannot make her feel good.

:YMHUG: Thank you for everyone who comments, cares, shares knowledge & cheers us on.. while keeping me sane & Baby safe!
 
Re: 1/29 Baby PMPS 154

Lookey there at that PS!! She keeps you on yur toes :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/29 Baby PMPS 154

Yes, she does. I just feel sorry for her - she cannot feel good with the bouncing & is just acting tired today.
 
Re: 1/29 Baby PMPS 154 +1 129

I just spoke with the Petsitter & she was absolutely wonderful & comforting. 5pm on Sunday/Monday/Tuesday works for her just fine, I will teach her how to BG tomorrow & (she knows how to give injections) She is coming at Baby's shot time too. This will be our first meeting & she is coming over about 45 mins early to meet Sadi & Baby .. & to get Lantus instructions, our routine, etc. This will be good, because I will then be home by 7:30pm those evenings for a +2.5
I will ask her to call me with Baby's BG BEFORE injection & we can determine what to do together. Thank you for helping me figure this all out! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 1/29 Baby PMPS 154 +1 129 +2 56

When I know my DPS is going to be testing/shooting, I start to move towards her schedule a few days ahead, and she calls me with the test result before each shot.

You're doing great with Baby. The important thing is to provide insulin, you'll get her cycles straightened out. She is likely to feel much better just being treated than she did before you started the insulin, try to remember how much you're helping her. (( Nicole ))
 
Re: 1/29 Baby PMPS 154 +1 129 +2 56

(((Nina & KB)) Your encouraging words have helped me a lot, I have to admit I am feeling defeated.. I cannot get my mind around her sudden drops & am just sad. I feel prisoner to testing each hour in the evenings & cannot seem to find a reason why. It seems other kittys surf & she drops suddenly - then is high & so on.
Today has been a hard day.. I am testing again soon...

:dizcat
 
Re: 1/29 Baby PMPS 154 +1 129 +2 56

((((Nicole)))) don't worry about the bounces, ok? They happen, and one day they will stop happening. Look at Lucy's spreadsheet, for most of her diabetic "career" she had pink AMPS and then green during the day. Believe it or not, I felt more comfortable shooting a blue/green PS than a pink one. I knew if I shot blue she would usually surf, but if I shot pink she would often plunge. It's ok, she was fine, she never acted any differently if she was pink or green or plunging or surfing. Lucy had already been on insulin for 7 months before we came here and started LTS, so she kept bouncing for a long time. Baby is a new diabetic, so I doubt it will take her anywhere near as long to finish liver school. Hang in there!

Can you get a +2.5? This is a big drop for +2, looks like her rebound has cleared.
 
Re: 1/29 Baby PMPS 154 +1 129 +2 56

Nicole & Baby said:
(((Nina & KB)) Your encouraging words have helped me a lot, I have to admit I am feeling defeated.. I cannot get my mind around her sudden drops & am just sad. I feel prisoner to testing each hour in the evenings & cannot seem to find a reason why. It seems other kittys surf & she drops suddenly - then is high & so on.
Today has been a hard day.. I am testing again soon...

:dizcat

Nicole,
Take a look at our ss and see how much latte drops almost every a.m. in such a short time. This morning was about 200 pts in 2hrs. then she bounces from the drops in the pm's, in addition to getting her steroid (which elevates glucose)...setting us up for yet another big drop/bounce. its a double whammy bounce when she dips again before pmps.

Im not pointing this out to say, life is worse for us. Just to show you that you are NOT alone. There are actually many other's whose cats have big drops in short amounts of time. I wish I had an answer as to how to make this different. I dont, unfortunately. I think once you are on the right dose you will find more even cycles.
 
Re: 1/29 Baby PMPS 154 +1 129 +2 56 +2.5 46

(((Carolyn & Libby))) Thank you!
Tested at 2.5 & she is 46 (we dosecreased tonight too) Does this mean another Dosecrease?
Baby was fed LC constantly but is still dropping - I worry if I was not here, although food is out & she free feeds, she still came to me & sat here for me to make the "food fresh" hot water, stir, etc. Although the food was opened within 30minutes.

I have seen enough of Baby that I think her lowest part of her cycle is really +2 or +3 she really has big drops there.

Am going to test again at +3 & then I need to step out for just a few minutes to get dinner (will eat at home - just need to get some food in me)

Again, thank you.. I am just a little worn out :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/29 Baby PMPS 154 +5 82 Dose Question

Baby Dosecreased tonight from Fat .50 to .50, yet still dropped to 46.. BUT the cycle so far looks good.. do we have to dosecrease tomorrow because of under 50, or can we just maintain .50?
 
