? BG 81, should I be worried tonight?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Happy to announce that I think marmalades scratching was Due to flavors of beef feast and the seafood delight varieties of fancy feast, changed to just chicken feast and turkey and giblets he shows no signs of scratching. Even though I wasn’t available to give him insulin last night his number was pretty good this morning. Nothing confirmed just what i think

Now I noticed him scooting on his butt when he left the litter box a little while ago. I changed litter a couple of days ago and his poops look normal with no obvious parasites, any thoughts are welcomed.
 
Last edited:
woild feedingmhim too much cause him to scoot butt on floor? I know that it could also be due to his anal glands or change of litter, so many possibilities.
 
The reduction to 1.5U looks good. That may be the best dose.

For butt scooting, it's from an itchy butt or anal glands. Leo does it too, and it all occurred before any other health issues, and during a variety of food. You can "express" the anal glands yourself. I never have. We had the vet do it a few times when he seemed to be doing it a lot. Both of the following are non-Xmas topics:
- butt scooting
- expressing anal glands
:D:eek:
 
Intestinal parasites like tapeworms can cause the butt scoots. That was not Leo's issue though.
 
In your case did the butt scooting get resolved in time, this is the first time if noticed marmalade doing this, post is for jeff
 
Last edited:
I just changed cat litter could that cause butt scooting?
I suppose it's possible if the new litter is causing some sort of sensitivity reaction. A couple of years ago I bought a different type of litter once and two of my three started to have itchy feet right after. When I went back to their usual stuff the itching stopped.
 
I doubt the litter change would affect him that way, but who knows. For Leo, he has been doing it since he was about 5 years old. And now he is 12. He goes thru cycles.

We had our whole house tiled, with epoxy grout for the cracks. Expensive. But impermeable to all fluids and rear end juice. Whenever we see a streak, or we see him doing it - it is cleaning time for the floor, then Leo (with warm water, paper towel).
 
I doubt the litter change would affect him that way, but who knows. For Leo, he has been doing it since he was about 5 years old. And now he is 12. He goes thru cycles.

We had our whole house tiled, with epoxy grout for the cracks. Expensive. But impermeable to all fluids and rear end juice. Whenever we see a streak, or we see him doing it - it is cleaning time for the floor, then Leo (with warm water, paper towel).
Hummmm
 
We mix water into all fancy feast classics. We make the food have enough water to create a breakfast mush consistency. Our cats don't have bowel issues in that regard.
 
I think I’ll try that, thanks for the insight. I was wondering because his stools were very hard
 
Last edited:
Lots of people mix in pumpkin - it has fiber, and some cats like it. If you try pumpkin, it should have no additives...just pumpkin.
 
Yes, I add warm water to all of Teasel's wet food meals. In the past he had many bouts of (often sterile) cystitis and since he's been eating "stew" he's been fine. I think all the extra FD attention has helped too because I'm sure in his case stress was a factor.
 
Yikes, please refer to SS. Marmalades BG was 22 at 6p. Added some karosyruo to his food. Can anyone offer any insight as to why it dropped that low. The last time it dropped it got down to 81. I didn’t check his BG after 9a this morning because it has been going up by his PMPS. Would this be a hypo?

* added half teaspoon of karo, should I give him more than that?
*Any suggestions or insight is welcomed
 
Last edited:
if this happens again, would it be better to feed him the turkey and gravy vs the karo syrup. I always forget that is a good option as I immediately go into panick. Marmalade didn’t do anything different, slept for most of the day which he does sometimes
 
Now it’s 315, went from 22 at 6p gave him 1 can of food plus the karo, now he is 315 half an hour later, should I give insulin still per janet’s guidelines
 
Most likely that 22 was a false reading. Did you take a second reading? Karo will raise bg, but not 300 points. If you ever get a weird unexpected number like that, immediately take a second reading to confirm. Sometimes if the blood drop is too small it will read low.
 
