Charlie AMPS 283, +2 308, +4 325, +8 363, +10 381, PMPS 408

You guys, I'm really at a loss here. I feel like his blood glucose is fighting me every. step. of. the. way to not go below 300. I'm emotionally exhausted from getting my hopes up and then being disappointed. At this point it really doesn't feel like we're getting anywhere.

Am I spiraling or is this actually a concern? Do I need to just keep being patient? I'm trying so hard but it has been almost a month of pink. I hate this feeling. I hate this f'ing color.

I have a food question if someone can help me. I switched his food from salmon to chicken about a month ago, just before these godawful numbers started. It's supposedly lower carb (salmon was 9%, chicken is 7% on Dr. Pearson's chart), but it's the only thing I can think of that could've been responsible for his shift to consistently bad numbers. I actually called the company and they told me the chicken is 2% carbs, but I don't really know what to believe anymore lol. I feel like something about this food is messing with him. I'm wondering if I switch him to ZERO carbs if that might make a difference. Can someone please weigh in? I'm desperate. Raw food is not an option at this time.

Edit: I recalculated the food and the salmon formula was actually 16% carbs! The chicken is 2%. I wonder why it seems like he was doing better on the higher carbs? Is that a thing??
 
Last edited:
I am not an expert, but salmon has really good Omega 3 fatty acids? But fish every day is dangerous because of mercury? I give Kobe a little squirt of fish oil every day and I think it makes a difference. I can't prove it, because I don't have any recent data where he wasn't on it. I think that there is something magically regulatory about fish oil and there are other members who use it too. I know, because I checked before I went and bought some sketchy snake oil from the internet. o_O this is what Kobe gets.
 
this is what Kobe gets.
upload_2025-3-24_13-35-32.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-3-24_13-35-32.jpeg
    upload_2025-3-24_13-35-32.jpeg
    50.1 KB · Views: 61
I have so much sympathy for you Jess :bighug:

I have been there. Most of Feb I was in that dreadful pink zone. Exhausting and demoralizing :banghead::banghead::banghead:

My guess is you are dealing with glucose toxicity and insulin resistance.
If you want to learn more on the medical side (what is actually going in in Charlie's body) see links on this Sticky: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-what-is-it-what-should-i-do-about-it.144381/

When a diabetic animal is hyperglycemic for long enough, the animal's damaged tissues may start having trouble using insulin. This in turn means that even a well-dosed animal may continue to have high blood sugar, leading to even more insulin resistance.

Various methods through this "glass floor" have been tried, to varying degrees of success. One way is to continue gradually raising insulin dosage until the tissues pick up the insulin and start absorbing glucose, then quickly back off to a lower dose. Another is to "jumpstart" the process with a fast-acting insulin or a deliberately high dose of the regular insulin, then quickly back off to a lower dose. Another is to reduce the carbohydrate content of the food further, or to eliminate dry food entirely (even low-carb dry food), thereby presenting less of an obstacle for insulin effectiveness and reducing insulin needs. Aggressive attempts to break glucose toxicity are best regarded as dangerous and should be addressed in close partnership with a diabetes-experienced veterinarian.
From here: https://petdiabetes.fandom.com/wiki/Glucose_toxicity (one of the linked articles in the Sticky).

Basically you are in a bit of a vicious circle where his continued high numbers are making him more resistant to insulin, and because he is more resistant to insulin he has higher numbers. As I understand it here on FDMB the preferred safer approach to get out of this awful loop (rather than the more radical and risky interventions) is adopting low carb foods, which you have done already, and then the continual gradual raising of the dose, which you are busy doing - and just have to *keep doing* until the cycle breaks.

I know it can feel like you are going mad when you not only see no progress but the numbers are actually getting worse. But it is not that you are doing something wrong, it's the medical reality of the condition. You've at the stage when you are pushing and pushing at the "glass floor" and its just not ready to break yet.

Which means you just have to be patient and proceed with the increases - until you eventually get to the right dose. It happened for Noogi.

Sorry for the long post. My way of coping with FD-related stress is researching and explaining things - as much to myself as to others. I hope I have understood this correctly. If not I hope moderators or more experienced members correct me and/or add more nuance.

Lastly, I know there are some medical conditions like acromegaly that can cause extreme insulin resistance. Lots of info on this site about that, so maybe read about it just in case it might be a factor for Charlie. My guy had a blood test for it as he was extremely insulin resistant in the beginning too and the vet wanted to eliminate it.
 
