Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/bluebird-468-amps-10-18.237080/

    Morning,

    Blue is the same this morning as yesterday morning so at least that's consistent.
    468 AMPS and we'll see if it drops as fast as it did yesterday.

    I started thinking about that APMS 634 number on the 14th at the vet. I gave Blue .5 on the morning of the 13th but I'm pretty sure he didn't get his evening shot. In fact, that's probably why they decided on 1 unit once a day. No one was there to give it in the evening. So Blue's dose is dependent on their convenience. :banghead:
     
  2. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Aaaand they charge you for it anyway. :rolleyes::stop:o_O
     
  3. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Morning (afternoon!), Patty. :)

    How's the Bluebird today, and how are you?

    I suggest a +2 today to see if Blue'll give you a bit of an early warning of what to expect in this cycle.


    Mogs
    .
     
  4. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    As promised earlier, here's the summary of the dosing info from the vet report for Blue's spreadsheet.


    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    10.12.20

    PMPS: ???
    Dose: ??? Vet
    Remarks: No info on vet report.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    10.13.20

    AMPS: ???
    Dose: ??? Vet
    Remarks: No info on vet report.

    PMPS:
    ???
    Dose: 0.5 Vet
    Remarks: 0.5IU marked administered. Shot time 17:00.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    10.14.20

    AMPS: 634
    Dose: 0.5? Vet
    Remarks: First 0.5IU marked administered. Shot time 07:00 (+14 after prev dose). Not clear if addnl 0.5IU given (i.e. min 0.5IU given but potential total dose 1.0IU).

    PMPS
    : 210
    Dose: 0.5? Vet
    Remarks: 0.5IU marked administered. Shot time 17:00 (+10 after prev dose). Not clear if addnl 0.5IU given (thought unlikely with no overnight monitoring and claim of 18-hour duration of the 1 unit dose - especially as 1 unit given on following AM cycle on 15.10.20).
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    10.15.20

    AMPS: 438
    Dose: 1.0 Vet
    Remarks: 1.0IU marked administered. Shot time 07:00 (+14 after prev dose).

    PMPS:
    n/a
    Dose: NS
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    If you like, you can copy 'n' paste the 'Remarks' text above into the relevant cells on Blue's spreadsheet to save yourself a bit of typing.



    Mogs
    .
     
  5. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Thank you Mogs. So they did give .5 the night he went into the hospital, but it sounds like it was at 5:00 and he normally has it at night around 9:30.
    I'll try to get everything entered today. You're the BEST

    Feeling healthy yet?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  6. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    When I die I'm looking up Mods house... thats meeeeow scratching at your door Mogs
     
  7. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    And you would be welcomed with open arms, Jeanne! :bighug: :)


    Mogs
    .
     
  8. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Sneezing's lessened, but fatigue is still bad. Thank you for asking, Patty. :bighug:

    Glad the above info was helpful. :)


    Mogs
    .
     
  9. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    You need to get better my friend. :bighug:

    Just realized Blue went into the hospital on the 13th and now I don't know what happened to my BG numbers on the 12th.
    Maybe I deleted. :arghh: Oh well.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  10. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
  11. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    I tried going back over your threads for that period to see whether I could work out the dosing from the record there. Unfortunately the time zone difference is wrecking my head and I can't work it out (post time stamps are given in the member's local time).


    Mogs
    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  12. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    You haven't heard back from her? I can text her if not.

    Don't worry about going back. I might look later to see if I can figure it out. It will be easier for me. :bighug:
     
  13. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Never mind Mogs. I went to the thread and see you have directed her. Thanks for looking in on her and Lily.
    Is she okay with everything? .25 is very small to get numbers that low.
     
  14. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Fret not, Patty! I've heard back from Sally and all is fine with herself and Lily. Might have been a dose measurement issue. :)


    Mogs
    .
     
  15. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    I look at Lily's spreadsheet every day to see how they're getting on. :)


    Mogs
    .
     
  16. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    I confused myself. It was the 12th I took him to the vet but they don't list the 12th. They have the 13th down as the date for blood work.
    No wonder we got confused.
     
  17. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Oh thanks you for doing that. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  18. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Just stick ??? in the sheet for the PMPS and dose for the evening of 12 October on the spreadsheet, and perhaps put a note in the remarks that there was no mention of giving insulin that night in the vet's report.


    Mogs
    .
     