Most likely that 22 was a false reading. Did you take a second reading? Karo will raise bg, but not 300 points. If you ever get a weird unexpected number like that, immediately take a second reading to confirm. Sometimes if the blood drop is too small it will read low.
Thanks for getting back to me janet, yes here is what I have so far
6p-BG 22 , lots of food, and kar
6:22- BG 315
7:22- BG 345

* can I still give him his 1.75 units or did I miss my window
 
Thanks for getting back to me janet, yes here is what I have so far
6p-BG 22 , lots of food, and kar
6:22- BG 315
7:22- BG 345

* can I still give him his 1.75 units or did I miss my window
You can do it as long as you will be able to shoot tomorrow at 11.5-12 hours
 
Sorry I missed this, just returned from family xmas. As usual, I agree with Janet. If you ever suspect a hypo, test twice. Kudos to you for being ready for the hypo, and for the immediate followup testing.
 
Those are some very nice blues, giving Marmalade a break from all the high numbers just a couple of weeks ago.
 
Thank u Jeff for your support, I really needed that, had a very upsetting christmas
Awesome! Your number is close to 200. How would you feel about giving a small 0.5 dose to keep it from going up too much tomorrow? Or are you too nervous for that?
 
Awesome! Your number is close to 200. How would you feel about giving a small 0.5 dose to keep it from going up too much tomorrow? Or are you too nervous for that?
When should I give him a 0.5 dose? I have to work from 9a- 3p, would that be pushing it since I can’t test him throughout the day
 
I ment a small dose tonight.... So it's not too high tomorrow morning. It's OK if you skipped though.
Around what time tonight? Being I have to work all day tomorrow would he be alright as I won’t be able to test him throughout the day. Should I give him 1/2 can of fancy feast with that dose?

* I just checked out your video, it’s nice to meet u
 
Around what time tonight? Being I have to work all day tomorrow would he be alright as I won’t be able to test him throughout the day. Should I give him 1/2 can of fancy feast with that dose?

* I just checked out your video, it’s nice to meet u
If I decide to dose, what time? With food?
 
I ment a small dose tonight.... So it's not too high tomorrow morning. It's OK if you skipped though.
BG 356, should i still give small dose if 0.5? I don’t mind if it goes up but this is ridiculous. Also gave 1/2 can of fancy feast
 
Last edited:
"had a very upsetting christmas"
Yeah, I've had plenty of those. Ya know with cats - they only give affection and cuddles. I guess there may be some good humans around too :) In fact, most of them are on this forum :joyful:

Do not dose now, it's too late. I do not move the dose time more than 60-80 minutes.

Remember there is a 20% variance in all readings. So 192 is pretty close to 200. You could do a .25 or 0.5 reduced dose if you are worried. Marmalade might be like Leo. On many morning doses, Leo's nadir starts at AMPS+8 and runs thru AMPS+14 (into PM). So if he is close to 200, he gets his night dose. Since he eats less at night, he doesn't need as much insulin.

Don't copy Leo's dosing:
Leo AM 4.5 Units
Leo PM 3.0 Units

Thanks for keeping up your spreadsheet, it is helpful.
.
 
"had a very upsetting christmas"
Yeah, I've had plenty of those. Ya know with cats - they only give affection and cuddles. I guess there may be some good humans around too :) In fact, most of them are on this forum :joyful:

Do not dose now, it's too late. I do not move the dose time more than 60-80 minutes.

Remember there is a 20% variance in all readings. So 192 is pretty close to 200. You could do a .25 or 0.5 reduced dose if you are worried. Marmalade might be like Leo. On many morning doses, Leo's nadir starts at AMPS+8 and runs thru AMPS+14 (into PM). So if he is close to 200, he gets his night dose. Since he eats less at night, he doesn't need as much insulin.

Don't copy Leo's dosing:
Leo AM 4.5 Units
Leo PM 3.0 Units

Thanks for keeping up your spreadsheet, it is helpful.
.
So it’s most likely going to be even higher tomorrow AMPS?
 
