Charlie's AMPS 444, +7 511 Need eyes on his data (and advice)

Karen & Charlie

Active Member
I'm clueless as to what could be going on with Charlie. He hasn't been below 300 in 2 days.

Decided to try to be more regimented with his meals starting today--doesn't seem to be positive for him, at least the way I'm going about it. He's a grazer, so prior, he got lots of snacks any time he wanted. Trying to add as much detail as possible to his notes. Can someone take a look?

Thank you!!
 
Blech, looks like he's bouncing still. Keep holding that dose until it's been a week. That dry food can take up to three days to leave the system too. If there's any chance of him sneaking more dry without you seeing, that will cause those black numbers. Nice job with the notes. :) Is Charlie getting a +1 or +2 snack?
 
Blech, looks like he's bouncing still. Keep holding that dose until it's been a week. That dry food can take up to three days to leave the system too. If there's any chance of him sneaking more dry without you seeing, that will cause those black numbers. Nice job with the notes. :) Is Charlie getting a +1 or +2 snack?

Him sneaking more dry food is possible; even before diagnosis, I was vigilant about keeping him indoors when I twice daily fed the barn cat. But, he's sometimes sneaks out the back door and I forget I have food on the front porch for the barn cat. Argh!

Today he did NOT get +1 or +2 snacks. He only got snacks at +4 and +6, then "dinner" at +10. I'm still trying to figure out what his feeding schedule should be, hence the change-up today. I've been reading other posts in this Vetsulin forum to see what you and others are saying about this insulin and how to work with it. But, the meals thing is the hardest part, now that I've gotten past the fear of testing him (!).

Thanks a million, Elizabeth...I sure appreciate your taking a look!
 
I hear you, trust me - when Panic was first diagnosed, everyone was eating dry. I'd separate them by feeding her inside and them outside and it was a nightmare keeping her out of it. Someone would always leave food out or someone would kick a bowl and I'd be down on my hands and knees picking kibble out of the grass and between the porch slates. :confused: The easiest thing would be to switch barn cat to wet, but easier said than done and it's not always possible!

Okay, here's my (current) recommendation until we can see more patterns with Charlie without those pesky high numbers.

Mini Meals at:
+1
+3
+4 or +5

That's for both AM and PM cycles.
He seems to be headed up by +5 but it's too soon to really tell. Charlie doesn't get much duration on Vetsulin, poor bud.
The reason I'm suggesting +1 is because we can already see that's when he starts to drop - and we want to slow the drop down so it's not as harsh, like it was the other day with that 64. Between +3 and +5 he may be hitting his lowest, so it's important to get some food in there too. +6 mayyyy be a little late for him, we'll have to see. But I would definitely do the +1 and +3.

And yes you are doing FABULOUS with testing him! :D
 
I hear you, trust me - when Panic was first diagnosed, everyone was eating dry. I'd separate them by feeding her inside and them outside and it was a nightmare keeping her out of it. Someone would always leave food out or someone would kick a bowl and I'd be down on my hands and knees picking kibble out of the grass and between the porch slates. :confused: The easiest thing would be to switch barn cat to wet, but easier said than done and it's not always possible!

Okay, here's my (current) recommendation until we can see more patterns with Charlie without those pesky high numbers.

Mini Meals at:
+1
+3
+4 or +5

That's for both AM and PM cycles.
He seems to be headed up by +5 but it's too soon to really tell. Charlie doesn't get much duration on Vetsulin, poor bud.
The reason I'm suggesting +1 is because we can already see that's when he starts to drop - and we want to slow the drop down so it's not as harsh, like it was the other day with that 64. Between +3 and +5 he may be hitting his lowest, so it's important to get some food in there too. +6 mayyyy be a little late for him, we'll have to see. But I would definitely do the +1 and +3.

And yes you are doing FABULOUS with testing him! :D

Hands & knees picking kibble out between the porch boards. What a visual, haha!!
This is SOOOOOO helpful and exactly what I need...thanks so much! Your commitment and contributions to the forum after the passing of your sweet baby is so brave and commendable, and is invaluable to new sugar cat humans like me!
 
I'm sure I looked ridiculous doing it too! :woot: The things we do for our companions ...

When Panic was sick a large portion of the people guiding me were caregivers left behind after their little ones had long since passed. Some days are really hard because it's still so recent for me, but new members come to the board every day seeking help - how can I not help her "sugar siblings"? :)
 
That's so touching. :cat: Looks like she was a sweetie.

If I can ask one more question. You're recommending mini meals at +1 and +3 AM and PM; what about his overnight meals? I purchased a PetSafe 5. I'll most always still be awake to give him PM +1 and usually +3, what time would you recommend I set PetSafe to dispense (AMPS is typically between 7AM and 8AM).

Thank you!
 
Absolutely <3

If you think you'll be up for +1 and +3, then I would do a +4 or +5, same as day-time cycle. If nadir is over by +5, mini meals afterwards aren't needed. You could throw no-carb treat (like chicken) in there though if you think he might get a hankering later on.
 
Absolutely <3

If you think you'll be up for +1 and +3, then I would do a +4 or +5, same as day-time cycle. If nadir is over by +5, mini meals afterwards aren't needed. You could throw no-carb treat (like chicken) in there though if you think he might get a hankering later on.

His hankering usually takes the form of waking mom up! So, chicken it is. Thanks, again. 'Nite!
 
Okay, here's my (current) recommendation until we can see more patterns with Charlie without those pesky high numbers.
Mini Meals at:
+1
+3
+4 or +5​
He seems to be headed up by +5 but it's too soon to really tell.
The reason I'm suggesting +1 is because we can already see that's when he starts to drop - and we want to slow the drop down so it's not as harsh, like it was the other day with that 64.

Hi Elizabeth--I see you're online so I'm gonna post this real quick!

Charlie had mini meal at +1.
+2 he was down from AMPS, but not severe drop.
By +3 he was on his way back up. I fed his mini meal post test...should I feed before testing?
For +5 should I feed mini meal pre or post? If pre-test, can I feed it, like, minutes before testing?
Still not clear on effect food has on BG, I was just doing some searching and reading when I saw you're online.

Thanks!
 
Hi Karen! :cat:

It's not important if you feed before or after you test. I would feed after just because Panic would think it was a reward for testing, but it doesn't matter. :p

In regards to your wondering about food affecting BG, within 15-20 minutes you'll start to see an effect from food. You'll also see a food effect up to two hours after eating - that's why we pick up food two hours before pre-shot. :)
 
Hi Karen! :cat:

It's not important if you feed before or after you test. I would feed after just because Panic would think it was a reward for testing, but it doesn't matter. :p

In regards to your wondering about food affecting BG, within 15-20 minutes you'll start to see an effect from food. You'll also see a food effect up to two hours after eating - that's why we pick up food two hours before pre-shot. :)

Thank you!
 
Back
Top