Cat newly diagnosed with diabetes

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by sandysh66, Jan 16, 2023.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sandysh66

sandysh66 Member

Hello. My mom passed away and I brought her cat Snuggles to live with me in March 2022. Last week I noticed she was drinking a lot of water and peeing a lot. I took her to the vet this past Saturday. Snuggles Glucometer reading was 550. I was given Vetsulin insulin and told by the vet to administer 2 units every 12 hours and I was given paperwork with instructions. I got home and went over the paperwork. The instructions stated to give the insulin injections before the meal. I am not administering the insulin until after the meal. I’m a nurse and I know better! I was also instructed to take Snuggles blood sugar approximately 8 hours after eating main meal but also instructed there should be food available at all times to nibble on. So I did check her blood sugar yesterday late afternoon and it was 360. How accurate is that with the ability to nibble? So, I took it upon myself to decide to change Snuggles diet. I have ordered the food and would like any and all advice I can get before I make the switches. I called the vet’s office this morning and the vet said there is no feline diabetic diet. Also, Snuggles has been on prescription c/d diet for crystals for approximately two years. Please help!

2. Red & Rover (GA)

Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

Welcome, Sandy. Waving from Canada. Thank you for taking in your mom's Snuggles and being proactive with her care.

The proper sequence is:
    1. Test (to make sure the number is high enough to shoot)
    2. Feed (to make sure there is enough food on board to counter the fast drop in numbers)
    3. Wait 30 minutes (to give the food time to do its thing)
    4. Shoot