? Fistuk 7/6 AMPS 94, +3.25 124, +8.5 56 PMPS 83, +3 101, +5 97 ::Holiday feeding

Fistuk & Shelly

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...04-6-5-63-8-5-68-pmps-54-3-5-113-dose.291821/

Happy Caturday


We’re off Monday morning. I’m feeling ok about it and hope it’ll remain so when we’re in Italy. Very soon it’ll be a year since diagnosis and it’s the first time the both of us are travelling and I won’t have a close eye on my baby.

@Angela & Cleo and @Wendy&Neko suggested to reduce the dose to 2U - when shall I reduce ?

I’d like some advice on how to instruct the carers that will stay here to feed him. I want the people staying here to feel they have some space to enjoy the beauty of our area and not be bound to feeding Fistuk all the time.

Normally I give a tiny snack at +1, +2 the test and feed at +3.
Then snack at +5, +6/7 test and feed +9 test and feed.

Would it be ok if I ask them to take only +3 test and feed more than a tsp spoon at +3, +6 if they're home and a tsp at +9 ?
@Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee

I told them that I'd be happy to cover the expense of Vanessa, our sitter for 2-3 if they wanted to spend the day out and anything more than that they're welcome to use her care but to cover it from their expense.

I think it'll be a good practice to give Fistuk a bit of poking rest time and also for me to learn how it could work while we're away with feeding and testing.

He keeps on sleeping through the night most nights and sleeping in his bed. He's in good mood and oh so cute :)

Wishing you all a wonderful weekend :bighug:

Family breakfast
upload_2024-7-6_9-5-7.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-7-6_9-5-7.jpeg
    upload_2024-7-6_9-5-7.jpeg
    76 KB · Views: 100
Oh, it is so nice yo have a picture of you! I imagine all of you in my mind so I love being able to see you :bighug:
When we leave, we use a sitter who comes twice a day and leaves food in an automatic feeder, so it's different from what you will be doing. I try to start the vacation dose and feeding schedule if it's different a day or two before, so i would start today.
I am sure he will be fine with less tests, assuming he will have a lower dose? I did not re-read your post to be sure.
 
Oh, it is so nice yo have a picture of you! I imagine all of you in my mind so I love being able to see you :bighug:
When we leave, we use a sitter who comes twice a day and leaves food in an automatic feeder, so it's different from what you will be doing. I try to start the vacation dose and feeding schedule if it's different a day or two before, so i would start today.
I am sure he will be fine with less tests, assuming he will have a lower dose? I did not re-read your post to be sure.
Thanks, Cecile :) It's not my best picture and I was in two minds about posting it since no one posts themselves but I didn't have any other actual pic and thought it would be nice. I'm happy you appreciated it.
Thanks for the advice. I reduced Fistuk's dose to 2U tonight so by the time I'll leave it'll be 4 cycles with 2U then we'll see how it goes.
Fistuk doesn't eat from automatic feeder or a food plate left right under his nose if noons around to feed him. It's just who he is and I've accepted it so I'm always looking for someone to be here for him and Prince :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Shelly, I also love seeing the beautiful family photo of you and the boys enjoying the sunshine and breakfast together.
Best of luck with the dose for Fustuk. He’s doing so beautifully, thanks to all of your hard and diligent work.
I hope you have the best time in Italy, I think it’s my favorite place to visit. (I constantly scroll through my hundreds of photos on my phone of our trips).

Since I can’t travel now due to Ivy, I have to live through others who can travel :)

Enjoy the trip and hope the boys enjoy their pet sitters, too :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Hi Shelly, I also love seeing the beautiful family photo of you and the boys enjoying the sunshine and breakfast together.
Best of luck with the dose for Fustuk. He’s doing so beautifully, thanks to all of your hard and diligent work.
I hope you have the best time in Italy, I think it’s my favorite place to visit. (I constantly scroll through my hundreds of photos on my phone of our trips).