  19. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Promised you I'd look out for them. :)


    Mogs
    .
     
  20. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    I see your boy's bouncing with a vengeance today, Patty. :rolleyes:


    Mogs
    .
     
  21. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Yes, he is. Poor baby. I'll check him again before PMPS to see if he's dropped some.

    He's sleeping sounding right now.
     
  22. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Awwww! :cat:

    (((Blue)))

    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  23. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
  24. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    :banghead: i do this a lot here :blackeye:
    (((Patty)))
     
  25. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Another stinky pink. :(


    Mogs
    .
     
  26. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Yes, it's not preferred but I guess it happens. Hopefully after his next dose he won't then go low. I'd be up all night again. That was hard.
     
  27. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Well, he finally started going down. PMPS 288 so hopefully he would go down to far. I'll get a +2
     
  28. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    @tiffmaxee -

    Hi Elise,

    If you're around could you pop in to see how Patty and Blue are doing? Bounce breaking by the looks of things.


    Mogs
    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  29. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Hi Patty,

    A +2 is definitely in order. If he's dropped a fair bit by then I'd suggest feeding a little high carb to slow him down. How are you doing?


    Mogs
    .
     
  30. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    I'm good Mogs. Little depressed today because braves lost but I'll be ready to cheer Dodgers in the WS. How are you and your Noodle?
    It will be a couple hours until I test so I know you'll probably be crashed. I will feed some HC if he's going down fast. I will probably set my alarm to retest if he's dropping.
    I have been looking for a new vet. One place I looked at had this site listed in an article they posted. I was encouraged. The other thing I read was concerning giving insulin twice a day. Why doesn't my vet know this? :rolleyes:
     
  31. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Hi ladies. I will check in on you. How long until your next test Patty?
     
  32. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Hi Elise! I'm really glad you're around. :)


    Mogs
    .
     
  33. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    How long before next test?
     
  34. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    As I was going over the summary of BG information to extract the dosing info for you earlier I was looking at it in light of what they did and what they told you about dosing. I came to the conclusion that there was no rhyme or reason to what they told you. Their actions and the evidence in the BG/dosing record contradicted what they were telling you about the 0.5IU dose and the 1.0IU dose. I really don't think they have a good handle on depot insulins at all. It's like they were pulling dosing decisions out of their collective fundament (if you'll pardon the expression!).

    Methinks vet shopping is a good idea, Patty. If you look in the forum FAQs section, there's a thread there with suggestions on vet screening/interviewing. I wish you happy hunting. :)


    Mogs
    .
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2020
  35. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    I'm still very tired (but still can't sleep without meds). Didn't sneeze as much today.

    Having a terrible time trying to get the Noodle to eat. Even cypro didn't touch the sides this evening. :( Still waiting for the delivery of my preferred ondansetron generic for her, and I'm worried about her phosphorus potassium levels (borderline low on last two rounds of blood work, and her BP med, amlodipine, can sometimes lower potassium levels). Wondering whether her levels have gone lower and whether that might be why her appetite's worse. At least things have been improving on the diarrhoea front. She's going less frequently and her bowel movements have gone from yellowish-tan liquipoo to firmish, browner cowpats in the last few days since I started giving her some B12 methylcobalamin. I lead a thrilling life... :rolleyes:

    Thank you for asking after us. :bighug:


    Mogs
    .
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2020
  36. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Max had lowish potassium even before CKD hit. I didn’t know it was likely amlodipine or if I did I don’t remember it now. Is low phosphorus a concern? I haven’t seen cats with that. Feel better. The Noodle too.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  37. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    A little over an hour
     
  38. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I just read it’s from poor intestinal absorption so likely why the yellowish poo. That should improve when off the antibiotic.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  39. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Oh, does B12 help diarrhea? I have two that have it and Ive been using acidophilus. It has helped but they still occasionally have problems.

    Poor Noodle bug. Sounds like you manage it pretty well. I guess you use an appetite stimulate?

    Still worried about you being sick for so long! Vitamins an option?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  40. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Cyproheptadine is the appy stim she uses. It’s the one I like too.
     
  41. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Good spot out o' you, Elise. Shows you how tired I am. I meant potassium levels. Duh!!! :banghead:


    Mogs
    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  42. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Hi Elise. I'll be back once I test Blue.
     
