JohnZ
Active Member
But should I wait to feed him until 10 PM, too? Would feeding him mess with the numbers I'm getting because of the food?
I would hold off on feeding him until then and go with 2 units (not 3)...
But should I wait to feed him until 10 PM, too? Would feeding him mess with the numbers I'm getting because of the food?
As am I. I'm extremely luck he wasn't on his favorite heating pad alone.
I'll be calling his vet as soon as they open to talk about his dosage. I also need to find a way to get more test strips and I've been worried about what I've read about the Novalin N insulin on here.
I'm going to have to disagree with this-- I say go ahead and feed, two hours is enough time to let the immediate food influence fade, and waiting that long without feeding all day can cause numbers to drop even further, so you'd be skipping anyway. I say, let him have his meal and his meds!
If you don't feed and end up skipping, I think you can give him a break on testing for the night. It's good information to have, but not critical-- he's not going hypo if he doesn't have insulin on board.
Based on your story and the numbers you've gotten in the past couple days, I am going to make a guess that Bear is one of those cats who is very food-sensitive, and that the recent changeover to Fancy Feast has had a dramatic effect on his insulin needs (not uncommon at all). It took a while for him to hypo symptomatically because of the "bouncing" kind of reactions I described above-- for a while, anyway, his body could compensate by dumping glucose into the bloodstream and get his numbers back into a safer area. Until the other day when he slipped below the line (which, yeah, I'd be terrified of it happening again, too! Thank goodness you were able to get to him in time).
I really think skipping tonight and re-starting the whole process tomorrow "fresh" is the best move...
I would hold off on feeding him until then and go with 2 units (not 3)...
I really think you should skip, another hypo so soon could have long term troubles. Also, hypos often kick start the pancreas into producing insulin again as well.
If it were me I'd follow the general feeding recommendation for novolin users rather than the general recommendations for lantus, they are two different insulins. The novalin has a higher kick to it following the shot. I could be wrong but I've never seen novolin users recommend waiting until the shot time to feed. Its usually stressed that feeding one hour before is very important. Your vet recommending it at shot time would scare me into getting a new vet.
Hi, I'm so sorry you've gone through all this. When Myrtle was first diagnosed and I started reading this forum, I was concerned about being prescribed Novalin N as well. However, my cat has done really well on this insulin and looks like heading for remission - I think it's just a matter of getting the dose of insulin with the quantity of food right. It's good that you are testing now and will be able to adjust your dose accordingly.
Nice thing about this wonderful forum - you can see all sorts of opportunities and paths to take to get to the same place.
Sounds like a good plan!
Definitely true! Sorry if the different voices make it confusing, but you're doing the right things to keep your kitty safe!
For the faster-acting insulins (Novalin N, Vetsulin, etc.), I know that you always always always want to make sure there is a meal "on board" before shooting, but will defer to others with more experience using those insulins on how much lead time you need.
With Prozinc, after you test and get a shootable number, it is ok to feed and immediately give insulin shot. Faster acting insulins like Novolin N, Vetsulin, Caninsulin, you want to test, feed, wait at least 20-30 minutes then give insulin shot.That startles me because I've always been told to feed and shoot and the same time. I'll do some research and ask them on Monday because the original directions were given when he was diagnosed and put on ProZinc, but they never changed it.
Very handsome boy!Okay, I'll try that the next time he needs his shot. Thanks for the info guys.
Also, here is Bear after you all helped me through the scariest night of my life. This was around 10 AM the night/early morning of, right after the hypo. It was the first time he pulled his head up and focused on me in more than 6 hours. I'm sure he'd say thank you if he could, but I wanted to make sure you all knew how grateful I am for the support and help that night. Since I haven't said it officially, I will now. Thank you. So much!
![]()
Okay, I'll try that the next time he needs his shot. Thanks for the info guys.
Also, here is Bear after you all helped me through the scariest night of my life. This was around 10 AM the night/early morning of, right after the hypo. It was the first time he pulled his head up and focused on me in more than 6 hours. I'm sure he'd say thank you if he could, but I wanted to make sure you all knew how grateful I am for the support and help that night. Since I haven't said it officially, I will now. Thank you. So much!
![]()
If he's above 200 but below 300 I wouldn't give more than 1 unit.Okay. That makes sense, but I do have a question.
This is hypothetical, so I know what I may do. If I don't feed him now and test in two hours and he is still below 250, should I go ahead and feed him, don't give him the shot, then continue to test him every two hours to keep track of his curve and see where his numbers go? That's what I feel I should do, but I'm second guessing myself.
I'm glad you've upped his food intake.Yeah, when I talked to the doctor she wanted me to do 4 again and I told her I wasn't comfortable with that due to his numbers and we've doubled his food intake. He used to only eat 1/2 a can twice a day. Now he's eating 1 can twice a day.
If he's above 200 but below 300 I wouldn't give more than 1 unit.
I'm glad you've upped his food intake.
