Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jade Green

    Jade Green New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2023
    I printed the food chart someone gave me and it is like 50 pages long. Would you mind telling me what food you are feeding? The vet gave me the Purina DM diet but it is expensive and probably not the best. Thanks so much!
     
  2. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Hi Jade
    The Purina DM wet is 6% carbs. The dry is 18 carbs
    No need for prescription foods
    Most members feed Fancy Feast Classic Pates or Friskies Pate
    They are around 2-3 % carbs
    You want to feed around 6% carbs or less
    I'll give you our food chart so you can take a look at it
    I don't know if you are home testing but I would start, Vetsulin hits hard and fast ,it's not the greatest insulin for cats, it usually used for dogs
    Home testing is the only way to keep your kitty safe
    With Vetsulin you test, feed then wait 30 minutes to give the insulin
    If you are feeding the dry and then switch to a low carb wet diet you definitely need to start home testing because the BG could drop 100 points and you don't want your kitty to have a hypo incident. You would need to transition slowly to an all wet diet

    If you would like to fill out what we call our signature which is information about our cats , it's at the end of everyone's post , plus we use a spreadsheet to track our cats BG numbers to see how the insulin is working
    Just keep asking questions

    Food chart
    https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/

    You might want to read about Vetsulin
    https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/introduction-to-cannisulin-vetsulin-n-nph.231602/

    https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/beginners-guide-to-caninsulin-vetsulin.231587/

    To set up your signature which you will see is at the end of everyone's post in gray, click on your name up top and then tap on the word signature and add this information
    • Add info we need to help you:
      • Caregiver & kitty's name
      • DX: Date
      • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
      • Name of your meter
      • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
      • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
      • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
      • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
      • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
      • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
    Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

    Take a look at mine

    Here is the link to set up our spreadsheet ,it will also explain how it works
    If you want help setting it up just ask , we have a member who will happy to do it for you
    https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/

    @Jade Green
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2023
  3. Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA)

    Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2019
    Fancy Feast classic for me. Sometimes Sheba
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page