Does Dr. Elsey’s cause a spike?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hshray

Very Active Member
I fed George Dr. Elsey’s clean protein chicken for the first time this afternoon...about a tablespoon just to see if he liked it (in hopes of being able to give him a little in the middle of the night because he’s been waking me up to water down his wet food more). He loved the Dr. Elsey’s but his pmps number was through the roof...have anyone else experienced this? He’s never had numbers that high before. I’m wondering if I should let him try it again or just forget it at this point.
 
That’s a big drop at +2 from the black PMPS. That 512 looks out of place. If you get another number like that I would test again to see it is correct.
I’ve never used Dr Easley’s food so I can’t comment on it.
 
Hilary,
I fed Dr. Elsey's Clean protein chicken, with great results. I thought it was only 2 percent carbs on a dry matter basis. The only reason I stopped using it, was because they raised the phosphorus content a little bit over what Tina needed for her CKD. It was still lower in phosphorus than many foods.

When did you feed the Dr. Elsey's? How long before PMPS?
Welcome to you and George!
 
That’s a big drop at +2 from the black PMPS. That 512 looks out of place. If you get another number like that I would test again to see it is correct.
I’ve never used Dr Easley’s food so I can’t comment on it.
Thanks for the response, will do if I see another unexpected high number like that. The only thing I could think of was the Dr. Elsey’s but maybe (hopefully) it was a misread.
 
Hilary,
I fed Dr. Elsey's Clean protein chicken, with great results. I thought it was only 2 percent carbs on a dry matter basis. The only reason I stopped using it, was because they raised the phosphorus content a little bit over what Tina needed for her CKD. It was still lower in phosphorus than many foods.

When did you feed the Dr. Elsey's? How long before PMPS?
Welcome to you and George!
This is good to know! It was a couple of hours before pm shot, but maybe too close still. We’ve never seen a number in the 5s before so I assumed it had to be that, but I think I will try again with the Dr. Elsey’s and see since he loved it so much and since it seems to work with others. Appreciate the response!
 
This is good to know! It was a couple of hours before pm shot, but maybe too close still. We’ve never seen a number in the 5s before so I assumed it had to be that, but I think I will try again with the Dr. Elsey’s and see since he loved it so much and since it seems to work with others. Appreciate the response!
oops!
I believe i assumed wrongly that you were feeding the canned version of Dr. Elsey's. After rereading your post, it looks like you meant dry. Hard food lasts longer in the system! This makes more sense now, unless you got a wonky reading. I was looking through Chewy and Amazon, and didn't find the chicken wet, and saw the dry right away!
 
Last edited:
I've seen reports here recently that, although it's low carb, Dr. Elsey's can elevate numbers in some cats.

It might be an idea to test George's BG before feeding him the Dr. Elsey's kibble and then test again about an hour later to see whether it might be spiking his numbers.


Mogs
.
 
oops!
I believe i assumed wrongly that you were feeding the canned version of Dr. Elsey's. After rereading your post, it looks like you meant dry. Hard food lasts longer in the system! This makes more sense now, unless you got a wonky reading. I was looking through Chewy and Amazon, and didn't find the chicken wet, and saw the dry right away!
Ahh gotcha. Yep, that makes sense...I was trying out the dry. I’m still debating whether to try a little bit again just confirm but I don’t really have another explanation for that reading.
 
I've seen reports here recently that, although it's low carb, Dr. Elsey's can elevate numbers in some cats.

It might be an idea to test George's BG before feeding him the Dr. Elsey's kibble and then test again about an hour later to see whether it might be spiking his numbers.


Mogs
.
Yes, this is a good idea, thank you! I may try a little again in a couple days and will do this so I can see for sure if it has an impact.
 
Hi, unfortunately Abby’s numbers were elevated on Dr. Elseys - Abby had almost a 100 point drop when I finally removed the LC dry kibble. That was the only change I made in January when I switched Abby to TR. Abby was a dry food cat, but luckily has finally come around to watered down pates.
 
Hi, unfortunately Abby’s numbers were elevated on Dr. Elseys - Abby had almost a 100 point drop when I finally removed the LC dry kibble. That was the only change I made in January when I switched Abby to TR. Abby was a dry food cat, but luckily has finally come around to watered down pates.
I appreciate the feedback...tracks with what I was seeing too.
 
Did you continue to see high BG numbers or did you cease Dr. E's altogether?
I ended up trying it one more time and he noticeably spiked again, so I never gave it to him again after that. I did try Young Again Zero Mature briefly after that and it didn’t cause a spike in him, but it did cause loose stools so now he’s strictly on wet.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top