Re: 1/29 Baby PMPS 154 +5 82 Dose Question

BG Testing - funny thing started yesterday.. I free hand.. I dont use the Lancer & now Baby has found that she loves to "bat" those lancets all over the floor.. LOL.. so I make a game of it.. I bring her in the bathroom.. on the floor.. she assumes position & then I bat that lancet all around & she bats it too.. then we sit down, test & start batting again LOL
 
Re: 1/29 Baby PMPS 154 +5 82 Dose Question

How cute, make a game out of it and it isn't all tha bad. How cute!!! She sounds sooo sweet. cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 1/29 Baby PMPS 154 +5 82 Dose Question

So if I'm reading your SS correctly, you decreased from 0.75 to 0.50. You then fattened the dose and subsequently decreased back to .50 yesterday after a low of 30 last night. Baby then had a 46 this PM cycle.

I'm thinking what this means is that Baby really wanted that 0.25 decrease. That would put you at a fat 0.25. I would like to see what some of the others think but I suspect that if you keep the dose where Baby is now, she's going to keep giving you low numbers. This is earned but I understand your hesitation with not wanting to have two decreases this close together.
 
Re: 1/29 Baby PMPS 154 +5 82 Dose Question

[Quick edit: I was typing as Sienne was... she is thinking the same as I am.... regarding the reduction.]

Hi Nicole. I just read through today's and yesterday's condos and wondered how you decided to go from 0.50 fat to just a regular 0.50u?
I'm wondering because I might have gone to 0.25u after seeing that BG of 30. So far your choice seems to be working ok. But Baby went below 50 again tonight, which usually indicates a need for another reduction. If you had reduced by the normal 0.25u, she might not have gone that low. I guess it will be ok, but seeing the 46 tonight means you probably will have another low number in the next cycle. I'm not comfortable seeing her surf in the 40's and 50's. She should be a touch higher for safety.

And all your concern about her numbers on her SS not making sense. Well, they look pretty clear cut. She goes green, she bounces a little to pink then yellow as she clears it and then goes green again. All very predictable. Looks nice actually since her liver seems to be learning not to bounce too hard or for too long. I know you don't like seeing the pink, but she has only been on Lantus a month, right? In my opinion she is doing excellently, after all this is a healing process and it takes a little time. So far you are on what I consider a fast track in this process.
 
Re: 1/29 Baby PMPS 154 +5 82 Dose Question

CD - even better than that-----I think Baby has only been on Lantus for about 3 weeks :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/29 Baby PMPS 154 +5 82 Dose Question

Wow everyone! Thanks! Paige is right.. Baby has really only been on consistent shots for nearly 3 weeks. With her OD & then low #s, we were instructed to skip shots - so the SS can be misleading at first glance.

**All decisions were based on Dosing Advise from the advisors** No random decisons made on my own.
.50 given.. then raised to .75
hit a low, doscreased from .75 to .50
#s were not going down..
.50 to Fat .50
last nights low, was given the Ok to shoot Fat .50 this AM to ride any rebound out & dosecrease PMPS
Fat .50 AM shot today, .50 PM today.. got in the 40s, but like the overall cycle.

***Sienne and Gabby ... I can see where you thought that.. made it more clear on my SS about PM shot

(((CD))) Thank you.. you are absoultely correct.. I have been so upset about her SS not making sense.. too much emotion in it.. but seeing the raw data as you have.. you are correct.. greens, bounce to pink/yellow green again.. it is very predictable... thank you for pointing this out

Sounds like we should be under .50 still? Thanks again!
 
Sienne had mentioned earlier about shooting a .25 skinny this AM..
Does that sound good to you!
Looks like from her beautiful green numbers today that she is ready for a dosecrease :mrgreen:

Congrats! She is doing very well..
 
I just reread...it looks like she Sienne said a fat .25 ... i will shoot that .... just hope thats enough for her higher am cycle...thank u for your help this morning
 
Nicole & Baby said:
Yikes.. AMPS is 360, still go with the Fat .25?

Wow! looks like you had a great night until this morning. I can't really help you with your decision this morning. Still waking up. I hope someone else is around to help. I check back in with you later to see how it goes.

Sami has been on the rebound all night too.
 
Thanks, Tina! Actually.. I am not too thrown off with the AMPS #, she is having those..but clearing them quick (fingers & paws crossed)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top