Hello all,
I'm not sure if this is the right place to post, I have been lurking for about a week now reading informative posts.
Firstly, my vet diagnosed my 11 year baby girl sage with diabetes on 9/10. Her levels was at 450. I went to a community clinic, lower cost vet care, and they prescribed Vetsulin however after lots of research on this wonderful forum I decided I wanted to switch her to Lantus, this was before I started Vetsulin. When I took her back to get a demonstration on how to give the insulin (her bg level was 330 I switched to lower carb foods) , the community vet agreed that Lantus was a better option but refused to give me a prescription because she wanted me to I try out the Vetsulin first. So far sage has had 3 doses, but I want to switch her to Lantus because it feels like the right thing to do.
I live close to the US / Mexican border so I had a friend of mine who lives there go and pick up some Glargine for me there, 40 USD however, it's a generic brand called Bonglixan. The pharmacist said it was the same thing and the box confirms this. I was wondering if anyone has any information about this and if it will be okay to give to my baby girl.
Also, they have the Lantus solostar pens but I'm confused, are they reusable or are they one time use only? The pharmacist said it's a one time use. I was under the impression you could use it multiple times until it ran or they expired.
Thanks for your time, this is definitely stressful! I just want my baby to feel better.
I'm not sure if this is the right place to post, I have been lurking for about a week now reading informative posts.
Firstly, my vet diagnosed my 11 year baby girl sage with diabetes on 9/10. Her levels was at 450. I went to a community clinic, lower cost vet care, and they prescribed Vetsulin however after lots of research on this wonderful forum I decided I wanted to switch her to Lantus, this was before I started Vetsulin. When I took her back to get a demonstration on how to give the insulin (her bg level was 330 I switched to lower carb foods) , the community vet agreed that Lantus was a better option but refused to give me a prescription because she wanted me to I try out the Vetsulin first. So far sage has had 3 doses, but I want to switch her to Lantus because it feels like the right thing to do.
I live close to the US / Mexican border so I had a friend of mine who lives there go and pick up some Glargine for me there, 40 USD however, it's a generic brand called Bonglixan. The pharmacist said it was the same thing and the box confirms this. I was wondering if anyone has any information about this and if it will be okay to give to my baby girl.
Also, they have the Lantus solostar pens but I'm confused, are they reusable or are they one time use only? The pharmacist said it's a one time use. I was under the impression you could use it multiple times until it ran or they expired.
Thanks for your time, this is definitely stressful! I just want my baby to feel better.