BG PS this morning 151, stalled 150, stalled 126 1H later. What should I do?

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Mathilda and Maverick, Feb 20, 2021.

  1. Mathilda and Maverick

    Mathilda and Maverick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2020
    Maverick has been very high lately. Tonight he was pretty low and this morning his BG been 111, 133, 151 (PS) so I stalled about 30 min with no changes. Now 1H later the BG has gone down to 126. Do I stall longer, feed and give him 1/2 dose, or skip? He is prone to ketones, and he is really stressed now wanting food. I'm also due with a baby anytime and worried I'd have to leave him with a sitter when his numbers are so fluctuating. TIA!
     
  2. Pamela & Amethyst

    Pamela & Amethyst Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
  3. Hercule's mum

    Hercule's mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2020
    Ok, I am the last person that should be giving you advice... but if no one answers in time for you I don't want you to get too stressed waiting.

    If it was my cat I would go with half dose (if you have high carb food around). The PS values is certainly lower than usual, but you haven't see really dangerous values for a while in this dose, so I would guess (if it was my cat) that half would be safe. keep monitoring, If you are out the door to have the baby leave high carb food.
     
  4. Hercule's mum

    Hercule's mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2020
  5. Mathilda and Maverick

    Mathilda and Maverick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2020
    Thank you, thats what I'm leading towards- I just rechecked and he's up in 151 again. He did just get a new med so I wonder if that started to kick in and affect the BG. He just has so much going on
     
  6. Mathilda and Maverick

    Mathilda and Maverick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2020
    He went up to 151 again, but is now down to 143. I did feed him and consider giving him 1/2 dose
     
  7. Pamela & Amethyst

    Pamela & Amethyst Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    I am not really comfortable giving advice BUT the saying here is a day too high is much safer than a minute too low. I would not want him to start to drop and you be unable to stop it Good Luck! If it were Amethyst I would not shoot but Amethyst is an ACROCAT and very unpredictable I just I am always over cautious with her:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  8. Mathilda and Maverick

    Mathilda and Maverick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2020
    Thank you! Yeah, I'm really not sure if to give him just 0.25-0.5U (normal is 1.75U) or skip. He has been very high recently and is very prone to ketones so that is also always a concern. When he is low, he normally bounce though. I have no idea what's going on now and it worries me as he just got a new med also if that may have something to do with it.
     
  9. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    He will continue to dip without food. If you can monitor him, you should shoot. You have shot similar numbers recently.

    Can you monitor him? Do you have strips and HC food? With ketones in the picture a skip is not an option.
     
  10. Mathilda and Maverick

    Mathilda and Maverick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2020
    I just fed him! I've shot mid-high 180s before after stalling and numbers gone up. I feel this time is different as he decreased after stalling rather than going up in numbers and hes over 40pst lower now than what I've ever shot before
    . I can monitor him as long as I do not go into labor so thats the big concern to potentially having to leave him to someone not familiar with this- even though she'll test.
     
  11. Mathilda and Maverick

    Mathilda and Maverick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2020
    Would I be a bad idea to shoot only part of the dose?
     
  12. Mathilda and Maverick

    Mathilda and Maverick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2020
    I can monitor him, and will as long as I do not have to go to the hospital. I have my mother in-law here sitting pets and toddler, she's a nurse but not used to cats and much less diabetic cats, she will take instructions though. It's just stressful though. I do have the whole hypo kit. Would giving part the dose still be bad as I am worried for ketones?
     
  13. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    You can, but the first part of the cycle could play out the same way due to the depot.
    Some insulin is better than no insulin though.

    Are you following SLGS or TR?
     
  14. Mathilda and Maverick

    Mathilda and Maverick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2020
    I'm not sure I understand- first part of the cycle can continue decrease or increase?
    I tried to do TR, but wouldn't work with my vet and all other things Maverick has going on with meds and health issues- we are still trying to figure out his exact underlying health problems, so I am unfortunately not following any protocol now. I know that's not ideal.
     
  15. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Because of the depot, the first part of the cycle will behave just like it would if you shot him the full dose.
     
  16. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Could she become a member?
    Then you can give birth with peace in mind.
     
    Mathilda and Maverick likes this.
  17. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    She doesn’t need to become a member. Have her log in using your info. Is the Libre in place? Will she be able to get readings? If so you could shoot and we can guide her. Not shooting with DKA and health issues is risky.
     
    SashaV likes this.
  18. Mathilda and Maverick

    Mathilda and Maverick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2020
    Thank you for all your help! I gave him part of the dose and will (fingers crossed I'd be home all day) monitor him closely, especially second part of the cycle.
     
  19. Mathilda and Maverick

    Mathilda and Maverick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2020
    Thank you, thats a good idea. Unfortunately we do not have the libra now, but she is good with pricking for readings. He's on 1.75U and I ended up giving him .75U so I'm hoping that's ok!
     
  20. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    So teach her how to test so you will have peace of mind. We will help her when she takes over.
     
    Mathilda and Maverick likes this.
  21. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Can you get a ketone check today? Also for your peace of mind. :bighug:
     
  22. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    You shot really late so the next dose needs to be no sooner than +11.5.
     
  23. Mathilda and Maverick

    Mathilda and Maverick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2020
    Yes, I will do my best to get the ketones tested- he's been super sneaky peeing lately so hopefully I can get some today :) I'm about to write a schedule for her to check as the times will be different from now until we can get back to the normal schedule 30min/day. Thank you!
     
  24. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Sorry I was too late to help out, but you got good support here. A partial dose was fine, especially since he was going up from his low point.

    I did TR with Neko, who had chronic kidney disease, heart disease, small cell lymphoma and a counter full of meds. :rolleyes: It can be done. Given that you may be disappearing for a bit, might be best if we just say you are following SLGS until things settle down. That will allow us to give you better suggestions until things settle down at home. :bighug:
     
  25. Mathilda and Maverick

    Mathilda and Maverick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2020
    Thank you, he's been high all day, but no ketones so I think he's good- will keep on checking on him though as he's all over. I'm just very nervous leaving him for a couple of days.
    That sounds like a good idea, I just had him for the first time at the internist specialist and it's just too many moving pieces in trying meds and food to diagnose him and stress (for both him and me) soon with a new baby to do TR right now. I will reed up better on the SLGS protocol!
     

Share This Page