Okay. I checked his sugar just a minute ago, which is 2 hours from when he should have had his shot. It was 150. I fed him 1 can of Fancy Feast Classics and am skipping his shot. I'll continue to check his sugar every 2 hours just to keep my eye open and see how he does.
* Vetsulin and 'N' (NPH) insulins start working shortly after injection - there's not a lot of 'onset' time. All of the dose works at once which is why it tends to drive numbers down steeply. There needs to be plenty of food on board for the insulin to use properly. You want to be sure kitty doesn't throw up the food before giving the shot. This is why the suggested half hour. That doesn't make them bad insulins, some cats do just fine on it. I started on NPH with my first diabetic. I've gone back to using it at times over the years of my sugarboyz' dance when other medical conditions required closer control of their bg.
* Prozinc has a bit slower and gentler onset. There is more of a 'time release' component giving it a longer cycle but it's action is also finished by the end of the cycle. This needs food available when it starts to work but it's ability to work slower gives a bit of extra time if kitty throws up food.
* Lantus and Levemir are 'depot' insulins. Their onsets are much longer and work quite differently. With those, you have usually a couple of hours to get a good meal in kitty.
The best insulin is what works best for your cat!
Oh I like your brain!
A well regulated diabetic cat is mostly in the Blue range (100-200) or less, A diabetic cat that stays in the Green range (50-100) without insulin is in remission, and my non- diabetic cat is 2.7-3.1 ( about 50) when I test him pre food.
Humulin N and Novolin N are the same insulin, just different manufacturers. Humulin (Eli Lilly) was Walmart's original $25 insulin, Novolin (Novo Nordisk A/S) got the contract 4-5 years ago.
Your brain silly!
Normal range on human meter is 50-120. Not to bad.
HUGS!
My cat is in remission and is often in blue numbers... Although I use a pet meter which runs higher than human meters.Interesting. Maybe I should check my other two boys the same time I check Bear's once in a while, just to see how they are fairing?
Do some cats run a bit high? Like, they stay in the blue range without insulin? Or do you think this could be a fallout part of his hypo episode from before?
That's good to know because I questioned the woman at the Wal-Mart pharmacy when I went to pick it up and she honestly had no idea. Her words were something like "I can't guarantee that they are the same, but you should be okay". And thank you.![]()
My cat is in remission and is often in blue numbers... Although I use a pet meter which runs higher than human meters.
Normal on a pet meter is 68-150. Normal on a human meter is 50 to 120.
Give or take a few numbers.
Thank you @JohnZI actually have a spreadsheet question.
I tested Bear at 7:00 AM and he was 260. Then I fed him. He finished around 7:30 AM. Then I waited a half hour before his shot and, just to be safe, tested him again at 8:00 AM. He read 272. The AMPS is the AM Pre Shot number, so, technically, it should be the 272, right? Should I even check him until after he's eaten? Like, in order, feed him, wait half an hour after he is done eating, check his levels, administer shot as needed? Should I even bother checking him until after he's eaten?
Sorry if that didn't make sense.
Your preshot number is taken before food is given. So I would use the 260 number, but really there is no difference between a preshot of 260 and 272. Usually the time between preshot test and shot is a half hour. Test, feed right away, then shoot.Thank you @JohnZI actually have a spreadsheet question.
I tested Bear at 7:00 AM and he was 260. Then I fed him. He finished around 7:30 AM. Then I waited a half hour before his shot and, just to be safe, tested him again at 8:00 AM. He read 272. The AMPS is the AM Pre Shot number, so, technically, it should be the 272, right? Should I even check him until after he's eaten? Like, in order, feed him, wait half an hour after he is done eating, check his levels, administer shot as needed? Should I even bother checking him until after he's eaten?
Sorry if that didn't make sense.
Your preshot number is taken before food is given. So I would use the 260 number, but really there is no difference between a preshot of 260 and 272. Usually the time between preshot test and shot is a half hour. Test, feed right away, then shoot.
Your preshot number is taken before food is given. So I would use the 260 number, but really there is no difference between a preshot of 260 and 272. Usually the time between preshot test and shot is a half hour. Test, feed right away, then shoot.
Me bad... didn't have my coffee yet! The spreadsheet AMPS of 260 is the correct one to record![]()
I think if I could test, had plenty of strips, plenty of high carb food or high carb syrup; I would most likely give the 1 unit.
Also after shooting, take your syringe and practice drawing up a half unit of water and shooting it into the sink a few times. Then when you need todo 1/4 units. 1/2 units, etc it won't seem so difficult.
That's a tough one... I thinking maybe give him a little less than 1 unit may be best... as long as you can test him every 2 or 3 hours... as/if necessary... the spreadsheet for today actually looks good...
If you are worried then do 0.5-0.75I do have those things. Gah, I'm just nervous.
I never thought I would feel happy just by seeing numbers in a blue box, but I am. Lol.
Okay. So, if we guesstimate based off of how he was today and I give him 1 unit, his lowest point should be around 116. And if I test every two hours (another long night, but worth it) and keep an eye on him, he should be okay. ... Right?