Gandalf 1/31 Update ~ 5 years ago today

Status
Not open for further replies.
His numbers have dropped significantly which I'm owing to the full moon having been Saturday and having to give earlier shot this AM. Because he was 105 tonight at +11 I dropped him from .9U to .75U. Very pleased with his numbers but hope he doesn't get a bounce from them. He began eating on his own last night so I did not have to get up and feed overnight. I bought him some 9Lives Tuna & egg which is low in fat and carbs. I also got some Elegant Medleys but have not fed that yet.

He's also getting 100mg Amoxicillin tablet BID. I only gave him some Buprenex Friday night, don't see need for it now.

Hopefully a short lived flare. I will have to pay better attention to how he's eating and vomiting. I have come home to vomit or seen it in the AM over the past 10 days or so and thought it was his. And he just cannot have higher fat foods anymore. I guess it will save me money and I can afford the raw easier.

And 5 years ago today I learned he had feline diabetes. It's been a long journey. I wouldn't want to live it over again, but I don't think I'd change any of it. I know some wonderful people because of it and Gandalf has returned all my love and care 100 times over.
 
~Happy Anniversary, Gandalf! ~

How, 5 years! He is doing well for a veteran FD kitty. Not too long ago FD was a death sentence, even when the bean was doing everything they were told by the vets. Nowadays, it's really just a fact of life and with a good diet and well managed numbers, as you are doing for Mr. G., it really doesn't shorten their lives. In fact, my whole crew is eating much better because of B's diagnoses.

Are you still giving him pepcid? I kept that up until Beau was eating on his own for a few days.
 
Wow! 5 Years!!! YOU are awesome, Vicky, to have done such a good job with G for so long! I am amazed at all he has come through b/c of your lovin' care!

Makes me remember PK's dx date...it was 2 years ago ( Jan 27, 2008) and I remember saying to the vet, "well, will he live until he dies?!" ...I meant, will FD shorten his life any, but that sure made the vet crack up!

Then on the way home, I remember doing the math and thinking if he lives his normal lifespan, that means I could be shooting this cat for 7 years or better.

Anyway, like you I wouldn't want to start it all over again, but am grateful for our experience- ALL my furpots have sure benefited greatly from PK's dx! I'd like to think I have become a better person as well- all in the name of FD.

CONGRATS VICKY AND GANDALF!!!!!! drinking24
 
It seems a little odd to be saying happy anniversary, cause I know you would rather than he hadn't developed the diabetes. On the other hand, like you said, it's a learning experience. I'm sure you and Gandalf, like Lucy and I, are closer as a result of the disease.

So here's a toast to a wonderful caregiver and a handsome, healthy boy!
 
and not only have you learned so much that has helped the G-man but you have also helped us so much with your knowledge and experience.

I will indeed raise my glass in a toast - cheers my friend!
 
Adding in my congrats to you too Vicky and to our dear Gandalf. You have always been such a good mamabean to him and I am sure he knows how special he is to you. Yup, cheers!
 
Gandalf 2/1 update

Thanks everyone!! I wish he was doing better 5 years on than he is right now.

Yes, Sheila, I am realizing I should have kept up the pepcid for a few more days. If no one's read this or been told this, the vet we saw Thursday night said to give it at least a half hour before he ate. I thought that was good advice. And their recommended dose is .5mg per kg. For Gandalf that's about 3.5mg or 1/3rd of a 10mg pill. Very difficult to cut, so I cut in half and then shave some off.

He's not eating again. He nibbled at some cooked salmon, which he loves, so I know he's not feeling up to par in the eating department. Syringe fed a little over 1 oz to him with both AM & PM shots. Yes, I know he's not getting enough to eat if he isn't eating on his own. Will get up and feed twice overnight again.

I am going to continue with this thread for this week. His BG this AM was 161, dose .75U, tonight he was 239, but he got fluids tonight which I did not do this AM. He received fluids last night, so that may be why he was lower this AM.
 
