Clocks changing

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Gill & Mac (UK), Oct 14, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Gill & Mac (UK)

    Gill & Mac (UK) Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2020
    Hi
    Here in the UK our clocks are due to go back an hour during the night of Sat 24th \ Sun 25th.
    I usually give Mac his shots at 8.45am and 8.45pm.
    So if I stick with that time on the clock it will effect be 13 hrs between his 8.45pm Sat shot and his 8.45 am Sun shot.
    For those of you in countries that change their clocks what do you usually do please ?
    let the gap be 13 hours
    or
    give the previous one (Sat night) 30 mins later than usual so you have two cycles of 12.5 hrs ? So splitting the extra hour in half.
    Not sure what is the best way to approach it. We are on prozinc if that makes any difference to the advice.
    Thanks
    Gill
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  2. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Wow its been so long I dont remember. :oops:
     
  3. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018


    Here is an example



    For most of us in the U.S., this means it’s almost time to “Fall back.” The time change is rather inconvenient for Lantus & Lev Landers because we try so hard to stick to a 12 hour schedule. (This post is primarily directed to those members using Lantus, Levemir, or Basaglar -- long acting, depot-type of insulin. However, if your cat is sensitive to schedule changes regardless of what insulin you're using, you may want to consider on the the methods noted below.)

    If you make no adjustments and just shoot at your regular time on the clock Sunday morning, your AMPS will be 13 hours after your PMPS the night before. This will cause higher BG’s for most cats, as it will partially deplete the insulin depot. Remember shooting late is equivalent to a dose decrease, so if your cat is in a phase where she is running tight numbers or earning dose reductions, this might slow things down.

    If you don’t want to have a +13 in the mix, you can move your time ahead a little at a time to minimize the impact on your cat’s numbers.

    Option A (move in 15 minute increments once a day): pick any 4 days during the week to move your shot time 15 minutes later. This option requires a little planning, but should have very minimal impact on BG’s.

    Example: regular time is 7:00
    • Thursday AMPS at 7:00
    • Thursday PMPS at 7:15
    • Friday AMPS at 7:15
    • Friday PMPS at 7:30
    • Saturday AMPS at 7:30
    • Saturday PMPS at 7:45 (you will set your clock back overnight)
    • Sunday AMPS at 6:45, which is the “old” 7:45
    • Sunday PMPS at 7:00, which has you on schedule for Monday morning
    Option B (move in 15 min. increments twice a day).This may have a slight effect on BG numbers.

    Example: regular time is 7:00
    • Friday AMPS at 7:00
    • Friday PMPS at 7:15
    • Saturday AMPS at 7:30
    • Saturday at 7:45 (set clock back at bedtime)
    • Sunday AMPS at 8:00 - your "old" 7 and you're back on schedule

    Option C (move in 30 minute increments):
    pick 2 cycles during the week to move your shot time 30 minutes later. This *could* have a little more impact on BG’s for cats who are sensitive to time changes.

    Example: regular time is 7:00
    • Friday AMPS at 7:00
    • Friday PMPS at 7:30
    • Saturday AMPS at 7:30
    • Saturday PMPS at 8:00 (you will set your clock back overnight)
    • Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 8:00
     
  4. Gill & Mac (UK)

    Gill & Mac (UK) Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2020
    Thanks for this - I see what you mean about one of the deposit insulins making it a bit more complicated.
    I can confirm thst Mac is not overly sensitive to insulin. So from reading the above because of that and being on prozinc so no deposit that I can just go with the less gradual changes in my post? So over 24 hours rather a bit at a time over several days or a 30 mins a couple of days before.?

    Is it better that I do the 2 half hour thing that i set out rather than just letting the sun am be a full hour late ?
    Thanks so much for your help - I'm not even going to think about the Spring forward bit yet !!
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  5. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    I've been wondering about this too!!
    I really don't remember that I did in March :oops:
     
  6. Douglas_my ginger cat

    Douglas_my ginger cat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2020
    I would NEVER have thought about this, thank you @Gill & Mac (UK) for raising it.

    (Also, a little happy that I was reminded we get an extra hour!):D
     
  7. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    I have always done option C and have never had a problem :cat:
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  8. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    You mean never done anything about it?:oops:
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  9. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    I did Option C ( move in 30 minute increments)
    See above :cat:
     
    SashaV and jt and trouble (GA) like this.
  10. Larry and Kitties

    Larry and Kitties Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I use option "D", that is I do njothing special. In the fall the Sunday moarning is 13 hours since last shot and in the spring it is only 11 hours.
     
  11. SashaV

    SashaV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Missed that one :oops:
     
    Gill & Mac (UK) likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page