Dose advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne Biddle

Active Member
I posted in main forum but haven’t really received much input. Truffles appears to be doing well and wondered if someone could chime in on thought of if I should reduce his dose down. He only had 1.5 last night and nothing this am as he was at 128. Thanks
 
Hi Anne,
I'd be tempted to try 1 u for maybe 4 few cycles. He definitely wants less insulin. You can always go to 1.25 u later if 1 u doesn't seem to do it.
 
Kris is right. It may be that you will settle on 1.25, you do want his BG to come up a bit. His SS shows that you are getting into the right neighborhood. Keep up the good work.
 
So after another +4 Truffles was at 133 before his afternoon tea. Pmps was up to 234 so I gave 1.5 again tonight. That’s 2 days with no am shot and just 1.5u to keep him fairly controlled. I was interested to see his bg lowered on its own today and then went up a bit after his tea. He is fed 3 meals usually 9am 3pm 9pm.
 
So after another +4 Truffles was at 133 before his afternoon tea. Pmps was up to 234 so I gave 1.5 again tonight. That’s 2 days with no am shot and just 1.5u to keep him fairly controlled. I was interested to see his bg lowered on its own today and then went up a bit after his tea. He is fed 3 meals usually 9am 3pm 9pm.
I'd try to find a lower dose that allows you to give insulin both AM and PM while avoiding too high/too low numbers and skipped shots.

I also recommend getting at least one evening test to see what he does at night. No insulin last night and none this AM while having decent blue numbers suggests something good is happening but you need more data.
 
I'd try to find a lower dose that allows you to give insulin both AM and PM while avoiding too high/too low numbers and skipped shots.

I also recommend getting at least one evening test to see what he does at night. No insulin last night and none this AM while having decent blue numbers suggests something good is happening but you need more data.
He was 135 at 9pm last night and 137 this am! Will test in 30 minutes and see where we are at. It’s just so lovely to have my boy back to his old self.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top