I'm sorry he's not doing so well right now Vicky. Lucy got 1/4 of a Pepcid tablet twice a day for nearly a year on the suspicion of pancreatitis (turned out to the hyper t). It helped a lot. With my own current medical issues, taking it with my meal gives the same relief as taking it ahead of time (which I never remember to do).
 
Could it be the amoxi that is causing him to not want to eat? How much longer will he be on that?

Do you have any fortiflora on hand to sprinkle on his food?

I hope he eats better for you tonight.
 
pamela and tigger said:
Could it be the amoxi that is causing him to not want to eat? How much longer will he be on that?

Do you have any fortiflora on hand to sprinkle on his food?

I hope he eats better for you tonight.

Oh, I have no idea about the Amoxi. I don't remember from the last time, but it seems like he ate OK the first week or so, but I don't think he had Amoxy until the actual P-titis diagnosis. So yeah, it oculd be that.

What do you all think, should I discontinue it for 24 hours and see????

He's had issues with liquids, this is pill form. I had not given him the Amoxy yet this AM when he puked, but had given it with his PM food around 8PM. Syringe feeding was 1:30AM and about 5AM. As much as he puked it could have been all of it form 8PM on, but difficult to tell. It was at least 2 oz plus water.
 
2/2 Good thing I took him in today

He is only 110 tonight. Can you imagine what might have happened if I had left him home today without food?

Will give him some higher carb food tonight via syringe to get his BGs up, remember the low numbers we had last pancreatitis episode?

Gave him 30cc of Friskies Prime Filets Turkey & Giblets 1 can mixed with 1 can of Merrick Turducken. He wasn't anymore fond of it than the raw right now, but I hope the Amoxy is the problem to him not eating. I gave him 3.5mg of Pepcid AC an hour & a half before his feeding. And even after 50ml fluids sub-Q he's back at the bowl drinking water.

I remember the last time not liking having him spend the day in the clinic. Not that they do anything wrong, but he won't eat, pee or drink in the cage. Also the tech didn't indicate whether he gave the Cypro today or not, which is SID, so I'm not giving him any of that tonight just in case it was given to him. I thought the tech told me on the phone he did give it to him but I asked to make sure when I saw it was SID.

What in the world do people do who don't know as much as we do about medications, dosages, etc????? Oh yeah, we were once people like that, weren't we? We educated ourselves but not everyone is going to do that.

I gave them heck about BG testing though - they charge $15 PER test! So I told them not to do it unless they were concerned. Basically that's $15 per test strip I pay just over that for a whole box of 50!
 
Vicky,

If you are paying hosptial fee for him to stay, they should be able to use YOUR meter and strips without charging you, or maybe a $1 testing fee? :roll: Then you have the record right there on your own meter and don't have to worry about transposing numbers or times on the chart. Also one less thing you have to retain or write down when you pick him up.

Also- you already shoot him with insulin, why not shoot the AB and forgo the tummy altogether?

I shot my impossible civvie last time she needed AB- she hated it and me and everything remotely associated with either, but I got it in her, she couldn't throw it back up and she got well despite all her drama.

~just something to consider.

Last thing- have you ever asked your boss how she feels about bringing G to the back room in a kennel? Surely they give you break where you can go fuss with him....just wondering.

paws crossed here for fast recovery!
 
Melissa&Paul-Kyle said:
Vicky,

If you are paying hosptial fee for him to stay, they should be able to use YOUR meter and strips without charging you, or maybe a $1 testing fee? :roll: Then you have the record right there on your own meter and don't have to worry about transposing numbers or times on the chart. Also one less thing you have to retain or write down when you pick him up.

Also- you already shoot him with insulin, why not shoot the AB and forgo the tummy altogether?
Shooting the AB is a possibility. I'll look in to it, but am not convinced he needs an AB for the pancreatitis anyway. Why did he get better last time right after I stopped using them?

They'll probably charge me anyway for the BG test because "time" is billable too.



Melissa&Paul-Kyle said:
Last thing- have you ever asked your boss how she feels about bringing G to the back room in a kennel? Surely they give you break where you can go fuss with him....just wondering.

paws crossed here for fast recovery!

