Confused about BG readings

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Lilla Ross, Jan 25, 2023.

  1. Lilla Ross

    Lilla Ross New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2022
    I've only been doing this a couple of months. My kitty was diagnosed in Dec. He started at 2u PZ and is now up to 3u... His BG numbers have been high 400-500 but have come down on 3u.. but this week they are really low -- like under 100. I'm attaching the sheet. His numbers have been coming down ever since he got sick all day last week. He was vomiting all day, and was off his food for a couple of days. But he's back to normal eating. I' not sure I should give him insulin when his numbers are this low.

    I can't upload ... so today's numbers so far

    244 at 7 a.m.
    96 at 9 a.m.
    60 at 11 a.m.
     
  2. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    What kind of a meter are you using? Human or a pet meter?
     
  3. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Looks like snacks would have been helpful between shot time and +2. What is your feeding schedule and what is your kitty’s diet?
     
  4. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    So you do have a spreadsheet but could not attach it?
     
    Lilla Ross likes this.
  5. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
  6. Lilla Ross

    Lilla Ross New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2022
    I'm using an Alphatrak with fresh batch of strips
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  7. Lilla Ross

    Lilla Ross New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2022
    no, it won't attach
     
  8. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    @Diane Tyler's Mom can you help with the information on how to get a signature set up? It would be really helpful to have a signature attached to the bottom of each post and that is where we also link our spreadsheets.
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  9. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Any tests since that 60? I would reduce his dose. And we need to talk food/snacks …. See my post above.
     
  10. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @Lilla Ross
    Hi can you please set up what we call our signature, it's at the end of everyone's post , information we need about your kitty
    Hi if you are having trouble setting up your this might make it easier for you
    signature
    click on your name up top above where it says search and then tap on the word signature and add this information
    • Add info we need to help you:
      • Caregiver & kitty's name
      • DX: Date
      • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
      • Name of your meter
      • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
      • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
      • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
      • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
      • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
      • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
    Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  11. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Thanks @Diane Tyler's Mom
    And @Lilla Ross it will keep us from asking you the same questions over and over :) if we can see things in your signature. Please reply when you can. I know it is really overwhelming. Have you read through the dosing methods in the sticky notes on this ProZinc forum? The advice I was giving regarding the reduction is based on the Start Low Go Slow method. Since I cannot see your spreadsheet yet, I am not sure how he got from 2 to 3 units (if it was a whole unit increase, which is not recommended) or if you got there more gradually.
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  12. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @Bandit's Mom
    Hi Bhooma can you set up a SS for Lilla ?
    Thank you Bhooma
    We just asked her to set up her signature
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  13. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018

Share This Page