Info Getting back on a 12/12 shot schedule

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Marje and Gracie, Jul 28, 2013.

  1. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    We've all learned that Lantus and Levemir work optimally with consistency in dosing and in shooting. For our kitties, the goal is to shoot as close to every 12 hours as possible.

    But sometimes that is not possible. Life requires us to skip shots, shoot early, shoot late, or stall so numbers rise. This post provides general guidelines, geared towards new members, for getting back on preferred shot time and shooting every 12 hours. Please note these are not absolute! There are times when a specific kitty or caregiver needs an alternative plan. If you find yourself in that position, please post for help. Experienced caregivers with data who know their kitty have many other options with the shot schedule since ECID. It's suggested you study other SSs to see what some of those options might be that may or may not work for your kitty.

    Remember that shooting early acts like a dose increase; shooting late acts like a dose reduction.

    In general, it's acceptable to shoot within 30 minutes of your normal shot time and then shoot at your normal shot time for the next shot. For example, if your normal shot time is 7/7 and you need to leave for work early one morning. You can shoot at 6:30 in the morning and at 7 in the evening. If you normally shoot at 7/7 and wish to move your shot time to 6:30/6:30, you can shoot early one cycle (at 6:30 instead of 7) and you are on your new schedule.

    Caution should be used in shooting 30 minutes early on consecutive days in order to keep numbers from getting wonky or the BG coming down quickly.

    Let's look at some situations where your schedule might get off and how to get back on your normal shot times.

    Stalling or Shooting Late
    If you've been managing FD for very long, you've likely had to shoot late for your own schedule or stall a shot to allow the BG to come up to a safe number to shoot. We generally try not to stall more than two hours but that is merely because it takes longer to get back on schedule. However, stalling longer is possible if your schedule accommodates slowly working back to your original shot time. If you have to stall, we will ask you how long you can stall and have it not impact your normal schedule.

    In this example, we will assume a 7/7 shot time and that the caregiver had to stall two hours (until 9) waiting for kitty's BG come up to a safe number to shoot. There are three options for getting back on your 7/7 schedule:

    Option A: starting the very next cycle, shoot 15 minutes early every cycle until back on your original shot time.
    Cycle 1 is the cycle you shoot at 9
    Cycle 2 shoot at 8:45
    Cycle 3 shoot at 8:30
    Cycle 4 shoot at 8:15
    Cycle 5 shoot at 8:00
    Cycle 6 shoot at 7:45
    Cycle 7 shoot at 7:30
    Cycle 8 shoot at 7:15
    Cycle 9 shoot at 7:00

    Option B: shoot 30 mins early once a day until back on your original shot time.
    Cycle 1 is the cycle you shoot at 9
    Cycle 2 shoot at 9
    Cycle 3 shoot at 8:30
    Cycle 4 shoot at 8:30
    Cycle 5 shoot at 8:00
    Cycle 6 shoot at 8:00
    Cycle 7 shoot at 7:30
    Cycle 8 shoot at 7:30
    Cycle 9 shoot at 7:00

    Option C: if, as a bounce initiates, the BG has risen very quickly by +11 from the time you shot (in this example, you shot at 9 so +11 would be 8), you might be able to shoot at +11 which will allow you to make up one of the two hours and then use Option A or Option B to make up the rest of the time.

    Option C is more aggressive and it is strongly urged that, if you have never shot one hour early, you ask for assistance before you shoot. Any experienced member can assist you. If you are not a regular poster on the FDMB, please do not shoot early. Shooting more than 30 minutes early may cause numbers to drop; therefore, it is important to be vigilant and monitor closely (e.g. BG testing) in any cycle you shoot one hour early until you are very familiar with your cat's response to shooting early. Please do not shoot early in back-to-back cycles regardless of how high numbers might be.

    Skipping

    If you skip a shot, then the next cycle, you can either choose to shoot at your regular shot time or if you prefer to move your shot time, you can pick a new shot time even if it is several hours earlier than your previous shot time. If you need to change your shot time by several hours, skipping is typically the best way to accomplish this. For example, if you normally shoot at 7/7 but your work schedule changes and you now need to shoot at 3/3, you could skip the 7 a.m. shot and shoot at 3 p.m. or skip the 7 p.m. shot and shoot at 3 a.m.

    It is important that if your cat is ketone- or DKA-prone that you not skip shots without asking for experienced members to look at your kitty's SS and discussing it with you on your kitty's condo.

    Shooting Early
    If you need to shoot early one cycle to accommodate "life", please post and ask for assistance from experienced members. If you are inexperienced in shooting early, it is extremely important that you consult with experienced members who can review your kitty's SS and determine if it would be safe to shoot early. Remember....safety first!!!

    Always remember that assistance is just a post away; if you have not previously had to stall, skip, shoot early or shoot late, it is always recommended you seek assistance in order to keep your kitty safe. Every cat is different and the information provided here may not apply to your kitty in a specific situation.
     
  2. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
  3. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
  4. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
  5. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
  6. learjetta

    learjetta Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2019
    Newish member here... is cycle = day, or is a cycle considered a 12 hour period?

    Thanks!
     
  7. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    12 hours = cycle
     
  8. Ti-Mousse (GA) and Pepe

    Ti-Mousse (GA) and Pepe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
  9. Tracey&Jones (GA)

    Tracey&Jones (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
  10. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
  11. Lauren and Loki

    Lauren and Loki Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2022

Share This Page