Since I can’t travel now due to Ivy, I have to live through others who can travel :)

Enjoy the trip and hope the boys enjoy their pet sitters, too :bighug::cat::bighug:
Thanks, Staci :)
Well, I'lll make sure to send you some photos to enjoy as well. Robert's mum lives in a very beautiful area. I'm so looking forward to be there:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Reducing the dose tonight gives chance to reduce the depot too. And hopefully gives you a hint if this will work as a vacation dose. Also try your new feeding plan the next couple days and see if it works too.
 
What a nice family picture :kiss::) They look so content there in the sun with you. Thank you for sharing it. :bighug:
Sounds like you are planning the care during your trip nicely. Hope all works well for everyone!
Happy Saturday and enjoy the weekend :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Reducing the dose tonight gives chance to reduce the depot too. And hopefully gives you a hint if this will work as a vacation dose. Also try your new feeding plan the next couple days and see if it works too.
Great idea, Wendy. Thank you. now I just hope I can hold myself back from feeding and tearing him while I’m still home :p
 
What a nice family picture :kiss::) They look so content there in the sun with you. Thank you for sharing it. :bighug:
Sounds like you are planning the care during your trip nicely. Hope all works well for everyone!
Happy Saturday and enjoy the weekend :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks, Kit. We really love that sweet and gentle morning sun together. Robert’s there as well. He’s taken the picture :)
Let’s see how the plan owns out. I def have given it a lot of thought and I feel confident it’ll be ok :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hello Shelly,

So nice to finally see you ❤️
Just like Cecile I also imagine all the members I talk to since we're all faceless. We should really post more photos of us with our fur-babies. Fistuk is so happy sleeping and Prince looks pretty content as well.
Oh and have the best time in Italy. I'm jealous again. I wish I can live in Europe once again one day. It's so easy and convenient to travel within Europe.
I'm sure you're nervous about leaving the boys, especially Fistuk, but I'm sure it will all work out.

Wishing you a good night and a nice sunday (since it's already sunday over there)
:cat::bighug::cat::bighug:

upload_2024-7-7_0-56-42.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-7-7_0-56-42.png
    upload_2024-7-7_0-56-42.png
    105.9 KB · Views: 137
Hello Shelly,

So nice to finally see you ❤️
Just like Cecile I also imagine all the members I talk to since we're all faceless. We should really post more photos of us with our fur-babies. Fistuk is so happy sleeping and Prince looks pretty content as well.
Oh and have the best time in Italy. I'm jealous again. I wish I can live in Europe once again one day. It's so easy and convenient to travel within Europe.
I'm sure you're nervous about leaving the boys, especially Fistuk, but I'm sure it will all work out.

Wishing you a good night and a nice sunday (since it's already sunday over there)
:cat::bighug::cat::bighug:

View attachment 70484
Hi Karolina:)
So nice to receive your kind words again and your cheerful images :kiss:
I agree. We should post from time to time a photo of ourselves too :joyful:
I love that too about Europe. You can travel through Canada and US as well but the culture difference between countries in Europe is much more.
You’re always welcome here :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Shelly,

I love your family picture, thank you! It sounds like you prepared everything so well. It encourages me, that maybe one day I can have a holiday again as well. So interesting, Fistuk also needs someone to be around to feed him. Binie became a bit like that the last month. A spoiled little princess. :cat:

I wish you a beautiful time in Italy. So good you take care of yourself and you prepared everything for Fistuk in such a thoughtful way. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Shelly,

I love your family picture, thank you! It sounds like you prepared everything so well. It encourages me, that maybe one day I can have a holiday again as well. So interesting, Fistuk also needs someone to be around to feed him. Binie became a bit like that the last month. A spoiled little princess. :cat:

I wish you a beautiful time in Italy. So good you take care of yourself and you prepared everything for Fistuk in such a thoughtful way. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks, Heike :) I'm confident that you too will be able to travel again. Soon it's a full year since diagnosis. So it did take time to get to this point.

I agree, I always say that my cats are spoiled and it's all my fault :p But at the same time I know that it's not being spoiled really. Something with his appetite went off since getting sick and if he's not fed he just sleeps. I can't explain why it's like that but I know that it's just part of his needs. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top