Dental advice

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Lisa and little, Feb 3, 2023.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lisa and little

    Lisa and little Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    Hello all,
    So 2 days ago I found a canine on my pillow. Looked like the root did not come with it and it had broken off. Went to the vet today and was told that without an X ray she couldn’t be sure if the root was in fact still in the gums or had resorbed or fallen out. To do the x ray she would have to be put out. This is not my regular vet, it’s one of his associates at the same practice as my regular vet that I totally trust but he had an accident and broke his neck!
    That said this vet told me there are also some other teeth that don’t look great , mind you she was at the vet in November for her regular check and I was told nothing looked “pressing” with regard to her teeth.
    My girl does not seem to be in any pain and is now acting normal although a few days ago she threw me some pinks - but once I found said tooth she seems back to normal.
    I am a a nervous wreck putting her out for a dental again. Those of you that have been around a while may recall my disastrous experience with a dental on another kitty in 2019 where she was over anesthetized and I tried to rehabilitate a feline zombie for 5 months.
    Anyway I have a few questions. Do you guys think I should go forward with a full on dental? She’s somewhere around 13 years old. She does seem “fine, “ but I know dental issues can wreak havoc on health especially in diabetics Her last dental was Oct 2020 and my regular vet did that one. He allowed me to feed and give insulin at regular time and scheduled the procedure for 7-8 hrs later. So she had her insulin on board. This vet would prefer no food which means no insulin on the morning of the procedure. I literally have PTSD from dentals. I worry that if we dont do exactly what we did in 2020 it could affect the outcome.
    I am sorry for rambling but would just like some opinions. Should I go forward with a full on dental? If so Do you guys fast and not give insulin on morning of dental procedures ? I truly am scarred for life by what happened to my beautiful Molly back in 2019 and while I did everything I could including teaching her how to walk again, - she was blind as well due to this but she learned the house walked the perimeters and fought like hell. We even went for hyperbaric oxygen treatments and so much more. I eventually lost her all because of a dental gone wrong.
    I am sick over this and cannot bear the thought of losing another fur baby. She’s my beautiful best friend and I wouldn’t have gotten through the last 3 years without her. What should I do???
     
  2. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Do you have any dental specialist vets near where you live? They are used to dealing with more "complicated" and older patients. Neko's dental vet let her have up to 1/3 of her breakfast early in the AM, and we did half a dose that morning too. Insulin does more than just combat the carbs in food.
     
  3. Lisa and little

    Lisa and little Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    Hi Wendy, I am not sure about a specialist. What other effects would lack of insulin cause while under anesthesia? I am a wreck. To add to this - my friends dog passed yesterday and going back to my traumatic experience in 2019- one of my other friends dogs passed the week before that procedure. i am not superstitious but it’s all messing with my head big time.
     
  4. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    The concern with giving insulin prior to any anesthesia is that the anesthesia/pre-anesthesia can potentially lower BG numbers. It's often why when you get home, you may see that numbers are lower and that you need to be careful with dosing for the PM shot. I tanked Gabby's BG after a dental and it was nerve wracking because she was being fussy about eating her evening meal (and she was a very food motivated cat!).

    Since some cats will have lower BG and other higher BG with anesthesia, the recommendation is that BG be closely monitored whenever a cat needs to be anesthetized. A dextrose drip should also be available should numbers drop. This is a link to the AAHA's info on anesthesia in diabetic cats and dogs.
     
    Lauren and Loki and Alicia2022 like this.
  5. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    I would do the dental.
     
  6. Larry and Kitties

    Larry and Kitties Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    <My vet says give half insulin and half food morning of dental. I have done that many time w/o problems.
     
  7. Lisa and little

    Lisa and little Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    That is what I did last time this vet is not so keen on it.
     
  8. Lisa and little

    Lisa and little Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    I was thinking a token dose of insulin like 1 or 1.5 with NO food the morning of assuming her numbers are in line …
    The consensus seems to be you would all do the procedure ? I really value all your advice. I haven’t slept and am already in panic mode
     
  9. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    I would do the dental now, rather than risk the situation becoming worse in the future and for some reason your kitty can no longer have anaesthesia.

    You can see what her AMPS is in the morning to decide on dose. Not all anaesthesia induction drugs lower the BG, my vet used one that does not.
     
    JanetNJ likes this.
  10. Lisa and little

    Lisa and little Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    Thank you. Wendy. Do you happen to know what kind of anesthesia that was?
     
  11. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Alfaxalone.
     
    Lauren and Loki likes this.
  12. Lisa and little

    Lisa and little Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    Than you ❤️❤️
     
  13. Lisa and little

    Lisa and little Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    Hi all. Me again. t
    This vet is insistent that NO food OR insulin be given on morning of the procedure.
    Has anyone else done this without food or insulin on board the day of ?
    We are Scheduled for Thursday and stressed to the gills
     
  14. Erin Ethan

    Erin Ethan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2023
    Hi Lisa and Little - I can't be of much help but I wanted to say I am so sorry to hear about your experience with your other kitty's dental :( I hope everything will go as smoothly as possible on Thursday.

    Ethan is scheduled to have major dental work done on March 14th. He's never been under anaesthesia before so not sure how he will react...

    His vet said to give him food and insulin the day of (no fasting) and that they will be monitoring his BG throughout the procedure and have IV dextrose and insulin ready in case needed.
     
