Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
  2. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    That could be why he’s higher. I hope the vet gives him something for that and the civvie’s leg is nothing to worry about.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  3. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Bless you, Blue! (((Blue)))

    Hope he feels better soon, Patty, and that the vetty bean can help with your civvie's leg. Be sure to let us know how you get.

    :bighug:


    Mogs
    .
     
  4. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    He's at 122 now. It's 12:30 and his appt. isn't until 3 so we'll leave at 2:30. I'm thinking maybe I should check him one more time before we leave.
     
  5. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Yes do. Some go higher at the vet like Max but others go lower.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  6. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    He's at 51 now. I'm feeding him some higher carb food. :arghh:
     
  7. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Oh my. I leave for awhile I look what happens. Retest in 20-30 minutes.
     
  8. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    I can't retest until I get back from vet, but they'll probably test him here. I'm waiting in the car now.
    Will update soon.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  9. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
  10. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Still at the vet. They tested him and he's at 88. They're sending out a blood sample to test his levels. I'm not sure of the name of the test but I've seen it here. The vet loves the charting!!!
     
  11. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Fructosamine. You have testing real time so not really needed but at least they know we are giving good advice. It gives an average over the last few weeks.
     
  12. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Yes, that's the test to check his average over the last 3 weeks. She was happy with everything you have advised me. She thinks he might eventually go into remission but clearly needs insulin due to the 500 numbers he's showing. I'm starting him on Azithromycin and Famciclovir for his congestion. Poor baby. He's eating right now, and I'll get another test in an hour or two. Sound good or you think sooner?

    LOVED the SS so I was happy she was so into it. Makes me think she's willing to work with me on treatment.
     
  13. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    All good news. Sounds good. I’m going out but will check back when I return in 3-4 hours.
     
  14. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Ooh, I certainly hope so. Great that you got such a positive response from her today. :)

    @tiffmaxee - Dose reduction again? Wonder whether the respiratory tract issue might be affecting numbers.


    Mogs
    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  15. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Patty, what time EDT is your next dose due? Today's low signals a dose reduction is needed again. I'd like to get Elise's suggestions if she comes on before your next dose is due.

    If you don't hear to the contrary, I suggest you reduce the dose by 0.25IU, in line with FDMB Lantus SLGS guidelines (dose reduction if BG drops below 90mg/dL on a human meter).


    Mogs
    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  16. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    It's at 195 now. I can reduce it down but .50 didn't seem to lower his BG very much. Doesn't the dry food have something to do with it? I stopped feeding him dry about 6 days ago. I'll do whatever is suggested. He's not due for his shot until 9:15 and it's 5:45 here.
     
  17. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Yes. Reduction for falling under 90. Congrats.with the infection and antibiotics I would take it.
     
  18. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Agree.

    Patty, sometimes when an infection clears BGs can improve unexpectedly. The lower dose should give you a buffer at nadir time. The dose can always be increased later if the reduction doesn't hold (disappointing when they don't hold, but safety comes first).


    Mogs
    .
     
  19. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    OK I dont get to say this very often ...KEEPER VET!
     
  20. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
     
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2020
  21. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    He's back in the pink at PMPS 311. He's eating and I just gave him .5 units.
     
  22. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    I noticed Blue has very dry skin suddenly. He has never had dandruff before. I'm thinking it could have something to do with being diabetic?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  23. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Max had dandruff once diabetic as well but never before. It ne Er improved even when he was tightly controlled. How’s the limping kitty?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  24. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Layla got an injection for inflammation started on medicine and pain meds. If she doesn't clear up I’ll have an x-ray done to see if we're dealing with an injury or arthritis. Treatment was basically the same. I am getting confused about when to give medicines. Pet hospital at my house!

    So you didn't find anything to help dandruff?
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  25. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I tried omega 3 but didn’t help.
     
  26. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Oh, I hate that. Blue has the silkiest fur of any cat I've ever had. His ears are like touching velvet. I've noticed a change but didn't see dandruff until I bushed him tonight. That makes me sad.

    I'll be tested him again soon.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  27. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    He's at 274 +2...we gave less but you think he's okay if I go to bed?
     
  28. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Same with his look alike Mocha.
     
  29. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Yes. Tomorrow will come soon enough. Get some sleep. Good night.
     
  30. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Good night and thanks for being here for us.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  31. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Make a log for each cat post them on the fridge color code med bottles (or whatever ) to each cat and log
     
  32. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Very good tips, Jeanne.


    Mogs
    .
     
  33. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    :bighug:

    Poor hair coat condition is a hallmark clinical sign of feline diabetes. Hopefully when Blue gradually starts spending more time in better numbers the dander problem will clear up. (Elise, I'm sorry it didn't in Max's case. :( )


    Mogs
    .
     
  34. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    All OK with you guys?

    :bighug:


    Mogs
    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  35. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Pls ignore the above. Found today's thread. :)


    Mogs
    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page