Last edited:
I am not an expert, but salmon has really good Omega 3 fatty acids? But fish every day is dangerous because of mercury? I give Kobe a little squirt of fish oil every day and I think it makes a difference. I can't prove it, because I don't have any recent data where he wasn't on it. I think that there is something magically regulatory about fish oil and there are other members who use it too. I know, because I checked before I went and bought some sketchy snake oil from the internet. o_O this is what Kobe gets.


Thanks! I was told that a primary diet of fish was bad as well, which is part of the reason I took him off. The chicken formula of his food has omega 3 and 6 added, though I wonder if it's enough to even matter. Either way, I'll give the supplement you suggested a try and see if it helps at all. Thanks again!
 
'm wondering if I switch him to ZERO carbs if that might make a difference. Can someone please weigh in?
There's a post for that (linked in the New to the Group Sticky Note):
Summary answer, ECID but likely no. Usually cats actually do better on some carbs. People here typically feed in the 3-6% range.

Cats are all different, Charlie needs the amount of insulin that his body needs. Every cat here finds a dose that moves them. We just don't know what that is for Charlie yet. Insulin is a hormone, not a drug. It's not like you can see gradual improvements with each increase. You just have to keep increasing per the protocol until you reach that fitting dose. Having said that, Charlie probably saw 9 hours sub 300 last night, which is progress.

I can relate to how you feel. :bighug: With Neko it was a complete emotional roller coaster. She'd give me a hint of nice numbers, then retreat back to her favourite pink/red/black zone. :( It'd take a couple increases before the nice numbers showed up again. Eventually those nice numbers appeared for longer and longer stretches, and her body got used to them. In the mean time, pink was her happy zone. I could tell when she was in low pinks, cause that's when she'd start playing. :rolleyes: So happy when that changed.
 
I have so much sympathy for you Jess :bighug:

I have been there. Most of Feb I was in that dreadful pink zone. Exhausting and demoralizing :banghead::banghead::banghead:

My guess is you are dealing with glucose toxicity and insulin resistance.
If you want to learn more on the medical side (what is actually going in in Charlie's body) see links on this Sticky: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-what-is-it-what-should-i-do-about-it.144381/

When a diabetic animal is hyperglycemic for long enough, the animal's damaged tissues may start having trouble using insulin. This in turn means that even a well-dosed animal may continue to have high blood sugar, leading to even more insulin resistance.

Various methods through this "glass floor" have been tried, to varying degrees of success. One way is to continue gradually raising insulin dosage until the tissues pick up the insulin and start absorbing glucose, then quickly back off to a lower dose. Another is to "jumpstart" the process with a fast-acting insulin or a deliberately high dose of the regular insulin, then quickly back off to a lower dose. Another is to reduce the carbohydrate content of the food further, or to eliminate dry food entirely (even low-carb dry food), thereby presenting less of an obstacle for insulin effectiveness and reducing insulin needs. Aggressive attempts to break glucose toxicity are best regarded as dangerous and should be addressed in close partnership with a diabetes-experienced veterinarian.
From here: https://petdiabetes.fandom.com/wiki/Glucose_toxicity (one of the linked articles in the Sticky).

Basically you are in a bit of a vicious circle where his continued high numbers are making him more resistant to insulin, and because he is more resistant to insulin he has higher numbers. As I understand it here on FDMB the preferred safer approach to get out of this awful loop (rather than the more radical and risky interventions) is adopting low carb foods, which you have done already, and then the continual gradual raising of the dose, which you are busy doing - and just have to *keep doing* until the cycle breaks.

I know it can feel like you are going mad when you not only see no progress but the numbers are actually getting worse. But it is not that you are doing something wrong, it's the medical reality of the condition. You've at the stage when you are pushing and pushing at the "glass floor" and its just not ready to break yet.

Which means you just have to be patient and proceed with the increases - until you eventually get to the right dose. It happened for Noogi.

Sorry for the long post. My way of coping with FD-related stress is researching and explaining things - as much to myself as to others. I hope I have understood this correctly. If not I hope moderators or more experienced members correct me and/or add more nuance.

Lastly, I know there are some medical conditions like acromegaly that can cause extreme insulin resistance. Lots of info on this site about that, so maybe read about it just in case it might be a factor for Charlie. My guy had a blood test for it as he was extremely insulin resistant in the beginning too and the vet wanted to eliminate it.