  43. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Does it work? I have used some for my cats that had kidney disease but I don't remember the name. A friend uses one she rubs on her cat's ear. I mentioned it to Dr. Bruno when my little Brat was losing so much weight but he said it didn't work very well but it was working for my friend's cat. I think maybe I should have got a clue then. :rolleyes:
     
  44. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Yes it works. Max just need a sliver. Tiffany needed 1/4. The one one the ear is transdermal mirtazapine. I never tried the ear gel as it wasn’t around for my cats yet when needed but hated the pill.
     
  45. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    You can give 0.5mg cyproheptadine (1/8 tablet) every 8 hours if required (dose for 10lb cat), which means you have really good control over the appetite stimulant effect. Mirtazapine in tablet form can only be given once every 72 hours. It's effect is too strong initially and not strong enough later on, plus it can cause really bad adverse reactions in some cats. The one dose Saoirse ever got of it turned her from the most pacific cat on the planet into a raging harpie. What it did to her was really not pretty. I've also been prescribed it myself in the past for the PTSD and it sent my entire system - brain and body - absolutely haywire. It's a horrible drug.

    Lúnasa can get very fractious and aggressive on occasion. If I were to give her mirtz it'd probably turn her into a furry antichrist.


    Mogs
    .
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2020
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  46. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  47. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    How many times a day could you give Tiffany the 1/4 tablet, Elise?


    Mogs
    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  48. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    She got it twice a day.
     
  49. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Thanks. That's really helpful. The Noodle's Rx is for 1/4 tablet q24h. I've got to watch her resting heart rate because both the amlodipine and cypro can raise it. That said, her RHR has been better over the last few days since I started her on the methylcobalamin (see graph in her SS). The BP meter is really earning its keep.

    Might run an increase in the cypro dose past our vetty bean if the Noodler doesn't pick up tomorrow.


    Mogs
    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  50. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Maybe try dividing the dose and give it every 12 hours and see if that works.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  51. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Good suggestion but been there, done that. Nada. :(


    Mogs
    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  52. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Hmm. Maybe add 1/8 more?
     
  53. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Great links for the IBD kitties. If B12 will help I'll be cheering. My little Brat got down to 4 pounds. Teddy is losing weight too and he has issues.

    Blue is at 237 so lower than PMPS. What do you think?
     
  54. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I’d get a +3.
     
  55. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Okay, I can do that.
     
  56. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Deffo.

    .
     
  57. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    If there are malabsorption problems then it may be better to go for the programme of weekly B12 injections (see the TAMU link for more info).


    Mogs
    .
     
  58. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    So many kitties, so many meds! Blue is on 3, Layla is on 3 and everyone else is on acidophilus twice a day. I'm afraid to take anyone else to the vet. They are all seniors. They are all eating low carb now. I give everyone but Blue a small amount of dry food at mealtime. I take it up so Blue won't eat any.
    I do need to research more on the B12. That might be the answer to the digestion problems.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  59. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    Just tested Blue and he's only 234 +3

    I can set my alarm and check again. Would a couple of hours be okay or an hour?
     
  60. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I think a couple is fine. Just feed him some lc first.
     
  61. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    I'll feed him a little now then recheck in two hours. Thanks.

    Does regular blood work for cats include B12 levels? I was reading about it and they suggest testing first to see if they're deficient.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  62. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    No the B12 test is an add on. It does make sense to test to see if it’s needed.
     
  63. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    I'm not sure if you're still here Elise but Blue is 169 +5 and I'm giving him a little LC.
    I can get up again in 2 hours.
     
  64. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I fell asleep. I think check in 2-3 hours. It might not be needed but it’s Blue. Sorry.
     
  65. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    It's 5 a.m. and he's 171 +7
    I think I'll get up in 2 hours again.
    Worried he'll drop more.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  66. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    (((Patty)))

    Blue's been keeping you on your toes overnight, I see. :bighug:


    Mogs
    .
     
  67. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Blue gives new meaning to the "Dance" :p
     
  68. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    We're good. 168 +9
    Talk later...going back to bed :)
     
  69. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
  70. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
  71. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Nice and flat after I fell asleep. I bet action today. Rest up while you can. :D
     
  72. Patty and Blue GA & Brat

    Patty and Blue GA & Brat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
    164 AMPS
    He's eating and had meds and .5 dose.
    We'll see what the day brings. :coffee::coffee::coffee:

    I'm so tired I forgot to start a new thread.
    Going to do that now with the same text.
     
  73. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Following you over...


    Mogs
    .
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page