Thanks. Actually, "no animals" is in the updated handbook. I kid you not. He doesn't like being at the clinic of course, but it's somewhat familiar as he's been there enough! It only cost me $20 yesterday anyway. Boarding is the cheapest thing there!
 
Antibiotics are not used for pancreatitis in humans unless there is a clearly defined infection. If your vet prescribed the Amoxycillin automatically, I'd discuss with him the suggestion to stop it.
 
Melissa, regarding shooting the AB....you are not talking about shooting the oral medication are you? You mean getting it in shot form from the vet?

Vicky, I mentioned the fortiflora because maybe a probiotic would help/couldn't hurt, because of the ab's. Any probiotic would do. Not sure if the fortiflora would be the exact one to use although sprinkled on his food might help him to eat. Maybe ask your vet?
 
no, I meant shooting a shootable AB...lemme go to cupboard and see what they gave Jennifur the hissy mcpissit....brb...

okay- it's Clindamycin injectable- says give contents of one syringe under skin...looks like plungers are drawn to 0.1ml or one tenth of an ml....nothing about strength.

I don't rember the gauge needle they put on there...looks way bigger than 31's for insulin, but about half the size of my 20's for subQ's- they are monoject ( nasty!)

All I remember is it was one honkin' size needle that didn't want to go in easily ( if I'd only known about terumo!) so I transferred AB to the 31 g and it took a year to get it in her- hissing and squirming and threatening to kill me, bring me back and kill me again- slowly and painfully...did I mention she has a wee attitude? :shock:

I got 5 out of 7 in her and she got well enough to be UNijectable, so we let it go at that. ugh! I thank GOD she is not my FD kitty! whew!
 
have you ever asked your boss how she feels about bringing G to the back room in a kennel?

Imagine Gandalf at work with you?? Sounds good in therory M but i'm sure he'd be freaked the hell out!! Gandalf + retail is prob not a good equation to try to figure out!! ;-)

I think stopping the AB prob is a good idea. If it's upsetting his stomach, it's throwing you -and him- off more with that variable added.

Thinking about you guys. Will watch for updates. -M
 
2/3 Cypro is working

He's eating on his own now - cried all the way home from acu this morning because he was already hungry. I just hope he keeps it down, so yes, I stopped the Amoxicillin, as far as I'm concerned I don't need vet's permission to stop it if I think it's making him ill. Acu vet didn't comment about it when I told her, but made that kind of face you make when you're not fond of something or don't agree with something. I suppose she didn't want to comment because a different vet at the practice prescribed it, but she was the second vet there to have do so, so I guess it's standard practice there.

The experience/opinions from experience here are good enough for me :-D

BGs have gone up though, so went back to 1U. Readjusted my micrometer measuring device comparisons and decided I've been giving too much. What I was using for 1.2U is more like 1.4U, no wonder he was getting lower than usual numbers.
 
I know you have the utmost respect for the accu and i know you're an excellent judge of character - if u detected a face by the accu, i'm sure you're right. I have respect for her that she didn't throw the vet under a bus - that's a true professional. I'm glad you and Gandalf have her.

Happy to hear he's eating. Rock on Gman!!!
 
Catnip!

Gave Gandalf the little catnip toy which comes with your Feline's Pride order - my oh my is he a happy clam! Made his BGs go up to 381, but hey, he is chillin' with his nip....

I have seriously not seem him that happy in a long time. I know it's artificial happy, but he needs it. I didn't realize how content it would make him. I usually don't like to give them catnip, because whatever it's in or on, they lick it like crazy, it gets wet and stuff sticks to it, which they are then continuing to lick...ewwww. So I put it on a placemat to keep it off the floor. And now he's lying on the placemat.

I took some video I might upload and provide a link to later. If your cat's are stressed out or haven't played in a while, get some catnip.
 
video? did u say a video? a video is even better than pictures!! :razz:

I absolutely LOVE that he had some 'kitten' time with the catnip :dizcat
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top