Yes, that probably is the case. Please consider switching to one of the depot insulins (Lantus, Levemir, Prozinc). Dosing is easier, and the effects on Marmalade level out over multiple cycles.

This thread is long, but I don't think it was discussed yet.
Vetsulin is "harsh". Onset is almost immediate, and it has almost no lasting effects past 12 hours.
Depot insulins form a "depot", and slowly dissolves into the body. So the onset is gentle, with a peak effect at nadir. And there is an overlap past 12 hours.
 
I would wait a few more weeks. The vetsulin is working for now. If by the time it's time to replace your vial you would like a change, switch then.
Janet I was at 303 this morning, should we make any changes in sliding scale? Just wondering what your thoughts are? I am also wondering if we should change/ add more units at PMPS?
 
Janet I was at 303 this morning, should we make any changes in sliding scale? Just wondering what your thoughts are? I am also wondering if we should change/ add more units at PMPS?
Ok let's tweak it now that you have more data. See how it works and reevaluate as needed.

120-140: 0.25u if you can monitor
140-175: 0.5u if you can monitor
175-200: 0.75 if you can monitor
200-225:1
225-275:1.5u
275-300: 1.75u
300-375 2u
375+: 2.25
 
Ok let's tweak it now that you have more data. See how it works and reevaluate as needed.

120-140: 0.25u if you can monitor
140-175: 0.5u if you can monitor
175-200: 0.75 if you can monitor
200-225:1
225-275:1.5u
275-300: 1.75u
300-375 2u
375+: 2.25
Good morning janet, just took marmalades BG, see SS, should we still do the revisions. It seems that the previous parameters worked best for the am, just had to ask per latest numbers. I’m not doubting u I am just having more questions as I go on
 
Good morning janet, just took marmalades BG, see SS, should we still do the revisions. It seems that the previous parameters worked best for the am, just had to ask per latest numbers. I’m not doubting u I am just having more questions as I go on
OK then feel free to stick to the old chart. Its good you doubt me.... questioning is good. You are correct, 1.75 seems to be just right for 303. so stick to the old chart, but maybe just add in some of those lower end numbers and a higher end number. what does everyone think of :
120-140: 0.25u if you can monitor
140-175: 0.5u if you can monitor
175-200: 0.75-1 if you can monitor
200-250:1.25
250-280:1.5u
280-320: 1.75u
320-375 2u
375+: 2.25
 
Last edited:
OK then feel free to stick to the old chart. Its good you doubt me.... questioning is good. You are correct, 1.75 seems to be just right for 303. so stick to the old chart, but maybe just add in some of those lower end numbers and a higher end number. what does everyone think of :
120-140: 0.25u if you can monitor
140-175: 0.5u if you can monitor
175-200: 0.75 if you can monitor
200-250:1
250-280:1.5u
280-320: 1.75u
320-375 2u
375+: 2.25
Janet what do u think about changing the parameters for the PMPS ? Do umthink by the data that this seems to be marmalades peak times. I would like to get some numbers throughout the night but it is hard with having to get up for work in the am. Maybe I’d we change the parameters in the PMPS his numbers will be in the 200’s at the AMPS?

I can’t figure him out to save my life st this point. The more these numbers are all over the place the more I feel defeated
 
Last edited:
Janet what do u think about changing the parameters for the PMPS ? Do umthink by the data that this seems to be marmalades peak times. I would like to get some numbers throughout the night but it is hard with having to get up for work in the am. Maybe I’d we change the parameters in the PMPS his numbers will be in the 200’s at the AMPS?
the last few days the pm numbers have been odd... You haven't dosed 3 out of 6 of the days. another one of those days you got a weird reading and then underdosed to be safe. Lets give it a few more days, keep to the chart being sure to dose a little at those lower numbers that were skipped and see what happens. then you can decided if you need to change the dosing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top