  15. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Yes, we've seen people not give insulin by choice, on the morning of a dental, due to either comfort of the AMPS numbers. I once dropped Neko's dose to 0.1 unit, essentially a token dose because she looked like she wanted a reduction. She got to 72 on the AT at the vets, so close, even with the much reduced dose. Another time I did a fur shot in the AM before anaesthesia, so unintentionally skipped. :p
     
    Erin Ethan likes this.
  16. Lisa and little

    Lisa and little Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    Thank you both Wendy and Erin. I am scared as the last time Oct 2020 I did food and a reduced dose of insulin. But this vet is more comfortable without so I guess I have to go that route.
    Please pray for us and Erin - will start prayers for you and Ethan now. The more the merrier.
     
  17. Erin Ethan

    Erin Ethan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2023
    Will be praying for you and Little for a smooth procedure on Thursday and speedy recovery!
     
    Lisa and little likes this.
  18. Erin Ethan

    Erin Ethan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2023
  19. Lisa and little

    Lisa and little Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    Thank you so very much Erin ❤️❤️. It means a lot. I just brought her in and will be sitting here thee entire day. We had a rough morning. Besides being off schedule which she is very aware of… little bugger figured out how to get out of her carrier!! Had to do a chase and grab .
     
    JanetNJ likes this.
  20. Erin Ethan

    Erin Ethan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2023
    Oh wow she is a very smart kitty! It's never a fun process to get them to the vet...I honestly think they know 'something's up' from the moment we wake up!

    Do you know if she was going to be one of he first dentals of the day? Or is she later in the schedule?
     
  21. Lisa and little

    Lisa and little Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    11AM is the first appt and she’s it I am sitting in my car “working” and don’t know if I’m going vomit or poop
     
  22. Erin Ethan

    Erin Ethan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2023
    So glad she can be the first. Good idea to sit ('work') in your car...! I was wanting to stay around for Ethan's dental too but wasn't sure if it will make the staff uncomfortable to have me lurking around the lobby all day lol!

    I always find reading FDMB is a helpful distraction when I am waiting for something (e.g., insulin time)...but don't have the mental space to dig into in something else (e.g., work).
     
  23. Lisa and little

    Lisa and little Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    Me either obviously. Hence my prompt replies to you. thank you for caring
     
    Erin Ethan likes this.
  24. Lisa and little

    Lisa and little Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    And I am alternating sitting in the car and lurking in the lobby. Lol
     
    Erin Ethan likes this.
  25. Melinda and Kitkat

    Melinda and Kitkat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2022
    I too go all "helicopter mama" :bighug::bighug:;). Wishing you both complete success with the dental.
    This little cutie is sending his best wishes too :D:D:D

    [​IMG]
     
    Erin Ethan likes this.
  26. Lisa and little

    Lisa and little Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    Lol. Thanks for the hugs Melinda. If you guys would have seen the letter I wrote - from Little to give them when we went in - helicopter mom doesn’t even cover it. Pretty sure they think I am a psycho lunatic freak. She’s waking up now. They took 8 teeth!!!! I saw the X-rays and it’s amazing what was going on under the gums with root resorption.
     
  27. Erin Ethan

    Erin Ethan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2023
    Haha I wrote a letter (or a manual might be better word) like that for our kitty-sitter once...and that was before we had a sugarcat!

    So glad Little is through the procedure now. I am sure she will be feeling under the weather for a while but Phase 1 complete!

    Love that picture @Melinda and Kitkat :smuggrin:
     
  28. Melinda and Kitkat

    Melinda and Kitkat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2022
    Do keep us updated on her progress :bighug:. So far so good :joyful:
     
    Erin Ethan and Diane Tyler's Mom like this.
  29. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Yes please let us know how Little is doing :cat:
     
    Erin Ethan likes this.
  30. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    8 teeth! Little is going to feel so much better, glad you took her in for the dental.
     
    Erin Ethan likes this.
  31. Lisa and little

    Lisa and little Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    Thank you all for your support and concern. I am still here as she is not fully awake yet. I am beside myself and my own meds have worn off. This cannot possibly happen to me twice
     
  32. Lisa and little

    Lisa and little Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    How do 8 teeth go bad since her last dental? I was just about 2 yrs ago. Geez
     
  33. Lisa and little

    Lisa and little Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    Thank you all again for checking in and your support. Little is home finally and while still a bit wobbly went right for the food and litter box. BG 326 I reduced by a unit + and will feed her small amounts throughout the night. It was a loooong day and I’m pretty sure I digested my entire stomach lining. Grateful for all of you. Your care and concern meant a lot to us ❤️❤️
     
  34. Melinda and Kitkat

    Melinda and Kitkat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2022
    Just as a kitty would right? I think its a very good sign :bighug:. she might come through this better than her mama ( I would completely be the same, beside myself.lol. ) so glad things are smooth so far :p:bighug::bighug:
     
    Erin Ethan likes this.
  35. Erin Ethan

    Erin Ethan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2023
    So awesome that she is back home and eating to boot! Hope you can both catch up on some much-needed zzz's tonight! :joyful::cat:
     
  36. Lisa and little

    Lisa and little Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    Mama poured a giant glass of tequila. Let’s see coffee all day and straight to tequila. Oh wait there was a Xanax in there too this afternoon. LOL. Thank you guys so much. It helped a lot to know you were alll rooting for us And as for this board , I’ll say it again - never ever could I have gotten this far with managing her diabetes without all of you. Grateful beyond words ❤️❤️
     
  37. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Hi Lisa I'm glad Little is the eating , wishing Little a speedy recovery. I hope you both have a good nights sleep. The tequila and xanax should do it :p
    I also take xanax when needed :cat::bighug:
     
  38. Lisa and little

    Lisa and little Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    ❤️❤️
     
  39. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    So glad it went ok. As she starts feeling better you may see her numbers improve.
     
    Lisa and little likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page