? Charlie AMPS 275, +6 253, PMPS 76!?? Help

Sarah & Charlie-cat

Member Since 2022
AM preshot was 275 (8:30 central), +6 was 253 (2:30 pm), pred at 5:30 pm PMPS (8:15) 76!

This is day 6 I think of his pred dose reduction...We went from stable low-mid 100s to all over the place.

I tested myself right after and it read 109. Just in case.

No insulin given...He's eaten. His ear has been bleeding more lately, so I will try him again at 10:30 before bed... I was fully prepared to increase his dose tonight.

What on earth is going on here? Any ideas? Vet never called me back after I sent the spreadsheet.

Link to earlier thread this week... obviously not dose increasing!

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/charlie-amps-275-6-253-dose-increase.274070/
 
I think bg can drop quickly after it is not being influenced by pred. This happened for Simon. I think you need to be extra cautious with insulin during and after the reduction phase. So glad you are able to reduce the pred!! :bighug:
 
That has been what I was expecting this week and he was back up in the high 200-300s.

He ate about 45 minutes ago. Should I grab another test now or try again at 2 hours post food? He's hard to test. So I'm trying not to overdo it. The other night he absolutely refused to let me get a +3 on his PM shot. Sigh. But his ears are bleeding easier than they were when we started
 
Does he get a treat after a test? That might help. Hang in there. Testing does get easier with time.
If you can get a test now, that would be great. If his numbers are zooming after food, you can give the shot.
 
If you're following SLGS, I would just skip the shot tonight. You could try a drop dose from tomorrow.

Please take off the 911 now? Thanks :-)
 
Back
Top