Cat won’t eat at shot time and already missed one shot

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mary & Navi

Member
Hey guys. Not sure what to do. One of my non diabetic cats has a sore mouth and wasn’t eating so I gave her some tuna to get some food in her and gave some to my diabetic as well. Well, this morning the diabetic threw up the tuna and refused to eat her breakfast. Her BG was 438 on a human meter (about usual for her) and since she didn’t eat I didn’t give her her Vetsulin. I gave them both smaller little snacks throughout the day and they both ate fine every time (maybe even acting hungrier, but I didn’t want to risk overfeeding).

Well, comes dinner and night time shot and the diabetic is refusing her dinner again. BG was 420. I know I can’t shoot without her eating, but I’m sure I should skip another shot. Any suggestions? She’s fine otherwise...I’m actually wondering if she knows she gets shot after she eats and is refusing to just to be a pain.

Any info/suggestions would be much appreciated! TIA!
 
I answered on fb but I'll say it here too. With a bg that high I would shoot even with the lower appetite. She had been eating through the day, it's just now at shot time she's not interested, right? Had she eaten in the last two hours? I'd give her the 2 units and test in 3-4 hours. If you are concerned then give 1.5.
 
If you have a spreadsheet with the readings can you post the link in your signature? If you have not started one, could you? It would make offering dosing advice much easier. We can get someone to set it up for you if you need help.
 
I answered on fb but I'll say it here too. With a bg that high I would shoot even with the lower appetite. She had been eating through the day, it's just now at shot time she's not interested, right? Had she eaten in the last two hours? I'd give her the 2 units and test in 3-4 hours. If you are concerned then give 1.5.
Thank you! She ate maybe 3 hranor so ago. I made sure it wasnt less than 2 hours somher numbers wouldn’t be affected. I’ll probably wait a little while longer (7:30p here now so maybe until 8) to see if she’ll nibble anything, test again and shoot.

Thank you again. I just really didn’t want to miss a second shot!
 
If you have a spreadsheet with the readings can you post the link in your signature? If you have not started one, could you? It would make offering dosing advice much easier. We can get someone to set it up for you if you need help.
I haven’t done it yet because I don’t have a working computer at the moment. I’ve been marking all of her results and shot amounts in a daily planner I’ve purchased just for her.
 
I haven’t done it yet because I don’t have a working computer at the moment. I’ve been marking all of her results and shot amounts in a daily planner I’ve purchased just for her.
If you have a smart phone you can do it on there. You'll need to download the app Google Sheets.
 
If you have a smart phone you can do it on there. You'll need to download the app Google Sheets.
Roger that. Yeah last Friday morning was her low day (289) then she ranged from 344-569 from then until now (this morning she was at 437, tested at noon and it was at 463, then tonight she was at 420).

I’ll go ahead and shoot and then test a couple times before bed.

And once I get a computer up and running I’ll get the spreadsheet started! Thank you again!!
 
If you have a spreadsheet with the readings can you post the link in your signature? If you have not started one, could you? It would make offering dosing advice much easier. We can get someone to set it up for you if you need help.
Ok I figured out how to set up a spreadsheet on mobile and the link should be in my signature. I’ve updated it since I started testing (11-14) up until just a few mins ago I tested and will test again in an hour!
 
Ok I figured out how to set up a spreadsheet on mobile and the link should be in my signature. I’ve updated it since I started testing (11-14) up until just a few mins ago I tested and will test again in an hour!
Well done! Nice to see a few blues in there.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top