Thank you Helen. I didn't know that glucose toxicity creates a cycle like that--I thought it just meant "symptoms of hyperglycemia." Derp. It's helpful to have an explanation for why the insulin seems like it's not doing anything. I've been looking at his spreadsheet day in day out trying to find any sort of cause for these numbers, and I didn't even consider that it could be the high BG itself causing the high BG :confused:. I assume that many of us who are active on this forum are similar in that we find comfort when we can understand a little better how something works. I plan on reading up a bit more on glucose toxicity and acromegaly once I've calmed down. Sometimes if I'm not in the right headspace to research stuff I can end up scaring or overwhelming myself haha.

It's also been really helpful to look at your posts and follow you and Noogi's journey. It gives me hope that Noogi finally broke through. I hope Charlie can soon too.
 
There's a post for that (linked in the New to the Group Sticky Note):
Summary answer, ECID but likely no. Usually cats actually do better on some carbs. People here typically feed in the 3-6% range.

Cats are all different, Charlie needs the amount of insulin that his body needs. Every cat here finds a dose that moves them. We just don't know what that is for Charlie yet. Insulin is a hormone, not a drug. It's not like you can see gradual improvements with each increase. You just have to keep increasing per the protocol until you reach that fitting dose. Having said that, Charlie probably saw 9 hours sub 300 last night, which is progress.

I can relate to how you feel. :bighug: With Neko it was a complete emotional roller coaster. She'd give me a hint of nice numbers, then retreat back to her favourite pink/red/black zone. :( It'd take a couple increases before the nice numbers showed up again. Eventually those nice numbers appeared for longer and longer stretches, and her body got used to them. In the mean time, pink was her happy zone. I could tell when she was in low pinks, cause that's when she'd start playing. :rolleyes: So happy when that changed.


Thank you Wendy. Your replies are always so comforting (and full of quote-able nuggets of wisdom!).

Looking at it from the perspective you described will be really helpful for me. Insulin is a hormone; it doesn't work like a drug so I shouldn't expect to see gradual improvements. We'll find the dose that moves him eventually—I think part of my anxiety is because I've been catastrophizing that we won't, and the perceived lack of improvements reinforces my catastrophic thinking:facepalm:.

I've been keeping an eye out to see if I can find a pattern in Charlie's energy/playfulness that corresponds with his numbers, but I haven't been able to make sense of it just yet. There are definitely days where he's way more playful. I think I'll start noting them.

I don't know why, but I'd never looked at Neko's sheet before now. Your entry on her last day made me cry <3 :bighug: I'm glad it was a peaceful and warm day and she was at home and comfortable.


Edit: I forgot to thank you for the article link about low carb vs lower carb. I'd been wondering if it was possible that slightly more carbs could actually be better for some cats. If I come back to this dilemma again and decide to experiment with food, I'll probably try something with slightly more carbs instead.
 
Last edited:
I remember one really bouncy cat, could go from blacks to greens and back to reds in one cycle. He got sick with pancreatitis and his mom had to give him A/D to get over it. A/D is 12%. He flattened out on the MC, got used to greens, and went OTJ. That is just one example of slightly higher carbs working. It was sort of a case of feeding the curve. Charlie doesn't have that kind of spreadsheet though. I think he just needs more insulin. Cats can vary wildly in how carb sensitive they are. Just remember than food experiments can take a few weeks - don't just try a few days of something. As the saying goes, Lantus teaches patience. :bighug:

Neko's last day was December, it wasn't particularly warm outside. But the snow stopped and sun came out, I was able to go outside and shovel the snow off the top of the solarium, making it toasty warm inside. It was her favourite spot. Seemed appropriate. After the vet left, the snow started up again. We don't get much snow here, but I was glad the sun peaked through at the end for her.
 
I'm so sorry you're feeling this way. I get you, I'm there too. We just want to help them, and rely so much on those numbers to show us we are making progress for them.

Any chance your handsome boy may be allergic to chicken? I suspect Petey is, everytime he ate it he would get pretty lethargic and just seemed off, so I just do rabbit now. I give some fish oil every day too, it can help.

We're gonna get them there!

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I remember one really bouncy cat, could go from blacks to greens and back to reds in one cycle. He got sick with pancreatitis and his mom had to give him A/D to get over it. A/D is 12%. He flattened out on the MC, got used to greens, and went OTJ. That is just one example of slightly higher carbs working. It was sort of a case of feeding the curve. Charlie doesn't have that kind of spreadsheet though. I think he just needs more insulin. Cats can vary wildly in how carb sensitive they are. Just remember than food experiments can take a few weeks - don't just try a few days of something. As the saying goes, Lantus teaches patience. :bighug:

Neko's last day was December, it wasn't particularly warm outside. But the snow stopped and sun came out, I was able to go outside and shovel the snow off the top of the solarium, making it toasty warm inside. It was her favourite spot. Seemed appropriate. After the vet left, the snow started up again. We don't get much snow here, but I was glad the sun peaked through at the end for her.

