You're just at the no shot margin. You can either skip it or if you want to collect data, try 1 unit and plan to test at +2 to see where he's going. If you're home to monitor I'd go with that reduced dose. This is how we learn about their responses and how to deal with BG numbers that are good numbers but lower than we're used to. Experimentation is what it's all about ...cole BG was 198 at AmPS. Should I hold off the shot?
Under 20o no shot right?
Actually they feel better in higher numbers at the start because that's what their body has become accustomed to. Tracking BG on the spreadsheet is how you monitor their progress on insulin and learn to correlate their clinical signs with their numbers. He might have gone quite low last night and that could have knocked the stuffing out of him. A +2 test after the PM dose can be a useful predictor. Many cats run lower at night.I know nothing but my instincts tell me after watching him all day yesterday - being his old self at around 30o BG numbers that he is going to be a cat who is in the higher range? Does that make sense? He is still eating if we put the food in front of him. Then we will test again.
Like Kris said, they tend to get used to higher numbers so when they get lower than their body is used to they can feel icky/off. As they spend more time getting those lower numbers, still higher than a non-diabetic, their body will adjust. We can't rush the process, but he will get used to themokay. He is acting really out of it already but I will shoot and test.
I answered on the main forum. Let me reassure you again that all this will get easier and you'll find a routine that works for you. It's scary at the beginning and the best way to have peace of mind is by testing BG.Would like to start on Lantus which seems to be what a lot on this site have their cats on. $299.00 though?! We cannot afford that every month. Where is the cheapest place to get it? Canada? I will ask on main forum also.
Any time!Thanks Kris for all your help so far! We appreciate it more than you know!
Just stock with 1 for awhile. It's takes time.Cole's PMPS 376BG. What dose should I give?