Ah, that makes sense. One of the posts I had read mentioned feeding a little bit of MC mixed in with the rest of the food toward the end of the cycle, but that cat was also really bouncy I believe. I was wondering if that wouldn’t really apply for Charlie since he’s mostly flat.

I really don’t want to switch his food again anyway, so I’ll just keep plugging along and try to better manage my expectations while I hope to get to his breakthrough dose soon. Lantus sure does teach patience.

I’m glad the sun peaked through for her too. A sunny toasty solarium in her favorite spot sounds like the perfect place to be for the end. I hope that when Charlie’s time comes it’s just as peaceful. And I hope that you still feel her with you every day <3
 
I'm so sorry you're feeling this way. I get you, I'm there too. We just want to help them, and rely so much on those numbers to show us we are making progress for them.

Any chance your handsome boy may be allergic to chicken? I suspect Petey is, everytime he ate it he would get pretty lethargic and just seemed off, so I just do rabbit now. I give some fish oil every day too, it can help.

We're gonna get them there!

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
I wish so badly that we could talk to them and comfort them/ask them how they’re feeling every day! Though I’m sure they wouldn’t tell us truthfully anyway, haha.

I don’t think he’s allergic—before his DX (and before the salmon) he ate a raw diet of chicken for his entire life. In fact, my ex and I used to call him The Chicken Man because of how much he loves it hahaha. He was thrilled with this recent switch back to chicken.

Good to hear another person in favor of fish oil! It’s supposed to arrive tomorrow I believe. Do you just squirt a little bit in Petey’s food too?
 
You guys, I'm really at a loss here. I feel like his blood glucose is fighting me every. step. of. the. way to not go below 300. I'm emotionally exhausted from getting my hopes up and then being disappointed. At this point it really doesn't feel like we're getting anywhere.

Am I spiraling or is this actually a concern? Do I need to just keep being patient? I'm trying so hard but it has been almost a month of pink. I hate this feeling. I hate this f'ing color.

I have a food question if someone can help me. I switched his food from salmon to chicken about a month ago, just before these godawful numbers started. It's supposedly lower carb (salmon was 9%, chicken is 7% on Dr. Pearson's chart), but it's the only thing I can think of that could've been responsible for his shift to consistently bad numbers. I actually called the company and they told me the chicken is 2% carbs, but I don't really know what to believe anymore lol. I feel like something about this food is messing with him. I'm wondering if I switch him to ZERO carbs if that might make a difference. Can someone please weigh in? I'm desperate. Raw food is not an option at this time.

Edit: I recalculated the food and the salmon formula was actually 16% carbs! The chicken is 2%. I wonder why it seems like he was doing better on the higher carbs? Is that a thing??

You've gotten some really good info and advice already, but I just wanted to say that I feel for you so much, Jess. I know exactly how you're feeling. It's so hard and discouraging to see awful numbers day and in and day out and be told to be patient when it feels like we should be DOING something. We are doing something, but when there's no evidence of it it feels hopeless. I'm so sorry you're having to feel that. :bighug:

So many kitty's spreadsheets show this exact same thing (and even periods of it mixed in to good stretches) and it at least helps remind me that most people went through this and one day it just... flipped and started working. It might feel good for you to go into people's spreadsheets and just go back to the beginning and see how long it took for others. It has helped me, anyway. Not every day feels very positive, but at least sometimes they do.
 
You've gotten some really good info and advice already, but I just wanted to say that I feel for you so much, Jess. I know exactly how you're feeling. It's so hard and discouraging to see awful numbers day and in and day out and be told to be patient when it feels like we should be DOING something. We are doing something, but when there's no evidence of it it feels hopeless. I'm so sorry you're having to feel that. :bighug:

So many kitty's spreadsheets show this exact same thing (and even periods of it mixed in to good stretches) and it at least helps remind me that most people went through this and one day it just... flipped and started working. It might feel good for you to go into people's spreadsheets and just go back to the beginning and see how long it took for others. It has helped me, anyway. Not every day feels very positive, but at least sometimes they do.
Thanks Brianna, that's exactly right. Every time I see a high number my brain screams "DO SOMETHING!!" at me, but there's nothing to be done :( I need to find some other small wins to celebrate instead of good numbers, since they're so fleeting right now. Or at least work on not getting my hopes up when I see one.

Looking at spreadsheets has been helpful most days, but sometimes my brain just wants to cause problems and catastrophize no matter what I do:arghh:
 
Back
Top